We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“more outside updating superficial inside”
Review of The Point at Poipu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Point at Poipu
Ranked #3 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at the Point at Poipu for two weeks. One of the weeks, my sister and her friends stayed with us and one week was just the two of us.
The first week, my sister and I enjoyed the craft time every day and made some very nice homemade items to take home. The girls were very helpful and we were impressed.
We also walked over to the beach next door several times and enjoyed watching the kids jumping off of the cliff.
The hotel itself is being redone and we were in a redone building. We noticed that the majority of the work was done on the outside of the building. The inside was more superficial...new drapes and linens.
We did enjoy our stay mainly because of the people and the location. The people were great and the location is close to all good beaches.

Room Tip: We were given a garden view and asked to upgrade. Of course, you can't without speaking to a sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

We are really pleased that you chose to stay at the Point at Poipu, and that you had a great time here! We’re sorry to read your concerns about the refurbishment, though – the accommodation here is being refurbished in stages, and we feel sure that if you choose to come back here in the future, you’ll appreciate the changes we’re making!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (824)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 824 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at the Point at Poipu from 10/10 until 10/17. When we arrived and found the front lobby, we were helped immediately. The agent at the desk was very friendly and very helpful by explaining everything we needed. The check-in was completed quickly and we were on our way to our room.We were asked if we were celebrating anything and two of us had birthdays during our stay. We were provided with a nice little prize the days of our birthdays. We had a 2-bedroom unit (8-307) for ourselves and my wife's sister and her husband. The master BR has a king bed and the adjoing bathroom has a walk-in shower, tub and double sink. The other BR has a queen bed and a bath off that BR. The kitchen is large (for a resort) and fully-equipped with fridge, microwave, etc. The entire unit was clean and quite comfortable. The lanai has a chaise lounge, a couple chairs and a table. Our unit overlooked the pool and we were never interupted by loud or unruly residents. The washer/dryer and iron and ironing board came in handy. There is free wiifi for Diamond resort members. Sheet and towel service is once during a 7-day stay.

The resort is located about 30 minutes from the airport (Lihue) at the South end of Kauai. There is no swimming beach adjacent to this resort but a short walk to the Hyatt next door has Shipwreck Beach which the Point residents are permitted to use. During our entire stay, there was a red flag hoised which meant no swimming due to extremely strong currents. So, one had to use the very shallow pool at the Point.

We encountered friendlly staff all day every day. They all acknowledged us with a hello or aloha and a smile. However, my brother-in-law and I went to the poolside bar the evening we arrived and found the service to be less than acceptable. The bartender was more interested in talking to other folks than taking our beer order; so, we did not return during the next 6 days.

The grounds are extremely well-kept. There is construction for remodeling all the units but from our building 8 we heard very little noise from the construction during the working hours. Building 8 has not yet been remodeled.There are elevators to all floors. Weber gas BBQs are strategically placed throughout the complex and there are walking paths to, it seems, everywhere.

Overall, we were very impressed with the friendly staff, the resort units and the grounds. The location is wonderful also. We hope to return to the Point at Poipu in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PBRguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Point at Poipu is located on the sunny side of Kauai on the beach in Koloa (Poipu), overlooking the secluded and polished sands of Shipwreck Beach. The Point at Poipu is on Kauai's southernmost tip for exceptional snorkeling and scuba diving. The resort features 219 spacious two and three bedroom suits with either ocean or garden views. All accommodations offer fully-equipped kitchens, master baths, and mid-week housekeeping. The resort is a Diamond Resorts International owned property.

The location of the resort is in a fairly new resort area of Kauai. It is located approximately 14 miles (30 minutes) south of the main airport in Lihue. The drive to the resort from the airport is beautiful, along gently winding roads and open country. At about the half-way point, you pass through the beautiful "Tunnel of Trees".

The resort consists of 10 three and four story buildings with elevator access to all suites. The maximum occupancy for each of the suites is 6 persons for the two bedroom units and 8 persons for the three bedroom units. There is a $25.00 per night resort fee charged for all non-Diamond Resorts' owner bookings. This fee covers internet access in the suite, the fitness center, local telephone calls, and parking.

The overall layout of the resort is beautiful. The ten buildings are spread over a fairly large area giving a general feeling of openness. The walk to the suites is beautiful as you gradually descend through a garden of vegetation and water, all the while you are looking at the ocean. It is especially spectacular in the late afternoon or early evening near sunset.

The suites feature full air conditioning, furnished balconies with an ocean or garden view, a master bedroom with a king bed, second and third bedrooms with a queen bed, a sleeper sofa in the living room, ceiling fans, high definition televisions with DVD players and video game consoles, clothes washer and dryer, and an iron and ironing board. The master bathroom offers separate bathtubs and showers and hair dryers. The full kitchen includes a stove, full-sized refrigerators/freezers, a microwave, and a dishwasher. Additional amenities include dishes, cooking utensils, silverware, coffee/tea makers, blender, toaster, and safes.

The Point at Poipu has a large outdoor heated pool, outdoor hot tub, and sauna. The pool area has a poolside bar, snack bar, and gas barbecue grills. The staff provides concierge services, tour/ticket assistance, and tour assistance.

The check in went very smoothly. Keep in mind that the check in time is 4:00 pm so you more than likely won't have access to your suite before this time (although you are able to check in). The staff at the front desk was extremely friendly and most helpful. Check out time is 11:00 am, which is the standard for this type accommodation.

By the time we had made our long flight to Hawaii and reached the resort, it was after dark. So, we were unable to view much of the resort. But when we woke up the following morning and opened the blinds, we were amazed by the beautiful view. We elected to stay in a suite with an ocean view and with just one look at the beautiful sunrise which greeted us, we knew we had made a good decision.

We truly enjoyed everything about The Point at Poipu resort. While it does not have its own swimming beach, it is a very short 10 minute walk along a sidewalk to Shipwreck Beach. Brennecke's Beach and Poipu Beach Park are about a 5 minute drive away. While the resort doesn't have a full restaurant, there are a number of excellent restaurants in the area (TomKat's Grille for lunch / Keoki's Paradise for dinner are excellent).

We simply loved our 7 night stay at The Point at Poipu! The location was perfect, the resort was simply beautiful, the staff was always friendly and never failing to say "Aloha" when passing, and the suites were well maintained and all-inclusive.

In summary, you can't go wrong at The Point at Poipu!

NOTE: At the time of our stay, there was remodeling underway on one of the buildings at the resort. This is a part of an extensive upgrading of all buildings. While there was some slight noise during the day in the area of the lobby, it wasn't anything that ever disturbed us or would keep us from staying at the resort.

Room Tip: Ocean view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TexRanger7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for sharing your very detailed review of your recent stay here at The Point at Poipu. We were very delighted to read that you had a wonderful time here, and that our accommodations, amenities, location and customer service met, if not exceeded, your expectations. The tips you have provided about our resort and about the nearby area will be very useful for our readers. We are truly grateful for your recommendation and we hope to see you again very soon. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I own two weeks at this property and this was our first trip there. Oh my gosh, this property has something for everyone. From just having a relaxing time alone, walking the lush grounds feeling the ocean spray on your face to keeping kids busy and having a fun time---this property does a great job. There are tons of Weber gas grills around the property which are cleaned daily by staff. We ate at the poolside bar--sometimes at the bar and other times to-go and on our own balcony. Food reasonable, tasty and prepared quickly. The maintenance team treats the property like it is their own yard at their home and can be seen in their golf carts running all over. Yes the property is undergoing updates---but, for me that makes me even more excited to be an owner knowing what the future brings. We stayed in unit 8-304, which is oceanfront and on a corner...so, we had great views of the ocean on one side and the pool area on the other. Our unit has not been remodeled yet--but, it was clean, furnishings were nice and we figured out how to turn on the air in both bedrooms and shut the closet and master bath doors to get cool air in the living room. Wifi in each unit---good signal strength and a nice selection of TV channels. We encountered nothing but nice people both guests and staff and will be back again next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit away from construction if possible. Even if you are close, the noise is not too bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OregonFlorist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Our aim is to deliver memorable and exceptional vacation experience to our guest by offering them excellent service and accommodation. We hope we will have another opportunity ensure you have enjoyable and relaxing time on your next visit. Your coming back would really mean the world to us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Point the first week of September. The room was a great ocean front 2 bedroom in a newly renovated building.

The location of the resort is fantastic. While no beach on the property it is next to Hyatt which has a beech though rocky. Just a 15great minute walk along the water will get you to Poipu Beach which is one of the best in all of Hawaii.

The Point is currently going through renovations so there is construction noise and some amenities are blocked off. Otherwise no issues with location or unit.

Where I hope they make future improvements is the resort pool. It is a good size but very shallow. They also have 'sand' around about 1/2 of the pool. The so called sand might as well be shatter glass fragments as it is a killer on the feet. Leaves thm raw and irritated. The pool snack bar has a few decent items but you can do it yourself in your condo better and cheaper. The drinks are just so so. Best bet is a Longboard Brew during happy hour.

Overall it is a good place to stay and make it as a home base but is not a full service resort.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LWCline67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is a resort in the south part of Kauai. It is a beautiful property. Our balcony room was so nice to sit out on and see the many ponds and the swimming pool. It is a great pool for adults, children and little ones. The units are two bedroom and a hide a bed for sleeping six. The kitchen was very nice and washer/dryer in the unit which I love. You do have to walk a ways to the beach access but it is an easy walk. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rld70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed at the resort from Sept. 27, 2013 until Oct. 4, 2013. Frankly a person's evaluation of this property would depend on their past experiences and standards. For me it was just okay. My party shared a 2 bedroom condo with an ocean view, which was the best part of the experience. The condo had a nice enough master suite however the second bedroom was unbelievably small. There was no room for a night stand and we had to remove a small chair sitting against a wall so we wouldn't trip over it. It was fairly clean after we asked housekeeping to bleach the mold in the tiny shower. The staff was friendly and helpful.
We went to a Luau at the Hyatt next door. It was a let down coming back to the property. They are renovating but there is only so much they can do. After all this is an old Embassy Suite property.
Kauai is great but there is no way I would ever stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A1Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are sorry if you were disappointed with your stay here at The Point at Poipu. As you know, we have a very strong commitment to keep our rooms up-to-date and we go through an extensive and well - thought refurbishment programme in order to ensure that our resort is always presented at its best. We are sorry to know that you were not pleased with the apartment you occupied and that you do not intend to visit us again. We hope that you may change your mind and consider coming back, until then we wish you safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point at Poipu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point at Poipu

Address: 1613 Pee Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9727
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range: $274 - $709 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Point at Poipu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Vacatia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Point at Poipu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point At Poipu Hotel Poipu
Embassy Vacation Resort Poipu Point
Point Poipu Kauai
The Point At Poipu Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing