We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We LOVED it and WE'LL be back”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poipu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kuhio Shores Condos
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Fairbanks, Alaska
2 reviews
“We LOVED it and WE'LL be back”
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed in Room 415 owned by Mike and Sue Galvin.
Sitting on the lanai we could beautiful crashing waves, turtles and excellent surfers galor.
We loved the two lane roads and this condo was the BEST location and had the best view of anywhere on the island

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Johnpi12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    62
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
102
325
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Kuhio Shores #213:
The grounds are OK and kept clean by the Grounds Keeper/Security Guard. But there is no WOW factor. Plenty of parking and a convenient luggage cart in the lobby. All of the units are ocean front, although those on the south facing shore have a bay view, rather than directly facing the ocean. There is no beach, but the grass extends out to the 6 foot sea wall. Beyond that is lava rock and access to the water is not on property, but on either side of the property. Entering the water any where along this stretch is treacherous, at best. There is a small beach just north of the property next to The Beach House restaurant and an even smaller beach (during low tide) just to the south. Plenty of sea turtles swim in the waters directly in front of the property. No pool and the gas bar-b-que is located in the parking lot next to the trash bin, a rather rather strange location to be cooking food.
We stayed in unit 213, a 1 bedroom, 1 bath. The unit is somewhat dated and needs some attention, but it was very clean. Nice tile floors through the kitchen, dining area and living space. Bamboo floors in the bedroom and more tile in the bathroom. The unit is designed and well suited for 2 guests, but no more.
The bedroom has a king size bed which is very comfortable, plenty of large pillows and extra bedding. There are 2 night stands and a large dresser, but 3 of the drawers are broken. The closet is small, but how much hanging wardrobe do you need in Kauai? The room also has a large ceiling fan and another stand alone floor fan.
The dining area has a very nice glass top table with room for 4, but only 2 chairs. There is a floor to ceiling window offering a great view to the ocean.
The living room is large and offers a 20" flat screen TV with cable, DVD/VCR combo, and stereo system with MP3 port. The WiFi router is here too. A large sofa, over sized chair, a couple of lamps and large ceiling fan complete the room. A large floor to ceiling sliding glass door leads onto the lanai. There you will find 3 chairs and a small table. Don't plan on any meals out here, unless you are OK with using your lap; the space is a little tight. No incredible "Hawaiin Sunset" here either since you are on the South side of the island. Go sit on the grass or beach in front of The Beach House restaurant (directly next door) for that view. There is an access path from the grass out front of the condo property to the restaurant's property.
The bathroom is very adequate as long as you take turns. A large walk-in tile shower, no bathtub, a single sink with plenty of storage in the base cabinet and large mirrored medicine cabinet.
The kitchen is a small but very well equiped galley. But as I mentioned early on, this place is designed and equiped for 2. There is a full size refrigerator, electric range/oven, dishwasher and plenty of granite counter space.
Some beach gear including boogie boards, beach chairs and an umbrella were found in the storage closet. Basic cleaning supplies were stored here as well.
The unit came with enough basic supplies to last a couple of days, beyond that plan on a trip to Walmart, Kmart or Costco in Lihue. There is a full grocery store (Big Save) in Koloa and a couple of small markets in and around the Poipu area. No laundry in the unit, but a coin washer & dryer are available on each floor, near the elevator. Bring quarters and plan to spend $4 per load. Laundry hours are 7:30 AM - 9:00 PM.
As I said, the unit could use some TLC. The cabinets in kitchen and bath are paint grade and have a "sticky" feel to them. It looks as if someone spilled stain on the bathroom floor tile and did a very poor cleanup. The broken drawers in the bedroom cut usable storage in half.
On the plus, the owners were very accomodating. We had a 9:00 PM flight out and they allowed us stay in the unit "as long as we needed it" on checkout day, with no "Extended Checkout Fee". The normal checkout time is 10:30 AM. There was no one scheduled into the unit until the following afternoon.
The unit is reasonably priced compared to some others in the complex or even in the Poipu area. Once the owners address some of the issues, it could probably handle a slight rate hike, even in this sluggish economy.

Room Tip: Review unit photos carefully. Each unit offers it's own decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelB94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We just got back from our fantastic hawaiian vacation and wanted to say that Kuhio Shores #212 went above and beyond our expectations. We cannot imagine a more perfect place to stay on Kauai and look forward to hopefully staying there again in the upcoming years. We have never felt so at home on vacation before and truly enjoyed watching the turtles while we ate breakfast or relaxed on the lanai at the end of an adventurous day. We honestly cannot imagine a better place on the island to stay.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mountaineers9495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

The ocean was visible from every room even the shower! The unit was older but very well maintained. Barbecue area to grill our fish after fishing on the "Happy Hunter". Constant turtle viewing from the Lanai,surfers from sunrise to sunset to the left and an awesome snorkel beach right next door with Boss Frog there when you want snorkel gear. The Beach House Restaurant next door and they even take Sunset Pictures for you! We loved the location near the end of the road and away from the traffic congestion in other areas. Robin that managed the unit was always available and professional. This was our first experience with a privately owned unit without our travel agent and were concerned, but everything was great!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candjbeachescapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O.C. CA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed in #116, ground floor, owned by Ann Breedlove. It was recommended by one of my friends. She stays there EVERY time she goes there. When arriving, I was in AWE as we drove up. As we entered the condo and saw the view, it was just breathtaking. The waves crashing and the breeze we just amazing!!! We stayed for 10 days and I was about in tears when it was time to leave. The condo was fully stocked with everything you need to live there. We couldn't have asked for anything more to complete and enjoy our trip. The walk out the lanai to the ocean was a few steps. We sat out there for hours on end just enjoying the surfers and the turtles. One of the most memorable vacations yet. =)

Room Tip: # 116 ground floor, made all the difference!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank buymebarbies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duvall, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Guess better late than never applies to this email. Just wanted to let you know how marvelous it was to spend 3 weeks in March in your condo. It is a spectacular place - we felt at home and of course in awe as soon as we stepped through the door.

Must share a special quirk of ours, even though the bedroom was amazing - Gary and I slept on the Murphy bed in the living room with the doors open so we could listen to the surf all night long - a delightful experience... Plus I got the most amazing moon shoots from your balcony!

We ate in most nights, as we couldn't find a more lovely restaurant setting on the island. To sit on the balcony and watch the whales, turtles and surfers was delightful...plus you have a remarkable kitchen so very well stocked. Didn't want for a thing - thank you.


The condo was perfectly situated and walking the neighborhood was safe and fun...One day we could walk west to the spouting horn or gardens and the next to Poipu beach. For us the condo's location made seeing the whole island effortless. It seemed to be equi-distant to the west or north shores.. so we would look at the weather and surf reports - then head to the sunny gentle side. Because it was so effortless we spent most of our time on the island basking in good weather.

One other very fun thing we did was 'meet our neighbors' by joining the folks on the little peninsula's point to watch the sun set. It was jovial and gave us a sense of community - this added much to feeling like we belonged to the island.

Thank you again so very much we had the best of times.
We wish you the very best.
Gary and Barbara

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GPSWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haleyville, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

My wife and I and my sister and her husband spent 5 nites at Kuhio Shores for the first half of our vacation in Kauai last month. Wow! What a wonderful place to begin our stay in Paradise. Unit 315 was beautiful and met all our needs. Our thanks to Mel and Pearl, the owners, for making our stay such a success. Kuhio Shores is close to all the sights and activities we wanted to see and do on the South Shore before we moved on to Princeville for part two of our journey. Lawai Beach, right next door, is a very good place to snorkle. Good restaurants and shopping are close by, as well. And, the views from the lanai in unit 315 were spectacular.
Can't wait to return to Kauai. And when we do, Kuhio Shores, especially Unit 315, is where we want to stay. Thanks M & P. Aloha!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lastgunslinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,293 reviews
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuhio Shores Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuhio Shores Condos

Property: Kuhio Shores Condos
Address: 5050 Lawai Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the sunny South Shore at Poipu Beach, just 10 steps from the waters edge, these 1 and 2 bedroom condos offer the best in oceanfront vacation rental that Kauai has to offer. Enjoy the magnificent sunsets or watch the surfers or sea turtles from the lanai or go snorkeling at the beach right out front. These condos are as close as you can get to the ocean on the island of Kauai! (Note to Reviewers/Readers: The condo units are individually owned. When writing a review, it will be helpful to readers if you specify in which unit you stayed. Also, please be aware that being independently owned, each unit may offer different decor and amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kuhio Shores Condos Hotel Poipu
Kuhio Shores Condos Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing