We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Natural Beauty”

National Tropical Botanical Garden
Ranked #6 of 32 things to do in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: NTBG’s McBryde Garden and Allerton Garden are located on the south shore of Kauai in the picturesque Lawai Valley. Individual tours of each garden run daily and include a ride from the Visitors Center in Poipu along a scenic coastal route and continue along the valley rim on a former sugarcane train railbed. Visitors disembark on the valley floor to explore these outstanding gardens. McBryde, NTBG’s flagship garden, is home to the world’s largest collection of native Hawaiian flora, many endangered or having gone extinct in the wild. It is a “botanical ark”, filled with palms, flowering trees, ornamental flowers, and unusual plants from the tropical world. Allerton is a former private estate, named by National Geographic Traveler magazine as one of the 50 places to see in a lifetime. Plants form the walls of outdoor rooms, the canopy of trees the ceiling. Housed within are elegant statuary and water features. A popular spot for photos is the ‘Jurassic trees’, with their massive curving roots.National Tropical Botanical Garden is a nonprofit institution, dedicated to saving and studying tropical plants.
Yonkers
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Natural Beauty”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Acres and acres of beautiful plantings and garden rooms on land that was a sugar cane plantation extending from hilltops to the ocean.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank larrydavis441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    97
    34
    16
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
minneapolis, mn
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Amazing property”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Alllerton Gardens tour: expensive...but the time flew by as we toured this amazing property. The description of "garden rooms" makes it sound more formal than it felt. A tropical setting with paths connecting "ordered spaces" and including some interesting and lovely water features. Also the site of various films.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nonamesforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Worth It”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

With so much tropical vegetation surrounding you on the islands, I'm sure it's hard to imagine why someone would want to pay money to see a tropical botanical garden -- but it's worth it! I've been to a handful of tropical gardens throughout the islands, and this one is definitely the best. My husband and I went to the NTBG in Poipu years ago, and it's so memorable that we recommended it to our friends, who also loved it. The guides are just fantastic. Not only do they know their plants and flowers, but they have an amazing knowledge of the history of the island as well. Make reservations (online or over the phone) for the guided tour of the Allerton gardens in advance; it can fill up quickly during high season. Wear practical shoes, bring water, a camera, and bug spray. This is something fun to do with the whole family!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank WellWornPassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“We love this place”
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming here for the past 8 years, have been members and just recently started volunteering on our long term vacation. The visitor center is located right across from Spouting Horn. A tram takes you down to the gardens. There are two tours; one guided at Allerton and a self guided at McBryde. I highly recommend going on both if you have the time. Everytime we have toured we always learn something new. Bring mosquito repellent, water, sunscreen and snacks. Above all bring a camera for the amazing sights. In summer the orchids seem to be in every tree crevice in McBryde. If you can, please support the garden by becoming a member.

Helpful?
1 Thank swj1051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing!”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We debated about whether or not to do the Allerton Garden tour. We are so glad we decided to go for it! You take a bus ride into the gardens, which takes you down a long road that used to be the train tracks. The guide gave an amazing amount of historic information along the way. Then you get down to the gardens themselves. WOW!

Then you start the walking tour. It is an extensive amount of walking, which is great. The information about both the historic preservation and the plants themselves is well worth the price of the tour. It is hard to put into words exactly what this tour is. It is a combination of garden tour, amazing fountains, indulgence of the rich patrons, and their desire to perserve this amazing site for others to enjoy.

We would strongly suggest you not debate whether or not to take the trip. TAKE IT!! You will be so glad you did. It is unlike any other garden tour we have ever taken.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dinner-wine-romance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Tropical Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to National Tropical Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing