We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poipu's Best Little Neighborhood Eatery”

Brennecke's Beach Broiler
Reserve with OpenTable
Brennecke's Beach Broiler is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 37 Restaurants in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Koloa
Coupeville, Washington
Level Contributor
265 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Poipu's Best Little Neighborhood Eatery”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The sliders and nachos with kahlua pig Happy Hour specials were excellent and the location, right next to the beach is convenient. Good Food, Good View, overlooking the park and ocean.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank DuvallDesdemona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,067 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,182
    1,211
    468
    126
    80
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Koloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
189 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“luckily for them the only game in town”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

this is just a horrible restaurant. i have never had a good meal here and i live in the neighborhood. had not been there in yrs then went again because my friend got a silent auction gift cert. they sure do not disappoint in the horrid food dept. the place is hot and cramped, noisy, and the food is almost inedible. they survive on tourists at the beach or those who do not know what they are getting into. i will never go back--no matter what. this place is not even worth a free meal.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ELLEN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert F, Owner at Brennecke's Beach Broiler, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your candidness. Unfortunately though, we're not the only restarant in Poipu, we've only been here longer than anyone else! 30 years this summer! and I don't think we've gotten stale or complacent. We are a small, very busy, family-style restaurant that doesn't do the fancy. Good Food. Good Drinks. Fun Atmosphere, but it's not for everyone. Aloha nui loa e mahalo. Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Right by the beach, and priced to match.”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stopped for lunch at Brennecke's and loved everything about the choice, except the price. Should we have known better, given the location? Probably. But even with an awesome view, great service and good enough (but not amazing) food, I still felt ripped off.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidWMcCulloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert F, Owner at Brennecke's Beach Broiler, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you. For 25 years our slogan was "Right on the Beach, Right on the Price". 5 years ago we changed it to "Right on the Beach, Food, Friends and Fun", (much to many professional opinions) because to tell you the truth, it's tough to keep that Price Point in our location. Being on the Beach is expensive. Doing business in Hawaii is expensive and Kauai is worse! I'm a local boy and I love Kauai and Poipu, but I'm a business person also. Facts are what they are. In my opinion, looking at all sides, our prices are fare (pun intended)! Mahalo. Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Level Contributor
411 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Super view, good food and great service”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is a bustling place which has been there since the eighties. We had no reservations but were immediately offered a table looking out to the beach. The menu has several good choices for lunch ,but our party of 4 decided that we wanted the daily special (pan fried mahi-mahi on local organic greens.) It was fresh and excellent! Prices are very much in line: yes, lunch near the beach on a Hawaiian island does cost more than at a grill on the mainland,but this place is not overpriced ,and the portions are adequate too. This upstairs location has the authentic feel of a beach grill, and it makes for a nice experience!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteKelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
126 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Cool afternoon spot for lunch & great drinks!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Visited mid-afternoon after time on the beach! We got a table right away with a great view over the Poipou Beach Park! Shelly, our server was great, she made many great suggestions! We had a great lunch and the Tai Chi and $10 Margarita were outstanding! Took burgers and salads back to our kids who didn't want to make the walk off the beach and. They loved their lunches too!
We will be sure to return whenever we visit Poipu!

Helpful?
Thank Dja17chaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brennecke's Beach Broiler also viewed

 

Been to Brennecke's Beach Broiler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing