We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Flowers & Plants”

National Tropical Botanical Garden
Ranked #6 of 32 things to do in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: NTBG’s McBryde Garden and Allerton Garden are located on the south shore of Kauai in the picturesque Lawai Valley. Individual tours of each garden run daily and include a ride from the Visitors Center in Poipu along a scenic coastal route and continue along the valley rim on a former sugarcane train railbed. Visitors disembark on the valley floor to explore these outstanding gardens. McBryde, NTBG’s flagship garden, is home to the world’s largest collection of native Hawaiian flora, many endangered or having gone extinct in the wild. It is a “botanical ark”, filled with palms, flowering trees, ornamental flowers, and unusual plants from the tropical world. Allerton is a former private estate, named by National Geographic Traveler magazine as one of the 50 places to see in a lifetime. Plants form the walls of outdoor rooms, the canopy of trees the ceiling. Housed within are elegant statuary and water features. A popular spot for photos is the ‘Jurassic trees’, with their massive curving roots.National Tropical Botanical Garden is a nonprofit institution, dedicated to saving and studying tropical plants.
Rockwall, Texas, United States
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Outstanding Flowers & Plants”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

What an outstanding garden to visit in the middle of the winter, but guess it don't matter in Hawaii. Still is a wonderful place to see the variety of tropical plants and the wonderful flowers in blossom.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    97
    34
    16
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Paradise on Paradise for the Plant Lover”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I suspect this is an often overlooked spot for those visiting Kauai. This setting of two gardens, one with a guided tour is simply spectacular and not to be missed for anyone who enjoys the spectacular scenery of Kauai or who also enjoys plants and gardening. The setting is off the beaten tourist path and is special scenery. The gardens have a unique history and one has to tip his hat to the two men who made it happen after the MacBrydes and Queen Emma had used the same location for their purposes. Imagine taking 80 and then 250 acres and playing with them in making special garden rooms, placing fountains, statuary and follies wherever one might wish. And, they had the money to do whatever they chose. The National Tropical Botanical Garden has kept it in marvelous order and the tours are first rate chock full of marvelous information. I can just picture Robert Allerton and John Gregg frollicking around the place au naturale. They made a significant contribution to Kauai but also to the University of Illinois where their main mansion is located. And, what philanthropy to the Art Institute of Chicago! These were two men who knew how to spend money to better humankind. Thanks guys!!!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Took the self guided tour”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We really enjoyed getting to see the gardens on the first day on Kauai. A great way to get a feel for the beauty of the island. We did the self guided tour (McBryde I think) and wished we had more time to go back to do the guided tour of Allerton Gardens. Both would be worth it - the trees and plants are pretty neat even for someone who's not really into that sort of thing. Nice to see the views and scenery and imagine it when it was a sugar plantation. Would definitely recommend!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank kerichmelik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“get there early, plan your visit”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We were disappointed NOT to get to tour the National Tropical Botanical Garden. We arrived a little before three in the afternoon at the entrance and guest parking. We learned that we were too late to go into the garden as the last regular afternoon tour bus from the entrance to the actual garden had left and the Sunset tour was booked up. We had a nice walk around the "teaser" garden at the entrance, which kept us busy for about 45 minutes. The full garden is a distance away by an internal bus. The garden is said to be wonderful and by all evidences I believe it. I would say that to see this attraction you should plan start in the morning and have several hours set aside for the visit. I suspect calling in advance a day before would be a good idea to make sure you can visit as you would like to.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2A_j_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Exotic”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We toured only one of the two gardens due to scheduling but the self-tour was terrific. Everybody was pleasant and the various views of exotic plants was dazzling. We took 100's of pictures but they can't capture the beauty.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Tropical Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to National Tropical Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing