We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rundown unit, great view, horrible service”
Review of The Point at Poipu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Point at Poipu
Ranked #3 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We have been coming here since 1998 and love the views from the oceanfront units. The resort management gets worse and worse, now with the $65 milllion dollar ripoff construction project that they have charged to poor owners (don't think of buying here!). We were in a non-renovated unit, rusty old windows and doors. We were lucky to get a top floor unit (we reserved a year in advance) so didn't have to deal with noise from above.
The service at this resort is awful, snotty flippant front desk personnel and faux concierges who primarily want to sign you up for the timeshare presentations. Don't even consider doing the timeshare presentations, these sales people are the ultimate sharks, stay away! Check-in is at 4 so we we tried to check-in and they said nope it's not ready, try back at 5?? No sorry, nothing. When I came back I got a smirk and a "just have a seat, we'll call you". Ugh, they certainly don't let you check out any later than their 10am check-out so they need to get the units ready for check-in. I suggest they at least have a free mai-tai reception during check-in so if they are running late, which they often do, they could at least provide some refreshments. Meanwhile they have these cards and posters touting the slogan of Stephen Cloobeck, CEO of Diamond Resorts "the power of yes". I guess yes doesn't apply to "Yes, your room is ready at 4!". We had spent 2 nights next door at the Hyatt Kauai Resort so the bad service at the Point at Poipu really stood out. To add insult to injury the unit was not clean when we finally checked in, we were so tired we didn't say a word.

Room Tip: oceanfront is the best!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WilmaXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We regret if our construction project caused any frustrations; however, this project is vital to maintaining quality building and safety standards.
The persistence of our concierge team and aggressive sales team’s actions are definitely not the desired approach. Your concerns are being looked into further for coaching and review purposes. While we are happy to offer all of our guests the opportunity to learn more about our product, this presentation is certainly not mandatory.
Our front desk team prides themselves in being friendly and readily available for any guests need, and we apologize if you did not get that feeling. Rest assured the experience you had at time of check-in is unusual for our resort. We hope that you will allow us opportunity to provide you with a much more relaxing and seamless getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (809)
There are newer reviews for The Point at Poipu
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 809 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

We booked the Point at Poipu on fairly short notice through Red Week and were very pleased with how our week turned out. Stayed in building #8, overlooking the pool with a partial ocean view from the 3rd floor / corner unit. A great room location and the condition of the unit was excellent. 2 bedrooms, fully stocked kitchen, large living area, and spotless. The resort was great in terms of meeting all our requests for room location, even given the short timelines.

The grounds of the hotel are kept immaculate. The staff is friendly. We BBQ'd dinner on a few nights, and found the grills to be excellent (new Weber BBQ's). The resort provided utensils. My wife and daughter took part in some of the craft classes offered during the week and enjoyed them.

What we enjoyed most about the resort was the proximity to an amazing south short coastline. We walked along the cliffs east of Shipwreck Beach most days. An amazing walk down to the golf course and back. We also walked to the west (to the natural bridge) a few evenings to watch the sunset. The sea turtles were always swimming in the small bays right by the resort.

As per our request to the resort, we were situated far from the construction going on, and it was never an issue. Poipu is a great area with lots to do very close by. Snorkeling at Poipu Beach Park, ATVing, Ziplining, Mountain tubing, etc.

I would highly recommend the resort... we spent our second week on the north shore (at Hanalei Bay Resort) and were far less pleased with the resort.

Room Tip: Away from construction, 3 floor, request ocean or partial ocean view, corner unit
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DaveZ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay here at the Point at Poipu – thank you for your review! We hope you’ll get the opportunity to return here for another visit, and we look forward to being of service to you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This was our second time staying here and it did not disappoint. The units are spacious, well-appointed and clean. We love the location- much quieter than the Kapaa area which we moved to next. Staff was friendly and most helpful As well, the resort itself seems to be well-maintained with beautiful grounds. Our only complaint was the $25 a day surcharge we had to pay coming in on a timeshare exchange.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views. Corner units are more spacious.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brydel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you for your review – we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at the Point at Poipu! We’re sorry to read your concerns about the $25 resort fee for exchange and rental reservations, however. This is clearly noted on our website and should have been made clear to you at the time that you secured the booking.

We hope that this didn’t spoil an otherwise enjoyable vacation, and that you’ll choose to come back here for a third visit – we’d love to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This resort is going through a major 5 year renovation. It is in year 2. Building by building ( there are many) are being taken to studs. Our first room assignment was a "first floor garden view", but our patio was literally in the construction site, really. We had traded a two bedroom waterfront on Sanibel, FL. for this. The place is beautiful, but many, many rooms are being effected by construction and management is not closing them off, but booking people in them. After our complaint, George, the operations manager gave us more appropriate accommodations. But traveler beware. I would rate a four, but with management booking construction affected rooms, a two.

Room Tip: Avoid units affected by construction . There are a lots.
Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
5  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

We sincerely regret to hear of your frustrations with our resort’s current necessary refurbishments.
While previously some of the buildings that are located next to the buildings undergoing renovations were being occupied, these particular rooms are now going out of order and will not be a problem going forward. All external booking affiliates have been notified of the construction on property, for this very reason. It is strongly encouraged for all guests to make our team members aware of any issues that may arise during their stay, in order to allow us the opportunity to assist to the best of our capabilities.
We again apologize for your experience and hope that you will provide us the opportunity to provide you with a much more enjoyable stay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We didn't have ocean view but that didn't matter because the grounds were so beautiful. Housekeeping was great, we found out that they steam clean all the carpets between clients. Nice location, it was hard to find. From there we would jump in our rental every morning and go on day trips. First day there we went to Costco and bought a big cooler on wheels and filled it up every morning with our lunch, drinks, beach towels, etc. Pulled it right on the beach no matter where we went and the lid of the cooler was a table with dirink holders. Great time, second week we spent in Kappa

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brigitte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The hotel is very nicely situated on shipwreck bay. The views out over the ocean are amazing, and being on the point you can watch sunrise and sunset from the same spot. The resort is nice. Not the best Diamond we've stayed at but very nice. This was our 2nd trip to the same resort. The pool/jacuzzi were wonderful especially for our little one as he loved that it had sand around it...it was like being at beach. The other Jacuzzi was closed due to renovation. Speaking of renovation...we didn't hear a peep. They were working but it didn't intrude at all on our vacation. The units definitely need some updating. The bathrooms are old and have passed their prime and while it didn't affect our vacation really I would have expected a newer more updated unit. Needs new furniture and carpet too. Hopefully they are addressing these issues with the renovation. The staff was friendly and the towel desk was great as they rent beach stuff for reasonable prices. Overall a good time was had by all!!

Room Tip: ask for a room with an ocean view. you won't be disappointed.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mullyinma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The condos are in fine condition and the location is pretty great. Short drive to Poipu State Park which has a WONDERFUL beach for families with kids. Resort is a short drive to lots of nice restaurants in Poipu and a decent (~15-20min) drive to downtown Lihue where we bought lots of our groceries, supplies and also visited for fun or meals (e.g. the Farmer's Markets, the Plantation/Train/Rum Factory, etc.). You get spectacular sunrise views from the grounds overlooking the ocean. I can imagine that the ocean-view condos are very very nice.
We requested rooms far from the construction and got that, but we did overlook the pool (very noisy from guests until 10p at night, and then there were frogs croaking all night long! LOL). Better than overlooking parking lot, I guess!
We would have had a perfect stay if the staff had been properly trained or more attentive. Three examples:
(1) We had two 1BR condos booked. They could not give us adjacent, so we were one unit apart. Not a problem. Before arrival, we had called ahead and told them that we had a toddler who would wake early until we adjusted to the local time (we arrived from east coast). Guests below us were of course NOT happy to be woken up at 3am by footsteps above. What could we do?!? We had requested a bottom floor unit. None available. Then we did some looking around and saw that the other of our two units was above an office, where no one arrived until 9 or 10a. So we all spent 2-3 hrs the second day switching condos. Instead of assigning the toddler in the condo above an office, they put the toddler in a unit above other guests. No one told us that it was an office below one of our two units. We happened to SEE it because we looked! Front desk really should have used their noggins and assigned things the other way around to begin with. Would have saved us a morning of our vacation.
(2) We arrived around 730p in the evening and were told we'd receive our welcome leis the next morning. We went by the front desk the next morning to see if they had a first floor unit where toddler would not bother anyone below. No other unit available and, of course, no leis when we asked.
(3) Worst part of trip: a shoe that was drying in the sun fell off our balcony onto the roof of activity center below. Our fault, we admit. We immediately reported to front desk and housekeeping. They promised that they'd retrieve the shoe -- within reach of balcony below -- once the occupants were awake and they went in to clean the room. Four hours later, shoe had been removed from activity center roof, so we called front desk and spoke with housekeeping a second time. Even though we offered to come get it ourselves, they said that someone there had to bring the shoe to us... when someone was free to do it. By 6p, still no shoe, so we called and this time left message for housekeeping (gone for the day already) and front desk. Next morning, still no shoe!! At this point, my mom has been without a shoe for over 30 hours. We again call front desk and housekeeping. About 6 hours later, they contact us back. They'd apparently delivered the shoe to another room and then when the occupants said it wasn't their shoe -- THEY THREW THE SHOE AWAY. Okay, that's annoying. Worst part -- we're talking with the manager about this whole situation and he DOESN'T OFFER TO REPLACE THE SHOES OR DO ANYTHING TO RECTIFY THEIR ERROR. He sits there and says "Well, what do you want me to do?"
Seriously? Are you kidding me? We basically have to spell it out for him that (a) mom needs a shoe to get around Hawaii and (b) no, she can not wear flip flops out of the airport when we return to blizzard-hit NYC in three days. So not only did she miss a day and a half of touring already, we have to spend another morning (3-4 hrs) looking for a replacement pair of shoes for my mom, who is a 5.5EEE shoe. Do you know how hard it is to find that shoe size in NYC where you pretty much have access to everything? It was next to impossible in Kauai.
In the end, P@P did reimburse us for a pair of replacement shoes ($50, I think it was), but the headaches that we experienced make us think twice about a second stay at this resort. We will probably check out a few other places in this area before coming back because we don't need to spend so much of our vacation time fixing problems that should not be such big problems if not for the daftness of their staff.

Again, the units are up to date and spacious. The ACs hit or miss: in each of our units, 1 room had a great AC and the other had a mediocre AC. It all depended on the brand and as long as the good AC was for the MBR, it was fine. However, it the good AC was in the 2nd BR, then you had a freezing 2nd BR and hot MBR. Again, someone not really thinking it through when installing the units.

Room Tip: Get ocean view, far from construction.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dvf_personal_shopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point at Poipu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point at Poipu

Address: 1613 Pee Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9727
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range: $240 - $658 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Point at Poipu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Vacatia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Point at Poipu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point At Poipu Hotel Poipu
Embassy Vacation Resort Poipu Point
Point Poipu Kauai
The Point At Poipu Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing