We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have at least one every year”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Puka Dog

Puka Dog
Ranked #8 of 37 Restaurants in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Koloa
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
259 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Have at least one every year”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Freshest buns I've ever had (worth the price of admission alone). I go with the Polish Sausage, spicy, pineapple relish, with Dijon sweep pickle relish. My wife always gets the fresh lemonade.

Love this place, surrounded by some great stores.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Al H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,289
    834
    326
    101
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lindale, TX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Obsessed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Such a cute little restaurant with big, creative flavor. I am not a huge hot dog eater, but heard this place was a must. My husband and I both ate the Polish dog with mango relish and lilikoi mustard. Might sound like a strange combination, but that paired with the sweet bread bun...YUM! Best hot dogs we've ever had. They also had delicious, fresh lemonade! Not too expensive either - compared to what lunches can be in Kauai.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tamara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not your everyday hotdog”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

I'm not even a polish sausage fan, but man are these good! Both times I got the original with their passion fruit mustard and papaya relish and it was delish. My husband gets the spicy sauce, which he says is a mild spice. We always get a lemonade too. I guess what makes them special are the sauces and the fresh bun that encapsulates the dog. It will definitely be palace to come back to each time we are on the island!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kasens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Bar, California
Level Contributor
255 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A Fun Hot Dog Joint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is a fun place to stop in for an easy lunch if you like hot dogs. The prices seem a little high, until you get your meal, which is large. We ordered three (1 for my wife & two for me). I couldn't finish the second one - it was too much food.

Very friendly owner and a nice varied menu. Great chili dog.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirk F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell, New York
Level Contributor
366 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Nice twist on the hot dog”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

I am not really a hot dog eater. I actually can't recall the last time I ate one. We decided to give Puka Dog a try for lunch yesterday and I was pleasantly surprised. The polish dog with spicy sauce and pineapple relish was tasty and different. The spicy was nonexistant but the combination with a nice cold lemonaide sure seemed right. Good job Puka Dog!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank optiman32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puka Dog also viewed

 

Been to Puka Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing