We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fabulous Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kuhio Shores Condos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poipu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kuhio Shores Condos
Save
You added Kuhio Shores Condos to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed in Kuhio Shores unit #315 over the New Years and we had a very difficult time leaving such a fabulous place! The unit itself was in the middle of the building but our view couldn't have been better - we loved it and never heard our neighbors. The location on the island was wonderful too - beach just steps away - fantastic snorkeling, sea turtles everywhere and the stars at night were incredible. Shopping and restaurants were all within walking distance too. The grounds were well taken care of and we loved falling asleep to the sounds of the ocean. We left this unit to stay on another side of the island and we had read in the travel books beware of crowing roosters - not a problem at Kuhio Shores but definitely an issue in other areas. We will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    55
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
91
287
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Puyallup, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Mike's condo (217) at Kuhio Shores. Mike’s condo is ideally located next door to The Beach House Restaurant where you can sit and watch the most beautiful sunsets and have easy access to some of the best snorkeling on Kauai.
Mikes condo is VERY clean and organized and has all the conveniences we could ever need for our two week vacation. Seems like every details is covered such as binoculars next to the lanai to watch the whales, turtles, and dolphins swimming by the 180 degree unobstructed view of the ocean.
We ate breakfast on the lanai every morning and were continually entertained with the turtle’s right off the shore and the breaching whales and spinner dolphins jumping like crazy.
The kitchen had all the cooking utensils needed for making any meal we wanted. The bedroom and living room were more than comfortable; and having the free wireless available made the additional touch to be able to communicate with our family and friends on our daily adventures.
To our surprise, when I opened the closet in the hallway, we found additional vacation gear available: beach chairs, coolers, umbrella's, snorkel gear, boogie boards and even beach towels to further enhance our vacation.
Mike has done an EXCELLENT job to ensure your vacation stay in his condo is pleasant and memorable.
Thank you Mike....you have won us over and are making plans for our next Kauai vacation.

Room Tip: Condo 214...Incredible room with incredible views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rchaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from spending 3 weeks at Kuhio Shores #212 in Lawai, Kauai. This is a condo that is so special and at the same time an absolute 5+-star value. I must write and RAVE about this wonderful home because this was our 18th consecutive year of visiting Hawaii, so I speak with some authority about comfort, convenience, value and just about any other facet of vacationing in Hawaii. Its location boasts an oceanfront lanai where the water’s edge is no more than 20 feet away! You can enjoy morning coffee/breakfast in your pj’s if you choose, on this private lanai with unobstructed views of the ocean as far as the eye can see. The interior sets a mood of elegant/casual design and décor. Every detail is in keeping with a fine and relaxing Hawaiian vacation home. You will lack for nothing -- a truly gourmet equipped kitchen (granite counters, every imaginable small kitchen appliance) and, whether you choose to prepare only one meal or many, you’ll think you’re at home; There’s quality linens and sumptuous bedding, a bath that boasts gorgeous tile and a full glass shower [large enough for 2 if you want!], ample and convenient storage for all of your personal belongings, all with the sound of Mother nature’s waves to lull you to sleep. You are only ~25 minutes from Lihue Airport, on the “sunny side” of the Island, but with a most central location to easily visit Waimea Canyon, as well as the North Shore and the fabled Na Pali Coast. My husband and I have had the chance to visit each of the other Islands: Maui, Lanai, Oahu, Big Island for ~2-3 weeks at a time -- and as I mentioned before, it was our 18th consecutive year of visiting Hawaii. I feel so strongly that Kuhio Shores #212 should be the "poster child" for The Hawaiian Vacation. If you can only go for one visit in your life, you should go to this vacation condo.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank alohalove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We stayed in unit #117 for the last 4 days of our trip. What a way to end it. As everyone has said, there is no way to accurately describe the view from anywhere in the unit. The meal we had at the Beach House next door was fabulous(we had an oceanfront table). Karen and her husband have refinished 117 beautifully with high end appliances, gorgeous kitchen cabinets, granite etc. The bathroom and shower are also very classy as is the rest of the apartment. We even witnessed a wedding outside unit 119 at sunset(ukelele included). The area is quiet and convenient to Waimea Canyon and other westside attractions. The sunset dinner cruise on the Southern Star up the Nepali coast was first class(striploin dinner). I assume most of the units in Kuhio Shores are nice, but 117 was 6*.

Room Tip: ground floor facing ocean made it easy to walk out to the edge of the lava rocks and walk to the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bsmowat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

You will not be disappointed with this condo. It has everything you will need for your vacation getaway and more! There is definite pride of ownership and it is so easy to feel the comfort the minute you walk through the door. The sunrise as opposed to the sunset is wonderful because you can easily sit on the lanai in the afternoon/eve without it being too hot, and all you have to do is walk out front or go next door to the famous Beach House Restaurant for drinks and pu-pus in order to enjoy the sunset! We cannot wait to return!

  • Liked — Can't pick - loved it all
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We’ve stayed in numerous condos over the years, but this is by far our favorite. The condo is well maintained and up-to-date and had everything you could possibly need, but the location is what makes it spectacular. From the back of the condo, there is about 10 yards of manicured lawn, followed by 15 yards of lava rock, with the ocean crashing into the rocks. Sea turtles swim in the water just beyond the rocks. Surfers are out in the ocean beyond that. The condo faces south, so we could see the sunrise and sunset. And you can watch all this from the balcony. One of the best restaurants on the island is next door and lots of folks spend their big night out there….partially to watch the sunset that you can watch easily every night from the balcony. The food’s great too, we ate there one night. (And didn’t need the valet parking.) On the other side of the restaurant is a pretty beach with lots of great snorkeling. Here is a link to some pictures we took, all from the condo and the grounds.

https://picasaweb.google.com/raypil33/KuhioShores415?authuser=0&feat=directlink

The condo is also convenient to several grocery stores, restaurants and shopping nearby. Of course there is the rest of the island, which is spectacular too, but I don’t need to write about that since there is plenty of reference material elsewhere. Before we left, we were thinking the condo was just a place to stay at and sleep between visits to the various attractions on the island, but we found that we liked just hanging around the condo almost as much as exploring. Mike was great to work with. You can tell he loves the condo himself and wants his renters to have a great time too. He spent lots of time on the phone with us giving us hints about what to see and do. We’re planning to head back one day and stay in this condo again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillamook
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Staying at Kuhio Shores # 411 for 1 week; been here 5 nights already and loving it! The view from Unit #411 is just what the Dr. ordered for this farmer and farmerswife from the Oregon coast! So enjoying watching the turtles, whales, and even a monk seal right from the condo's rocky shore. Tradewinds, open windows, and ceiling fans offer superb cooling of the unit, so sleeping is quite comfortable. Lots of sights and great restaurants within few minutes drive!hate to leave this place, but Maui is coming up next!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank farmerswifeTillamook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 2,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuhio Shores Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuhio Shores Condos

Property: Kuhio Shores Condos
Address: 5050 Lawai Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the sunny South Shore at Poipu Beach, just 10 steps from the waters edge, these 1 and 2 bedroom condos offer the best in oceanfront vacation rental that Kauai has to offer. Enjoy the magnificent sunsets or watch the surfers or sea turtles from the lanai or go snorkeling at the beach right out front. These condos are as close as you can get to the ocean on the island of Kauai! (Note to Reviewers/Readers: The condo units are individually owned. When writing a review, it will be helpful to readers if you specify in which unit you stayed. Also, please be aware that being independently owned, each unit may offer different decor and amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kuhio Shores Condos Hotel Poipu
Kuhio Shores Condos Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing