We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good I wanted one for breakfast!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Puka Dog

Puka Dog
Ranked #8 of 37 Restaurants in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Koloa
Lake Stevens, Washington
Level Contributor
114 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“So good I wanted one for breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Tried a Puka Dog a few years back when vacation on Kauai and it was delicious. This year brought my friends to this cute little hole in the wall hot dog place. I had a polish dog with mild original "secret" sauce and pineapple relish.....OMG, hands down the BEST hot dog I've ever had! I had forgotten how delicious Puka Dogs are. They are so delicious I literally was going to have one for breakfast on my last day before boarding the plane home, unfortunately, they didn't open until 10 A.M.

Go get yourself a Puka Dog. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank traveling_with_kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,256
    823
    315
    101
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sweet Dawg dude.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Sweet choices, great location and big smiles on everyone at the joint. Basic or high tech you can find sweet or savory. Heck, try them all.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank rolfd141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Oh my this was good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

This place is great. Love the easy menu, the dogs are excellent and the fresh lemonade... I want another one now! They make the lemonade 1 glass at a time and it is soooo good and refreshing. The garlic sauce is excellent and I stayed traditional with mustard, kethup and pickle relish. Tried 2 for myself, couldn't do it, they are too big.

If you are looking for a hot dog, fries and a Coke, you are at the wrong location. Polish Sausages or veggie dogs and lemonade is all they serve. And they do it well! Only 3 tables inside, but lots of seating in the courtyard.

We went for lunch and there was a good sized line, but the service is fast and very friendly. We went back for dinner and parking in the shopping center lot is terrible as it's too small for the dinner crowd. Just drive past the entrances to the lot, park on the side of the road and walk in.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BobJ268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
half moon bay, CA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Worth the wait in line”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

This place has it down- the best hot dog buns (Hawaiian bread, toasted on the inside), the best hot dogs (grilled on a BBQ)- I like the vegie dogs, and the most amazing tropical sauces- have the pineapple relish and lilikoi mustard. The only drink is lemonade, but it can be made sugar free if you ask. It is a must on any trip to Poipu- maybe even if you hadn't planned to be in Poipu.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank hmbfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
258 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Have at least one every year”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Freshest buns I've ever had (worth the price of admission alone). I go with the Polish Sausage, spicy, pineapple relish, with Dijon sweep pickle relish. My wife always gets the fresh lemonade.

Love this place, surrounded by some great stores.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Al H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puka Dog also viewed

 

Been to Puka Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing