We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun and good food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Keoki's Paradise

Keoki's Paradise
Reserve with OpenTable
Keoki's Paradise is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 37 Restaurants in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Poipu Road
Transit: Kauai Bus stop about a 5-10 minute walk on Poipu Rd.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

We ate there twice it was so good. Try the hula pie! Great entertainment (live band) and delicious food. Only bummer is that their barefoot bar isn't on the beach but it is in a nice tropical garden setting.

Helpful?
Thank Erica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,799 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,879
    1,365
    411
    102
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vermilion, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great savings during Happy Hour!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed 3 different dishes (2 appetizers and 1 main course) during Happy Hour. Very tasty, and the savings during Happy Hour are worth making a stop here.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SJMbab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best food and service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Love this restaurant. Over the years, and on all of our visits, we eat here at least 3 times. The early bird specials are great. Ambiance is terrific and the wait staff has been here for years and always greet you with a smile and special aloha. Hula Pie galore.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Really feels like the islands...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Our server told us that this is a place the locals go and that it was great... it was! Open on all sides, with fans, ponds, music... the food was delicious and our server was great. Wish we'd had time to go again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Babs45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, CA
Level Contributor
173 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Overrated and over-priced!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

We had high hopes for Keoki's Paradise. First the good news... its located in the corner of a shopping center and has great atmosphere - lots of Koa wood, flowing waterfalls with Koi ponds... everything you'd expect in the fictitious tropical paradise we call go to Hawaii looking for!

The bad news is that it is expensive for what you get with really weak and over-priced cocktails (that admittedly are nicely presented) and entrees that give you miniscule portions at really high prices. Add to the fact that we were eaten alive by mosquitoes while we ate (they don't have any method of repelling mozzies, which is pretty lame in an outdoor restaurant, IHMO).

The food was okay. We had salads to start... tasty and fresh. For the main courses we had fish (Ahi for her, mixed combo for me of Mahi and Ono, I think). The food wasn't bad, but for $100 plus tip for two people with only two drinks, I'd hope that the experience would be a bit more memorable... besides of course the reminder of our visit in the form of multiple insect bites!

Keoki's is part of the TH restaurant group that has tons of operations in Hawaii and in California. They are a good company, and I'm sure they are highly profitable in their operations, but I think they are charging too much for what you get. We've been to Dukes at Kalapaki beach, and I'd have to say I much prefer that with a better location and no insects to worry about.

We won't go back to Keokis. We didn't really enjoy ourselves with all the mosquitoes, we didn't enjoy the over-priced cocktails, and the food wasn't unique or tasty enough to entice us back. They'll continue to draw a crowd however given their location and ambience, but if you are looking for a dining experience you'll really remember (because of the food, and not the decor) you are better off at one of the other highly rated restaurants on the island.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank groovology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keoki's Paradise also viewed

 

Been to Keoki's Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing