We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Brennecke's Beach Broiler
Reserve with OpenTable
Brennecke's Beach Broiler is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 38 Restaurants in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Koloa
Lafayette, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Atmosphere was average but the place was not overpriced like you find so often. Nice family spot. Very casual.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank jack032265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,215
    1,232
    475
    129
    81
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“Nothing special!”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

It was ok. The food was pretty typical for a fish & chips type of place. The beach out the window was a nice setting. We were looking for a little nicer atmosphere but it was just a laid back place which would have been nice had we just come from the beach.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Mai Tai boys were back”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have been returning to this wonderful, friendly restaurant/bar every year since the mid 1980's. I can honestly say that I have never been disappointed in the food. The chefs must take great care in preparing the food, because they have hit the mark with freshness and flavor every time. I can't resist the pupu platters or the fresh fish dinners. Always well presented and yummy. I find the prices to be in line with the Poipu area. You can certainly pay more and there are places where you can pay less. But you don't get this quality at the places where you pay less. The setting of Brennecke's is just remarkable. It does sit right next to Poipu Beach and the park, it looks out to the ocean, and in whale season you can sit there while having lunch and watch the Humpbacks. The best part about Brennecke's is the people who work there. They make you feel like you are at home with friends. I love all the long term employees. They always remember us yahoos and make us part of the family. Oh yea, you bartender peoples. You still make the best mai tai I have had on any of the islands. You are always busy and always friendly always helpful. We always look forward to our visits, and seeing all of our friends who show up at our table.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cap1045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
106 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Chef Microwave on Kauai, and he ain't cheap”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This restaurant was walkable from our condo and therefore we intended it to be a formal dinning and imbibing experience for the island sans automobile. It was crazy busy when we got there and so we sat at the bar rather than wait a long time for a table. We took a look around, studied the menu and the food coming out of the kitchen, and began to have that familiar feeling we often have in many Florida restaurants......this is not freshly assembled and prepared food. This is Chef Microwave and Chef Sysco off-de-Truck, maybe Chef Defrost. The food is expensive. In fairness, we did not have dinner there. Instead, as an experiment, we ordered beers and some appetizers to test our suspicions. A previous reviewer praises the coconut shrimp appetizer and all I can say is, "Buy it at your local supermarket and microwave it at home. It's a lot cheaper that way." Our feeling is that you would be better off eating at a Chili's type restaurant where the food is less costly and you shouldn't expect it to be anything but Chef Microwave. They do have a primo location, one floor up overlooking the nearby beach, coupled with an open-air feel. Eh?

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DnAAlbany_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franksville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great view during the day”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We went to Brenneckes just before sunset and had a great seat overlooking the ocean. Great sunset. The food was very good but a little overpriced. Unfortunately when it got dark they turned on fluorescent lights that wrapped around the windows that completely ruined the atmosphere.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Doug A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brennecke's Beach Broiler also viewed

 

Been to Brennecke's Beach Broiler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing