We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”
Review of Puka Dog

Puka Dog
Ranked #7 of 37 Restaurants in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: Koloa
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Absolutely amazing hot dogs here! Cute little shack with the best lemonade ever! Take your food down with you to the beach and enjoy beautiful Kauai :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,322
    848
    336
    102
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sweeny, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Puka Dog is Top Dog!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is what a hot dog should be. I'm not big on the average hot dog... I can take 'em or leave 'em. But if you're on Kauai, don't miss out. Make sure you try a Puka Dog! I like the Polish dog with original relish and Hawaiian mustard. Can't be touched by any mainland dog!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tasty hot dogs with a Hawaiian twist”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We visited Puka Dog a couple of times on our trip to Kauai. Very yummy dogs with a nice crunchy texture on the outside. The buns are nice and fresh with some interesting flavors to add like mango, passion fruit and other island treats. I would definitely recommend.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mksvenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, WA
Level Contributor
185 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Puka Dog”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Yummy lunch. Very original. We always enjoy eating here when we are in Kauai. The wait is worth the meal. Good lemonade and great mustard. We get the mango salsa. Would highly recommend!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SGEverettWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Grande, Arizona
Level Contributor
85 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“hot dog heaven”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

A must do if your a hot dog lover. So many different ways to have your hot dog dressed. The only reason I'm not rating 5 stars is because the only serve lemonade as your drink choice but you won't be disappointed by the hot dog!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puka Dog also viewed

 

Been to Puka Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing