We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than usual”
Review of The Point at Poipu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Point at Poipu
Ranked #3 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We just got home from a week at The Point, and other than stormy weather, we had a great time!
We have been members at The Point for 9 years, and this was the 1st year that we did not get attacked by time share sales teams upon arrival...YAY!!! Property is being updated so there is some construction activity during the day, but it had little or no impact on us. I am excited to see how the improvements turn out. The pool area hasn't changed much and is quite pleasant, but I do miss the pool side service. All in all our stay was great, and the fact that the front desk staff seems to have gone to hospitality school made it all that much better!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoxyrooC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (824)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

481 - 487 of 824 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

We just returned from a 7 day stay in Building 1 in a 2BR 2 bath condo. We obtained a week here via San Francisco Exchange and were delighted. The resort is well-maintained and has a lovely series of Koi ponds leading down to the main pool. Our advance request to be away from the construction was honored, and our unit was quiet, as requested. Although we had only a "garden view", we actually could see the ocean. This resort is located on a rocky bluff and has no actual sandy beach. However, the stunningly beautiful Shipwreck beach is only a few minutes walk away. Even more lovely was the heritage trail beyond Shipwreck beach which led to the Mahaweki Lithified Cliffs. This trail provided not only stunning cliff/ocean views but also quite varied climates all within several yards!

Our unit was well equipped and well furnished. As mentioned in earlier reviews, the LR has no air conditioning unit, but each BR and the LR all had ceiling fans. This was quite adequate. Overall, Kauai was stunningly beautiful!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed here for 4 days in December 2012 with 4 other friends. My friend has a timeshare here. The grounds were gorgeous, and the pool very relaxing. I love how they incorporate the environment into everything so it feels like you are in nature. I should have gone to the pool more. It was very close to Shipwreck Beach, and most of us made the effort to walk over there every morning to see the sunrise. Definitely worth seeing! That beach was more for viewing and relaxing than it was for actually going into the water. The beach that you want to go to is a short drive away, Poi'pu Beach Park. It was great to have a condo, because we shopped at the market and cooked breakfast in the kitchen every morning. The coffeemaker was worth it alone The condo was well stocked with utensils and pots and pans. It definitely helped us save money by staying here, and allowed us to enjoy more of what Kauai had to offer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Loved the location and the grounds. We had the corner unit on the third floor. They were just finishing work on one of the building. Our unit could use some minor work. Watched the sunsets from the unit. Could have watched the sun rise also if getting was in the cards. Enjoyed the hundreds of whales from the balcony. Many turtles along the coast line. Saw one ray just off shore. Kitchen was well stocked. Rooms are well laid out with the bedroom on opposite ends of the living room. Service was on Tuesday. Unit has a washer/dryer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1938Dodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We traded our Maui timeshare to visit Kauai and stayed here for a week. The overall place is very clean and the rooms spacious. I took a tip from another review and asked for a room facing the ocean and was rewarded with a beautiful partial view of the ocean which was about a 10-15 minute walk from our building. One or two buildings are under construction and I also asked for a room away from that. I heard no construction noise and wasn't inconvenienced in any way. In fact, overall the place is very quiet. The concierge was very helpful in making all of our reservations. The island is easy to get around and there is a lot to see. Hope to return someday. Note that this resort charges some "non-owners" (depends on your Diamond point level) a $25 per day fee for parking, Internet, fitness room and some other amenities.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank TonyPuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed at my brother’s two-bedroom timeshare at The Point at Poipu in October 2012 and I couldn’t be happier with the accommodations, the grounds, and the location on the southern tip of Kauai. The grounds were well-kept and I looked forward to daily walks to Shipwreck Beach where the sunsets were stunning. Each morning we had breakfast on the balcony where we enjoyed sunrises that were picture-postcard perfect. We had everything you’d expect in a modern, fully furnished apartment in addition to a priceless island view. My stay at The Point at Poipu was truly memorable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rusticpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thank you for this lovely review! We’re really pleased that your stay at the Point at Poipu was an enjoyable and memorable one – we hope you’ll get the opportunity to return here, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I felt that I should write our review at the start of our second week. When we arrived last Thursday we found that we were placed in a garden view room with a view of a construction pile. We wanted ground floor and with some help from the reception staff we were accommodated to a ground floor room in building 9. It has been fantastic but as we were told, our second week would be in a different room. There was not much to chose from and due to our ownership exchange status we were limited even more. In pleading our case to the reservation staff we were pleasantly surprised today to find out that we were upgraded to the room we wanted for our second week. Not that we would have been disappointed with being in such a beautiful spot as Poipu, Kauai but being looked after as we have been just made the upcoming week even more pleasant. I want to thank the reception and reservation staff for going that extra mile to make our stay so much better. Your efforts should be an example for Diamond Resorts of Exceptional customer service. Glad we were the recipients.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike1399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point at Poipu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point at Poipu

Address: 1613 Pee Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9727
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range: $274 - $706 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Point at Poipu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Vacatia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Point at Poipu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point At Poipu Hotel Poipu
Embassy Vacation Resort Poipu Point
Point Poipu Kauai
The Point At Poipu Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing