We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Poipu
Post
Inbox
Search
National Tropical Botanical Garden
Open today: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience National Tropical Botanical Garden
from $60.00
More Info
from $106.67
More Info
from $80.00
More Info
Reviews (653)
Filter reviews
653 results
Traveler rating
447
128
44
23
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
447
128
44
23
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self guided tour gift shop jurassic park allerton tour plants and flowers combination tour sunset tour visitor center walking tour behind the scenes plant species allerton house breadfruit walk around bus ride own pace bug spray
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 653 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2020

The Allerton Garden tour lasted over two hours and the gardens were very interesting. Our tour guide, Dennis, was exceptional. Had many interesting facts and stories. Certainly different than any other garden tour we've been on. The tour is pricey at $60 per person, but we did enjoy it very much.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank rogersjcfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2020 via mobile

Did the waterfall tour $45pp and we happened to be the only 2 on the bus tour. Joe our driver was friendly and VERY knowledgeable about the property and all the plants. It was the best tour for slight drizzly day. Wish we had more time would if done other tour for $60 as you see the area of trees where Jurassic park and pirates of Caribbean were filmed. My tour did not disappoint, it was really well paced and of course very custom feel as we were the only ones. Because of this tour it really kicked off the week right despite the rain. Bus tour so much better than just walking around as the property is large and the guide so knowledgeable. Thanks Joe for the tour!

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank SBgauchofoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2019

This was a beautiful experience and we thoroughly enjoyed learning about the different plants and their history in Hawaii (Canoe plants vs native plants). We also appreciated the efforts of the Garden to maintain the landscape, help rescue endangered plant species, and educate people about the different plant species in Hawaii and Kauai. Our guide (David?) was great, entertaining and incredibly well-informed! Definitely worth the experience and a nice change from the more typical tourist excursions, with a small group of tour goers (half of which were locals). Overall a great time!

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank SmartTraveler31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2019 via mobile

A very nice botanical garden that is privately owned; more of a park atmosphere. We took the tour of the McBryde garden which is self guided. It takes about 1 1/2 hours. Labeling of fauna is not complete. Reservations are needed.

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank dewitt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2019

It included two perspectives of the garden on Kauai. We had a great guide who was personable and informative. It was very scenic.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank arthurm233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews