We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing view, but nothing special”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poipu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kuhio Shores Condos
Ranked #1 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing view, but nothing special”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed in a 4th floor bay facing one bedroom for 4 nights.

The view from our room was amazing. Our room was clean and large, but there is nothing special about our condo except amazing view from each room.
There is no store around the hotel, so we drove a car to buy food at Big Save in Koloa town.
We did not snorkel at the bay and the beach next to Beach House Restaurant because we felt dangerous to snorkel there due to waves and the coral reef. I saw one old man tried to do snorkeling and injured his leg.

Compared to other hotels we had stayed before, I felt that this condo was too expensive for what we got.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calsodahall2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    60
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
100
320
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a corner unit on the second floor on the Beach House (western) side of the complex. The property was comfortable and my husband and I had a very enjoyable stay here. There are two bedrooms, both with king-sized beds. The back bedroom has two windows – one north facing (parking lot), and one west facing (trees, Beach House roof, and sea view), and has an en-suite bathroom. The front bedroom has one window facing west, and shutters to give privacy from the living room or they can be opened up to show the wonderful view from the front windows to the sea, and there is a hallway bathroom with large shower. The living room has windows on two sides (south and west) with fantastic views of the sea and sunsets. The kitchen is well stocked and we cooked dinner several nights. The complex has two good quality gas BBQs in the corner of the parking lot for the use of the residents/renters.
There are elevators in the lobby, but we chose to use the stairs. It would appear that the bedrooms of non-corner units are directly on to the outside (parking lot side) walkway access areas. While we did not find that the parking lot was noisy, the lack of privacy would bother me. 219, being a corner unit, only had the front door being accessible from the walkways.
There is no air-conditioning, but there are plenty of ceiling fans and, with the windows open, we had no problems as I would have had the windows open anyway just to hear the sea.
The Beach House restaurant did not cause any problems regarding noise, and it is just a short walk across the front of the restaurant to get to a wonderful, small snorkelling beach.
We rented this property for 7 nights, even though we would only be there 6, because of a late night flight out of Lihue. This meant that we did not have to pack up and leave before lunch and wonder what to do with our time. As it rained on our last day this was judged a wise decision.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank smr01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This condo has the most amazing location, right on the ocean with a small surfing and snokeling beach and The Beachhouse Restaurant next door for a nice sunset dinner. You can watch the sea turtles from the lanai and there is a snokel rental shop next door as well. Within walking distance to a little shopping mall that has several eating options depending on what you are feeling like.
The unit itself was a disappointment. It has not been updated recently. The carpets were old and did not seem clean. One bathroom had an unpleasant smell. Wine bottle opener was broken, no cheese grater or kettle. There were plenty of towels and a laundry facility on the same floor.
If you are looking for a condo with a pool and amentities, this is not the place for you. We were just interested in being close to the ocean, and we were.
We would stay at Kuhio Shores but would look for a unit that was it better shape and cleaner.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adelle58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We just arrived back from our stay in unit 311 at Kuhio Shores. 1 word to describe everything about it AMAZING!!! The unit was spotless and newly updated and modern. The view from the lanai is exceptional. The kitchen is completely updated and stocked very well for a rental. I was inspired to cook a few meals there for my family--who wouldn't want to cook with that view. The tradewinds kept our apartment cool and breezy and the sounds of the waves crashing seranaded us to sleep everynight. It was hard leaving this unit every morning, make plans to just sit on the lanai and enjoy the views.

The condo complex is kept very clean and well maintained, there is no need for a pool, with Lawai Beach next door who wants a pool. My daughters snorkeled and swam there with sea turtles and other beautiful fish. The surfers also keep you well entertained.

Room Tip: Unit 311 had a perfect view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Cr8z4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Beautiful views, oceanfront condo. We were lulled to sleep every night by the sound of the waves crashing on the shore. We ate breakfast everyday in our condo since our view was better than any restaurant on the island. The Beach House restaurant is right next door and you can walk over to make a reservation. The condo had snorkel gear and boogie boards, as well as a landline which was helpful since the cellular reception wasn't very good. It did get a little muggy due to the lack of A/C, but plenty of fans and the ocean breeze made up for the difference. We sat on the lanai and watched for sea turtles, of which there was plenty. At sunset we dined on the lawn in front of the condo, and had a better view than the Beach House! One of the most romantic places I've been!

Room Tip: #116 is great since it's right on the first floor and you can walk right out to the water's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank otodermie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Great condo, great views and the soothing sound of the ocean. Turtles, whales, surfers and goofy birds. The Beach House is next store with great food and sunsets.
We arrived put our suitcases down and went out on the Lanai and the first thing we saw was a giant sea turtle and then farther out whales. How cool is that.
This condo is right on the water and you can hear the soothing sound of the ocean all night. It has everything you'll need to enjoy your time on Kauai. We would go out for the day but looked forward to coming back to the condo and sitting on the Lanai.
If you get a chance take a helicopter ride around the island, breath taking. We look forward to coming back.
John S

Room Tip: Unit 415 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katuee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
193 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed in Kuhio Shores unit 303 and had a fabulous time. The unit is clean, up to date, nicely decorated and well stocked. Booking the unit was easy, check in was simple and the owner answered any questions quickly. Kuhio Shores is beautifully maintained by a gardener who works like crazy to keep the grounds clean and gardens gorgeous. Our lanai overlooked Prince Kuhio bay where we constantly spotted turtles. We snorkeled there and got great pics of these graceful creatures.Entry is a bit tricky due to the rocky shore...just find the sandy channel. Lawai Beach is on the other side of the building. It is a great little beach but the snorkeling is the best...we thought it was better than Tunnels. Lots of fish close to the surface and calm. The Beach House restaurant is right there and has good food and an awesome view. There are lots of shops and restaurants nearby. Can you tell I loved this place?

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babobear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuhio Shores Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuhio Shores Condos

Property: Kuhio Shores Condos
Address: 5050 Lawai Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the sunny South Shore at Poipu Beach, just 10 steps from the waters edge, these 1 and 2 bedroom condos offer the best in oceanfront vacation rental that Kauai has to offer. Enjoy the magnificent sunsets or watch the surfers or sea turtles from the lanai or go snorkeling at the beach right out front. These condos are as close as you can get to the ocean on the island of Kauai! (Note to Reviewers/Readers: The condo units are individually owned. When writing a review, it will be helpful to readers if you specify in which unit you stayed. Also, please be aware that being independently owned, each unit may offer different decor and amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kuhio Shores Condos Hotel Poipu
Kuhio Shores Condos Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing