We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Point at Poipu”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Point at Poipu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Point at Poipu
Ranked #5 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Plainfield, IL
Level Contributor
82 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Point at Poipu”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We've been to this location 3 times and are heading back in September 2012.
This resort is extremely clean, manicured, and has the most gracious employees you could ask for. We wake early every morning and walk the coast with our coffee watching the beautiful sunrise. This is the "sunny side" of the island, so it is less damp, and windy. The pool at first looks like a beach, but not to be confused, it is a cement bottom pool, with sandy and rock sides. The pool is very large and had a nice little bar and breakfast area off both sides. There's also the standard small poolside hut with everything from snorkel and dive rentals to sunglasses. The rooms are very large, with one beautiful master bedroom, that has a sliding glass door leading out the the same patio or balcony that you can also reach from the living room. The kitchen has cuisenart appliances, and we do most breakfasts and occasional lunches and dinners here as well. (side note: there is a Costco about 30 minutes away in Lihue). The property is tiered and landscaped beautifully with color everywhere. The Point is kid friendly, though ours are in their early 20's... Perfect location to many sites.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pvillejennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    318
    96
    32
    15
See reviews for
322
250
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Great place, told them at check in that I did not want a tour and that was that. Staff was very responsive and unit was clean and comfortable. Great happy hour by the pool. Skip Shipwreck Beach and go to Poipu beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMRVLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed in an ocean front unit in building 6 and the view was spectacular. The blue ocean with white caps as far as you could see was beautiful. The crashing waves were relaxing to listen to. Each morning I would wake up to a colorful sunrise. And at night I could see the reflection of the moon on the ocean. Our two bedroom unit was spacious and had three TVs in it. This is a wonderful place for a family vacation in Poipu.

Room Tip: Book early and ask for an ocean front unit on the top floor of building 8 or 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BKC2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed here May 15th - May 22nd. We stayed in suite 3308. Ocean view from bedrooms and living areas. Nice patio to have breakfast each morning. Not so much as a hotel as daily cleanings are extra. Parking In the evenings were the worst. You'd end up parking way far from your room if you came home past 10pm. Amenities in the room were good. Beds are comfy and the master bathroom is huge! Air condition units in bedrooms only. That's a nice plus. Daily resort fee of $25. The pool area was nice. Definitely recommend for families and friends. Not 5 star but a real nice accommodations. Just need to mop there floors more often, too dirty and sticky.

Room Tip: Corner room is very airy. Open both front and back windows to get a better breeze flow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisacas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis, tn
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed here b/c we took a flight/car/hotel deal from Hawaiian Airlines, so we didn't expect the greatest accommodations. What a wonderful surprise. We expected a 1 berm garden level but got a 2 berm, 2nd floor with ocean view and morning sun, daily maid service. True, we did have to pay a daily resort fee even though we were not interested in the daily classes or games. But
we knew that going in. advise buying groceries in Lihue before driving to Poipu, as the little mrkts here are very expensive. Would come back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gailMemphis_Tn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Johns, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

if your are looking for a place with restaurants on site this isn't the place for you. That said...we had a great condo, were told it was a "partial ocean" view but there was nothing partial about it. It was a full ocean view. It is in a beautiful location and the sunrise is gorgeous. There are many places to walk to (within a mile or so). The staff was very accomodating. The pool was really nice but not very deep. There is a little pool bar with some great things to snack on(they also serve breakfast) and fantastic mai tais (among many other drinks). The grounds were clean, well kept and the accomodations were nice. Nothing fancy, but clean and we had a great view. I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed at the Point at Poipu from April 21st to 28th. After check-in we were sent to the conscierge for a few free gifts. He did ask us if we'd be interested in a timeshare presentation. When we told him no, there was no pressure from him to change our minds. He spent quite a few minutes answering our questions about the island and making suggestions on what to see and where to eat. Our room was a two bedroom suite on the first floor of building 10. The rooms were very nice and comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped for all of our cooking needs, and we did cook quite a bit. The grounds were constantly being maintained. The resort was absolutely beautiful. We loved the laid back attitude of the Garden Island and plan on returning to Kauai, and to The Point at Poipu.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LMS08070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point at Poipu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point at Poipu

Property: The Point at Poipu
Address: 1613 Pee Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9727
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Point at Poipu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Point at Poipu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point At Poipu Hotel Poipu
Embassy Vacation Resort Poipu Point
Point Poipu Kauai
The Point At Poipu Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing