We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tropical hot dogs” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Puka Dog

Puka Dog
Ranked #8 of 37 Restaurants in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Koloa
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Tropical hot dogs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

For a great place for a hot dog, try a polish dog for lunch in Poipu with a twist. Puka Dogs put tropical flavors in their mustard and condiments and create a unique culinary experience: the Puka Dog. Their lilikoi mustard is especially good.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank David_P_Denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,255
    822
    315
    101
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

I'm a vegetarian, and my husband is a dedicated meat eater. We were both happy at Puka Dog. Veggie dogs and sausage enrobed in a roll with zesty and Hawaiian-style relishes, mustards, and more. The line was long, the seating was limited, and it was worth every second of waiting!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JandJ468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangevale, California
Level Contributor
380 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“This was Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Very interesting in a good way. The bun surrounds the dog completely and you pick your sauce and relish. The spicy hawaiian mustard was tangy and I also had the mango salsa. It is a very small place with only 3 tables. the line was long but went quickly. Great new place.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank NorCal-traveler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gresham, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

I love this place, but I also love hotdogs. They have veggie dogs that were great, and the lemonade has made fresh while you stand there. They have multiple relishes that were great, I think the mango relish was the best.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank freeride_426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not just any old Hot Dog!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

I'm not normally a Hot Dog fan - I'm British - but we wanted a quick and cheap lunch snack and the trip advisor reviews lead us hear. I'm converted - so much that we went back twice. Something about the slight crispness to the dog and the secret dressings - takes the hot dog to another level. Delicious!! Super friendly staff as well. Loved it!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Halterneckjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puka Dog also viewed

 

Been to Puka Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing