We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, may want to wait til construction done”
Review of The Point at Poipu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Point at Poipu
Ranked #3 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Overall very nice property. We arrived on Jan 13th and were put right next to the construction. So loud we could not stand it. My first request to move away from it was denied. My 2nd request was granted and we were moved to a top floor apartment with a spectacular view of Shipwreck Beach. The apartment was very spacious and comfortable. It was a little dated and needed some minor upgrades or repairs. Nothing that really bothered us. Great having the full kitchen and washer/dryer. We exchanged our unit at the Maui Ocean Club for this. It is missing some of the little things we have come to expect from Marriott, but not bad. The pool was O.K. The bar was O.K. Nothing bad to say but also nothing great. I think once all of the construction is done it will be a great place to stay. It is a little far from restaurants so you have pretty much have to drive to them. Big Save is expensive, but cheaper than going out.

Room Tip: ask ahead of time to not be placed by the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jmacfarlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 819 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

We visited the Point in December and loved our trip! The property was very well maintained, it was under construction but it didn't affect our stay except parking was sometimes hard to find. The units were clean and very nice, the bed was comfortable which is a big plus in my books!
We did have a problem with our internet, but they sent someone right away to fix it, so was not a big deal. The full kitchen and laundry very welcome with 2 kids and helped keep cost down for meals. Overall a really nice place to stay, even the timeshare people weren't pushy and didn't bother us once we said we weren't interested.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sleepyj5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed here in early January. Our traveling party was 4 adults. Overall our stay was fine.

Positives:

1. Spacious. 3 TVs and 2 bathrooms allows comfortable space for traveling with others.
2. Great kitchen with all utensils and basic cooking tools.
3. Comfortable beds! Loved the bedding.
4. The majority of staff, with the exception of the front desk, were very friendly and attentive.
5. Pool Bar/Grill: decent food, with good selection.
6. Proximity to Shipwreck and Poipu Beach: Take a walk to Shipwreck Beach and up the adjacent cliffs. You can walk all the way to the golf course on the trails. Definitely worth it for the views. Plus, on the way, you will most likely spot a monk seal sunning himself on the beach.

Cons:

1.We requested an ocean view and buildings 8,9,10. We were put in building 3 with a view that overlooked construction. The front desk said the resort was full but it did not seem very full. I felt our request could have been accommodated in some way. They did not even try to work with us. This frustrated me as I did not fly 10+ hours to overlook construction for 9 days.
2.We had a late flight and had to check out at 10:00. We were told we could stay on resort property and would be offered a room to shower and use before we left for our flight. When we were ready to shower we went to the front desk and were informed the “room” would be the locker room by the pool!! This is the first time this has happened to us. Other resorts have always offered an actual room or suite for quick showering and changing. Instead, I have to haul my luggage to a locker room and try to shower, change, re-pack all the while avoiding pool users and other guests. The maid even kicked me out at one point so he could clean the facility= awful
3. Pool: Small and not heated.

*** Good Restaurants by Point at Poipu: Merriman’s Bar and Grill- GREAT food. Living Food Market: great place for organic groceries. Can also buy deli products. They have a wide array of sandwiches, panninis etc. We also enjoyed their coffee and espresso drinks. We are huge Starbucks lovers but LFM café mochas beat Starbucks hands down.

*** Groceries: We shopped at the Big Save in Koloa. Decent selection, close to resort. They have excellent, fresh sushi!

**** Excursions: Hiking Na Pali Coast was highlight of trip. We did the 4 mi hike to waterfalls. It was tough but we had a lot of fun and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank stephyhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were here on a Timeshare exchange, booked nine months in advance. Our room was in building 3, with the view of the water intrusion construction in the next building 4. At check-in we inquired for a building reassignment due to the noise and were told that wasn't available. Our prior request for a top floor was granted. The time spent on our Lanai was not enjoyable to say the least. Enough said.
Our unit was the typical two bedroom, we requested a queen bed in the guest room for friends that joined us for the week. The kitchen was hard to work in, we do 90% of our cooking in the condo. The refrigerator door was a nuisance and the area was tough for more than one to two adults to work in. Housekeeping installed new drapes while we were in residence, can't understand why this could't have taken place while the unit was vacant. Some type of insect (termite?) was living in our bathroom vanity. Everyday there would be a small circle of sawdust on the floor. Thought housekeeping would spray at least, but guess it was not a concern to them. Guess the next guest will also find this annoying.
We enjoyed watching the turtles playing in the surf in front of the resort.
When ALL the construction has been completed, this resort will be new top to bottom. Great for the owners.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JULIE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Thank you for your review.
We are truly sorry to read that you have experienced some issues during your stay at The Point. We would like to assure you that we take all comments from our guests seriously and we will address the housekeeping and maintenance issues mentioned by you, Also, we apologise if you found the kitchen not convenient for more than one person to cook in at the same time. We will investigate this issue further and should there be any design flaws in the apartment, we will look into rectifying those as well. We hope this has not marred what appears to have been an otherwise pleasant stay and we hope you will come back to enjoy the lovely atmosphere of The Point again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Great location (close to all the bast beaches for sun, surfing and snorkeling). Bldg 4 construction was the only negative as we were in bldg 2 adjacent to the construction. Good pool, poolside bar/grill and adult hot tub. Also great golf at Poipu Bay and Kahuna both within 1 mile.

Room Tip: Stay away from south end buildings until construction of bldg 4 is completed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TequilaDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at The Point at Poipu, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you for your review – we’re really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Point at Poipu!

We’re sorry that you were disturbed by the building work that was going on during your stay, however. Please be advised that information about this work can be found on the resort’s information page on our website, and we encourage all guests to take a look at this prior to arrival.

We want every guest to be happy with their accommodation, and as such we encourage you to let our front desk team know if you have any concerns about your accommodation, as we’ll do everything we can do find a satisfactory resolution while you’re on-site.

We hope that this issue didn’t spoil an otherwise enjoyable stay at the Point at Poipu, and we’d love for you to return here. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is one of, if not the best property in the Diamond Resorts portfolio. It sets the standard to which the other DRI resorts should aspire. We took the advice of other reviews and called ahead to request a top floor. Upon check-in we were given a top floor room on building 10 with a view over the property and to the ocean beyond. It was one of the slowest weeks of the year so I am sure that helped. We didn't have any problems with noise. The room was clean and well maintained. The A/C did not have a mode to just keep the fan on and cycle the A/C to cool the room as needed. We like to do that to keep white noise going. There is no A/C in the main living area but by opening the sliding glass door and turning on the fan it is ok. Getting around on the property is a bit of a maze and takes some time to figure out how to get from point A to B. One thing that impressed me was that for the activities, everything was set up on the tables well in advance and were ready to go. They seemed to be well organized even though I didn't partake in any of them. At some DRI resorts I have come to an activity to find noone there and when I inquire they are surprised anyone came and point me to a box of stuff to amuse myself or something! Not here. The $1 Mai Tai reception was great, but come early if you want a seat! You can't take the drinks away from the reception area either (law). I can't concur with the criticisms here about the pool. There is a deep end at 4 ft which is typical for hotel-type swimming pools and there were two lap lanes marked in the tile on the floor. People were swimming just fine. You need to come to the deep end to see it. The size of the pool is amazing and the gradual slope is just great for the kids. The beach design is neatly done so sand does not get into the pool easily. If you don't want sand, there is plenty of paved surrounding area near the deeper side. I did not get charged a resort fee as a DRI Club Member. You do not need to be a Hawaii Collection member. We did the owner update and we were assured it would not be a high pressure sale. It was not, although the "corporate survey" at the end is always a joke and too much of a challenge as to why you won't buy. That part needs to go and is in poor taste. We were able to find some places to eat that are reasonably priced but took quite some research. Recommendations: TomKat Grill, Puka Dogs, Chicken in a Barrell BBQ (locations north and east side of the island), Shrimp Station, and Bubba's Burgers. Beware Joe's on the Green for dinner, the small plates really are small plates although the descriptions sound like entrees. Oh, the ancient cemetery in the middle of the property is a nice touch (!)...kinda creeped my wife out a bit ;) Overall, a great stay, highly recommend!

Room Tip: Call ahead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dmodemd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

December 8-15, 2012
Had a great time at the Point at Poipu. Friendly and helpful staff. Concierge was very helpful in arranging activities. The grandkids loved the pool area. Sandy around the pool, so they could play with their sand toys and shallow decent into water. Nice for little ones! The hot tub is also nice! The bar and grill in the pool area is also a plus. Nice lounge chairs, tables and palapas for shade. Enjoyed mai tai's and hourdevours at the Welcome reception.
The resort has wi-fi with user names and passwords given to you at check-in. You must obtain a seperate one for each device. The wi-fi was good, but you had to re-input your user name and password almost daily. But, worth having the access. There are also two computers and a printer available in the lobby for use on checking email or printing boarding passes (which I highly recommend doing before you go to the airport). It saves having to wait in line at the airport. We were able to walk right up to the counter with no one in front of us. There was a line for people who did not print their boarding passes previously. There is also a scale to weigh your luggage in the lobby prior to leaving. Very handy!!! What a nice feature to have. We have a portable scale we travel with, but I think every place should have one of these!!!
The gals at the activity center were great! Highlight of my grandsons trip was being able to catch Talapia in one of the beautiful Koi ponds at the facility (one of the free activities). At check-in they were also given some fish food to feed the Fish. Very nice. Turtles can be seen right off the bluff. Didn't see any whales this time, but have been able to see them from the point at a previous visit. There is no beach here just rocks but the beaches are close by.
Location is great! On the south side of the island, less rain. We did get rain off and on throughout our week, but it would only last 2-5 minutes and then back to sunshine. The weather was a little windy, but can't blame that on the resort. Nice lit sidewalk path to the Grand Hyatt next door and Shipwreck Beach. Poipu Beach close by as well and has a great protected area for kids!
Our two bedroom unit was nice with an ocean front view, although the trees blocked some of the view. (Unit 6-308) Construction was in the building right next to us, but was not a problem. The beds were comfortable, but the pillows were way to full and fluffy for me. King in one room and Queen in the other. They also provided a roll-a-way for my 4 yr. old Grandson and a Pack-n-play for my 17 month old Grandson as well as a high chair. Nice to not have to pack this as well. The Kitchen was well equipped with everything we needed. Nice huge Masterbath with shower and tub and double sink. Hair dryers in both bathrooms. Large screen TV's in both bedrooms and living room and equipped with DVD player. The lanai was a popular spot with a padded lounge chair and table and chairs. Very well protected from wind. The grounds were very well kept. We saw maintanence out every morning raking leaves, etc.
This is a timeshare, so don't be surprised if the concierge hits you up for a sales presentation. We are owners of a deeded week and were asked to attend an update presentation. Was also told that it would only be 50 minutes. Being there is water intrusion retrofitting going on, we decided an update would be great. We were guaranteed that it was not a 90 minute sales presentation, but rather an update and would only take 50 minutes. This was farthest from the truth! We were greeted by our agent who proceeded to try and get us to transfer our deeded week and purchase points. When we told him we were not inteterested and we were past the 50 minutes and had family waiting for us and a place to be at a certain time, he said we were free to go, but they needed just a couple more minutes to finalize our presentation and were then sent to another person whom tried to pressure us (once again) to buy. When we said no again, they brought in a third person. Finally, we said we were out of there. Did not appreciate the very pressured sales tactics. By the way - there was never any update on the property presented to us, as was told at the concierge desk. Did not like the deception.
All in all - it was a great stay and we will be back again next year! Thanks to all at the resort who made our vacation such a pleasurable trip. See you next year!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DanandDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point at Poipu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point at Poipu

Address: 1613 Pee Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range: $267 - $653 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Point at Poipu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Vacatia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Point at Poipu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point At Poipu Hotel Poipu
Embassy Vacation Resort Poipu Point
Point Poipu Kauai
The Point At Poipu Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing