We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Open your mind”
Review of Puka Dog

Puka Dog
Ranked #8 of 37 Restaurants in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Koloa
NJ, USA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Open your mind”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

If you are looking for a great New York City or Chicago style dog, look elsewhere. If you are looking for something a little different ... something local ... try Puka Dog. The hot dogs are good quality. They put a hole in a hoagie roll and fill it with the dog and your condiments. Try the polish style dog with the local mustard, pineapple relish and the hot homemade sauce. Very good. We liked it so much, we went back for lunch a few days later.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank billipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,309
    842
    330
    102
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

If you want a soggy puffy white bun with a sausage or veggie dog hidden in half of it, with little fruit salsa and a lot of the somewhat decent mustard they pitch, then this is your place. Seriously overrated by others. $7 wasted when there is really good fish and other island food to be had elsewhere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GallatinGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcata, California
Level Contributor
132 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Just not my idea of a proper hot dog”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The food on Kauai tends to be rich and sweet so I should not have been suprised by what they did to a polish sausage but it is wrong.

Reading the menu honestly made my mouth water. I could almost taste the juicy dog mixing with fresh, spicy tropical relish. In my mind it was going to be like a fruit salsa, in reality it was sweet mayonaise. Ick. Sugary fat on top of salty fat is just too much.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bmp68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
133 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“" Puka Puka "”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I have read about this place and then we decided to take the kids to this place in Poipu !
The kid loved it , we adults found it just wrong ..... I was excited about having choices of toppings , like lilikoi, hot & spicy , papaya , etc .
What we found was the sauces were just mayo and nothing was spicy or hot about any polish dog or hot dog for that matter. The idea that they toast your bun and then place the sauces and dog inside were what we thought would be good. Not enough toast for the amount of bread that is on this hot dog. The fresh lemonade is lovely , but after waiting in a line that lasted around 1/2 hour we just couldn't see why ?
Send the kids , its really for them , not for a adult and its not cheap !

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cyprusbeachgirl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lots of bread”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Lots of flavors to pick from. The bread was good, just to much of it. The lemonade was great! Very refreshing.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank A-getaway-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puka Dog also viewed

 

Been to Puka Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing