We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun little place”
Review of Puka Dog

Puka Dog
Ranked #9 of 38 Restaurants in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Takeout
Neighborhood: Koloa
MIlwaukee, WI
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fun little place”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Not sure how you could be disappointed with Puka Dogs. They serve large hot dogs with Hawaiian-flavored sauces, potato chips and freshly-squeezed lemonade. Price-wise, it's a bit expensive (around $7 for a dog), but what isn't expensive on Kauai a stone's throw from the beach resorts?

For the sauces, the mango is excellent. You'll also be given a choice of regular, spicy and volcano. I had the spicy twice. It wasn't spicy. So maybe go with volcano if you want something hot. Our kids liked their Puka Dogs, but thought they were a little unwieldy and that the buns and hot dogs were not the same as those found on standard hot dogs (this is, of course, a good thing, but you know kids...).

The employees at Puka Dogs are friendly young men and women who are helpful and patient as you make decisions. There are 3 small tables in the open air for seating. You can move the sort-of dirty chairs around to accommodate your party if no one else is there, or you can eat in the nearby plaza and fend off the roosters who have also acquired a taste for Puka Dogs.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank canea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,710 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,340
    861
    341
    105
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raymond, Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Little Disappointed”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We originally found Puka Dog when it was under the Banyan tree in Waimea and then have visited it many times in the past 12 years. This visit was only so, so. They have now found a way to scrimp on the fruity mayonnaise for which they are famous. Not pleased.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Stan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Alright... hotdogs are bad for you, but put that behind you!”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

These hot dogs are the things dreams are made of. Absolutely delicious! I sometimes drive from my quaint little Hawaii home in Kapaa just to have myself a Puka dog. My wife and I, who curiously enough happen to be real health nuts, just make a day around a trip to Puka Dogs on the South Shore, an area we normally have little interest in visiting. We even like their fresh squeezed lemonade laced with a bunch of processed sugar. Yeah, we're health food nuts, but we aren't health food nazis. Sometimes we just want something unhealthy but fun!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank callandor222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Food EVER”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I love you and miss you already! Thanks so much for have a veggie dog option! We stop in every time we go to Kauai. I made the mistake of friending you on facebook and instagram - now I have to look at your delicious dogs every day. Yummmmm Mahalo!! xoxo

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HollyWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Hotdog Heaven”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Best hotdog we have ever had ! The service was great and the staff very friendly ! If you stay at the Kiahuna Plantation it is just across the street .

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bramptonlesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puka Dog also viewed

 

Been to Puka Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing