We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kayaking Kauai's South Shore”
Review of Outfitters Kauai

Outfitters Kauai
Book In Advance
More Info
$112.50*
and up
Waimea Canyon Bicycle Downhill
More Info
$122.92*
and up
Hidden Valley Falls Kayak and Kauai Hike Adventure
More Info
$112.50*
and up
Paddle Kauai Jungle Streams
Ranked #1 of 10 Tours in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Outfitters Kauai has been making vacations awesome since 1988! Offering you a wide range of activities, including HAWAII’S LONGEST ZIPLINE; Exciting Ocean and River Kayak Tours; Waimea Canyon Downhill Biking Tours; SUP Tours; along with hiking and swimming options for many of our guided adventures. Zipline Tours: On May 1, 2017, Outfitters Kauai launched their newest additions... the 3/4 mile long FlyLine Kauai Zipline, and the Kipu Ranch Visitor Welcome Center. The result is improved and reconfigured Zipline Tour packages, and a new, convenient check-in location. Each zipline tour is unique as our lines vary by size, skill-level, and terrain. Fly with us over lush valleys, tumbling waterfalls and forest canopies — landscapes made famous by movies like Jurassic Park, Pirates of the Caribbean, and Indiana Jones. Kayak Tours: If you want to explore the secret beaches and hidden waterfalls of Kauai, Hawaii, look no further than our kayak tours. Outfitters Kauai offers both ocean and river kayaking. Each tour is unique and combines kayaking with additional activities like hiking, snorkeling, swimming, and wildlife viewing. See the famed Na Pali Cliffs, or take a Poipu Whale Watch tour (seasonal). Paddle-Boarding Tours: We invite you to take a standup paddle along a tranquil jungle stream, ringed by the majestic Hau’pu Mountains. The adventure starts with a quick SUP lesson, then you’ll be fitted with a paddle and board that is just the right fit. Outfitters Kauai provides paddlers with top-quality equipment, so you can paddle with ease and get the most out of your adventure. Downhill Bike Tours: Our bike tour takes you alongside what is called “The Grand Canyon of the Pacific” at 3,600 feet on the west side of Kauai. As you wind your way down this geological wonder, you will enjoy panoramic views of crested buttes, amazing waterfalls, rugged crags and deep valley gorges. From the main lookout point, there are dramatic views of Kauai’s lush interior and dazzling ocean coast. Think of this as a nature walk on two wheels, complete with refreshments and information about the culture, history and folklore of Kauai.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Kayaking Kauai's South Shore”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was a wonderful experience. Unfortuneately we didn't sea any whales, dolphins or turtles that day, but what an experience. If you are not in decent shape, do not try this excursion. 8 miles of kayaking the ocean. You have a 6 mile stretch......it's long and hard. But it was worth the effort. So nice to be out on the ocean. The staff was wonderful and very helpful. They gave us very good instructions before we left. Our friends did a huli huli (tipped over) and did exactly what they were instructed to do if that happened. We had an exciting day and loved every minute of it!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sherry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,053
    149
    32
    18
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Kayak Tour, Long Trip Home”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I really enjoyed the kayaking tour and our trip guide Elvis was phenomenal. He kept things interesting and we had a lot of fun doing the kayak and the hike. I would have given 5 stars except that it took forever to get back to Poipu after the trip. We dropped two of the groups off at their hotels, which didn't take long and then we made a detour to get gas. The detour ended up taking about 30-45 minutes because there is a special gas station off the beaten path that they fill up at. You shouldn't have to spend this much time driving around Kauai to get gas ... that is time I would have rather spent relaxing on the beach.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

What an amazing day! The staff were all so friendly!
We started with a 2.5 mile kayak where we were told stories and legends. On the way up the river we saw a turtle! Our group was young, which made everything more fun. After the kayaking, we got out and did a little hike were we stopped by a little water hole. We swung off a rope and into the water! Very refreshing! We then ate lunch, we are vegetarians and because we booked through another company we were not asked about our food preferences so we got turkey subs. But that was ok as there was pasta salad, and plenty of cookies to spare! Take note that this was not their fault but it was the company we booked through who didn't mention anything. We then did two ziplines with amazing views and at guava fruit straight off the tree! My favourite part was near the end when we swam in a dormant volcano filled with fresh rainwater. There were turtles in there too! We went on a small flying fox where you let go and jump into the water. It was so fun! There was also a high platform you could jump off, which was equally as fun! I would definitely recommend this tour and will be doing it again when I come back! Well worth the money, I was highly impressed.

Helpful?
Thank Chelseaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ZipLine Trek Nui Loa”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Definitely would recommend this excursion to anyone! Cory and Janna and Deeds were our guides and they were awesome! They made sure we were secure in our gear before each zip. They provided good information of the ranch as well. A must do for everyone!
PS The lunch they provided was awesome too!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank CarrieJCouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buddina, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Downhill Bike Ride from Waimea Canyon”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We are four over 50 Aussies and just loved the downhill bike ride and the views were amazing!!! Thanks Nick and Andy for making the whole adventure very enjoyable! And don't forget to come and visit our beautiful Australia too. You boys would just love it!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outfitters Kauai also viewed

 

Been to Outfitters Kauai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing