We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Point at Poipu
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort(Poipu)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (850)
    Filter reviews
    850 results
    Traveler rating
    350
    350
    99
    34
    17
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    350
    350
    99
    34
    17
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsdiamond resortsshipwreck beachpoolside grilladult spatimeshare presentationfull kitchenocean viewwasher and dryersea turtlessecond bedroomtimeshare exchangeboth bedroomsgrand hyattcentral airliving roomtop flooractivity center
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    513 - 518 of 850 reviews
    Reviewed January 28, 2013

    Our average rating is an average of excellent location - Kauai is terrific and the Poipu area is very good and poor to terrible accommodations. We requested an ocean view and supposedly that was what we got. Technically, we could see the ocean - over another building under construction and blocked by fences and heavy equipment. We could not get to the ocean from our location (we could by walking to the other end of the resort. The so-called adult spa pool behind our building was unusable except at night after the construction crews left. Of course, by then the area was full of dust and dirt. They did try to keep it clean but it just wasn't possible. AND THE NOISE, not only from the construction which was 7 days a week from 8 am to 6 pm at least, rain or shine. Even the resort vehicles were extremely noisy-no electric carts for them, gasoline-driven carts that they could speed around in. They seemed to love to make noise. Finally, even the air conditioning and bathroom fans made an inordinate amount of noise. The only thing to do was to stay away from our room as much and as far as possible. Luckily, Kauai has great places to go, from botanical gardens, to shopping, to whale viewing, to good restaurants. The resort pool was adequate, the resort food was less than adequate although the hot dogs were okay. Diamond Resorts is just not in the same class with the Marriott properties we frequent. If you are booked there, call them immediately and tell them you do not want to be put in Building 2 or Building 3 (Building 4 is under construction). This is one resort where garden views may be better than "ocean views."

    Room Tip: If you are booked there, call them immediately and tell them you do not want to be put in Building 2 or Building 3 (Building 4 is under construction). This is one resort where garden views may be better than "ocean views."
    • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Tom R
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 27, 2013

    This is a great resort and a great place to stay. Clean, quiet, and beautiful. The staff are really friendly and helpful. The only problem was they are doing renovations and the construction is going on although we toured a lot so they really didn't create a problem for us. Others in our group were in the resort and trying to rest so it was a bit harder for them. Our guests staying with us were not allowed in the room until we arrived which wasn't the best as they waited five hours for us in the lobby and grounds as our plane came in later. This was unfortunate as we had sent the names of all in our group but somehow this got missed. They compensated with a 50 dollar gift certificate but I didn't feel this was enough although it did help a little.

    We plan to stay here again. We loved watching the whales from our lanai and we loved the pool and crafts. Everything was great. Great Location as well.

    Room Tip: Just ask about the renovations going on.
    • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank 498wendyf
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    diamondresorts, Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

    We sincerely regret hearing that your guests were not allowed to check in prior to your arrival. This will be addressed with our front desk staff to ensure that this doesn’t happen again. We do appreciate your recommendation of our resort, and we are extremely delighted that the rest of your stay here went well. We look forward to seeing you again, and, rest assured, we are confident that the issue that occurred with your guests will not happen again. Mahalo!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 26, 2013

    We stayed here last year and were really wow-ed! This year...hmmm...not so much. Let me start by saying that we love the location, love the spacious rooms and love the overall layout of this property. We knew that there would be construction going on and it was noisy all day long, I thought about calling ahead and asking for a room away from the construction but didn't., after all, we just don't spend that much time in the room. I guess what irked me was that we paid for a garden view room and were "upgraded" to a partial ocean view....right next to the construction and adjacent to the pump room for the hot tub. To tell you the truth if they hadn't said anything and we just got that room, I probably wouldn't have cared , after all, we opted for the lowest cost on the room....but pleez don't BS me and tell me I got upgraded. Last year our garden view room, again the lowest category gave us an unobstructed view of the ocean walking out our ground floor room10 feet. Amazing! The other thing that bugged me was they were changing out all the washers and dryers. Originally they called and said they would be thereon Sunday but didn't t show. They came on Mnday opening the only day we were actually still in the condo because it was pouring outside ....didn't exactly feel the aloha. I would recommend this property but I would suggest calling ahead and staying in a room away from the construction. They are almost complete with bldg 4 and construction on bldg 6 starts in Feb. I will say the beds are very comfortable, the kitchen is VERY well stocked and the property is well kept. They has Meade many improvements including free wifi ( now included resort fee). There is a nice beach rental shack which offers scuba lessons as well as rentalls of beach chairs boogie boards snorkels etc.
    If we go back to Kauai we would consider staying here again.

    Room Tip: Call ahead and stay away from the buildings with construction!
    • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank ColoradoMickeymoo
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 24, 2013

    Overall very nice property. We arrived on Jan 13th and were put right next to the construction. So loud we could not stand it. My first request to move away from it was denied. My 2nd request was granted and we were moved to a top floor apartment with a spectacular view of Shipwreck Beach. The apartment was very spacious and comfortable. It was a little dated and needed some minor upgrades or repairs. Nothing that really bothered us. Great having the full kitchen and washer/dryer. We exchanged our unit at the Maui Ocean Club for this. It is missing some of the little things we have come to expect from Marriott, but not bad. The pool was O.K. The bar was O.K. Nothing bad to say but also nothing great. I think once all of the construction is done it will be a great place to stay. It is a little far from restaurants so you have pretty much have to drive to them. Big Save is expensive, but cheaper than going out.

    Room Tip: ask ahead of time to not be placed by the construction.
    • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Jmacfarlane
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 24, 2013

    We visited the Point in December and loved our trip! The property was very well maintained, it was under construction but it didn't affect our stay except parking was sometimes hard to find. The units were clean and very nice, the bed was comfortable which is a big plus in my books!
    We did have a problem with our internet, but they sent someone right away to fix it, so was not a big deal. The full kitchen and laundry very welcome with 2 kids and helped keep cost down for meals. Overall a really nice place to stay, even the timeshare people weren't pushy and didn't bother us once we said we weren't interested.

    • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Sleepyj5
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews