We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ziplining- an amazing family favorite!”
Review of Outfitters Kauai

Outfitters Kauai
Book In Advance
More Info
$112.50*
and up
Waimea Canyon Bicycle Downhill
More Info
$122.92*
and up
Hidden Valley Falls Kayak and Kauai Hike Adventure
More Info
$112.50*
and up
Paddle Kauai Jungle Streams
Ranked #1 of 10 Tours in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Outfitters Kauai has been making vacations awesome since 1988! Offering you a wide range of activities, including HAWAII’S LONGEST ZIPLINE; Exciting Ocean and River Kayak Tours; Waimea Canyon Downhill Biking Tours; SUP Tours; along with hiking and swimming options for many of our guided adventures. Zipline Tours: On May 1, 2017, Outfitters Kauai launched their newest additions... the 3/4 mile long FlyLine Kauai Zipline, and the Kipu Ranch Visitor Welcome Center. The result is improved and reconfigured Zipline Tour packages, and a new, convenient check-in location. Each zipline tour is unique as our lines vary by size, skill-level, and terrain. Fly with us over lush valleys, tumbling waterfalls and forest canopies — landscapes made famous by movies like Jurassic Park, Pirates of the Caribbean, and Indiana Jones. Kayak Tours: If you want to explore the secret beaches and hidden waterfalls of Kauai, Hawaii, look no further than our kayak tours. Outfitters Kauai offers both ocean and river kayaking. Each tour is unique and combines kayaking with additional activities like hiking, snorkeling, swimming, and wildlife viewing. See the famed Na Pali Cliffs, or take a Poipu Whale Watch tour (seasonal). Paddle-Boarding Tours: We invite you to take a standup paddle along a tranquil jungle stream, ringed by the majestic Hau’pu Mountains. The adventure starts with a quick SUP lesson, then you’ll be fitted with a paddle and board that is just the right fit. Outfitters Kauai provides paddlers with top-quality equipment, so you can paddle with ease and get the most out of your adventure. Downhill Bike Tours: Our bike tour takes you alongside what is called “The Grand Canyon of the Pacific” at 3,600 feet on the west side of Kauai. As you wind your way down this geological wonder, you will enjoy panoramic views of crested buttes, amazing waterfalls, rugged crags and deep valley gorges. From the main lookout point, there are dramatic views of Kauai’s lush interior and dazzling ocean coast. Think of this as a nature walk on two wheels, complete with refreshments and information about the culture, history and folklore of Kauai.
Wayne, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ziplining- an amazing family favorite!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

From the moment we arrived at the first station, my family was hooked. The course made up of about 8 stations got more and more exciting as we went along ending with a zipline drop into deep secluded pool. You can zip and drop 10 feet into the pool or jump from an 18 foot platform (if you're more adventurous.) Beautiful scenery with heights of up to 150 feet above. Our guides Zeb and Alina were fabulous and extremely safety oriented. Easily our family's favorite excursion in Kauai!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank gypsy1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outfitters-Kauai, Director of Sales at Outfitters Kauai, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Aloha gypsy1946,
Thank you for the excellent review and for sharing your vacation with us. Zeb and Ellina are "fabulous" and "extremely safety oriented". Mahalo for noticing. Great to hear the Nui Nui Zipline course was your family's favorite excursion in Kauai. We look forward to seeing you next time you are on Kauai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,053
    149
    32
    18
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Kips safari fun for everyone”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

What a great activity. Start with an easy kayak up river. A jungle walk to the same rope swing Johnny depp swung on in pirates of the Caribbean. Tractor ride to the zip lines. (ask them to show you how to go upside down) then zip line or jump into a jungle pool. Elvis, houlio, and Scott were our entertaining and funny tour guides with some good education about the island thrown in between. Do it near the beginning of your stay to learn about the island before exploring elsewhere. We're so glad we did.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BWill_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outfitters-Kauai, Director of Sales at Outfitters Kauai, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Aloha BWill,
Mahalo for sharing a day of your vacation with us and for the excellent review. Your recommendation of doing the tour early in your stay is a good one. All of our guides have great suggestions for people for the rest of their time on Kauai. Love your description of Kipu Safari. Elvis, Julio and Scott are all those things. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stand up Paddle Board Adventure”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We really enjoyed the SUP adventure with Outfitters Kauai on the river in Hule’ia National Wildlife Refuge. It was a small group, 6 people and the river was not crowded at all. Outfitters Kauai is one of a small number of companies that can take tours into this refuge. It also included a beautiful hike to a fresh water pond which really added to the day. Our guide was Harod who is a local to the island. He taught us a ton about island history and the flora and fauna as we walked the trail. I highly recommend him as a guide. You can rent paddle boards and go on your own but you are not allowed to go on shore. We felt it was worth the money to take the tour instead of going on our own as we learned and saw things we wouldn't have otherwise.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret68sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outfitters-Kauai, Director of Sales at Outfitters Kauai, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Aloha margaret68sf,
Mahalo for the excellent review. Our Stand Up Paddle adventure does not get enough reviews. Harold makes any tour fun and informative. He's a great guide. SUP on the Hule'ia river is a spectacular day. Definitely better with a guide :) See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaithersburg,maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Safari zip lining tour was fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Thank you outriggers for a special and wonderful day and memory! Wow what do I say that can really express what a fun and exciting and beautiful day it was!!!!
First let me compliment Jason and Alex for their professionalism and humor!!!!! Absolutely excellent!!!! It helped that we had some very funny families as part of our group which I also want to thank! So if you were in this trip on August 2nd, thank you for sharing your families with ours! I hope you enjoyed our families too!
The kayaking was gorgeous as well as the hiking trails....the zip lines were incredible!!!! I can't believe I did them!!!!! This is not for babies!!! Trust me they are up there in height!!!! Seriously, amazing!!!!!!
Literally very aspect of this day was special! Thank you outfitters for EVERYTHING!!!! The only thing that could have add would be maybe an option for that fireball shot before I jumped off those zip lines!!! Lol

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank beachgroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outfitters-Kauai, Director of Sales at Outfitters Kauai, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Aloha beachgroupie,
Thank you for the "fantastic" review. I can tell you really enjoyed your day with Jason and Alex. They are excellent. Kipu Safari really is the best day ever :) Hope to see you again for another special adventure with us. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Waimea Canyon Sunset Ride”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Don't miss this bike ride while on Kauai! Our guides Muffy and Harold were great and provided so much info about the island and Hawaiian culture and plants. The ride was 13 miles downhill along the canyon rim and included multiple stops and overlooks. Muffy and Harold found fruits and plant seeds for the bikers to sample, and there were snacks and drinks before the tour ended. The pace was perfect for families and couples and the bikes were equipped with disc brakes for great control. Highly recommend for great views and info about Kauai.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outfitters-Kauai, Director of Sales at Outfitters Kauai, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Aloha Brian M,
Mahalo for the excellent review. Muppy and Harold are great guides. The Downhill Bicycle is one of my favorites. Thank you for sharing your vacation with us. We hope to see you again on Kauai for another adventure with Outfitters Kauai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outfitters Kauai also viewed

 

Been to Outfitters Kauai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing