We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some of the best Italian food on Kauai” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dondero's

Dondero's
Reserve with OpenTable
Dondero's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 37 Restaurants in Poipu
Price range: $9 - $42
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Koloa
Cross street: Ainako
Description: Dondero’s, will satisfy your soul as well as your appetite. Combining elegant ambiance with stellar service makes this a dining favorite for those with discriminating taste. The menu features Italian classics with a fresh twist including a large selection of appetizers, homemade pastas, risotto, fresh fish and beef specialties. This delicious Italian cuisine is carefully paired with wines from all over the world. Delectable desserts and a cappuccino or port round out the repast.
Palos Verdes
Level Contributor
118 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Some of the best Italian food on Kauai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

My wife and I were staying at the Sheraton and had read some nice reviews of Dondero's. When we arrived we were seated at a nice table outside on the patio overlooking the gardens. The staff was very friendly and extremely welcoming and helpful. The food was exceptionally good, tasty and well prepared. In addition to a varied menu of Italian dishes, Dondero's offers a nice selection of meat and sea food dishes priced very reasonably. Needless to say we were very impressed with our meal and plan to return on our next trip to Kauai.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PalosVerdesAviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    140
    99
    40
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

We were staying right next to the Hyatt, and easily made online reservations to eat at Dondero's. I would say that they make a production about whether you are staying at the resort or not; and when we were not, they seated us at a back, corner table. The end result was that I think we actually had a great spot. It was easy to people watch, and we were very comfortable (temperature wise). The wait staff was friendly and fun. The food was good, but not spectacular. The prices were relatively high compared to most places, but in line with Island resort pricing. We wouldn't eat her more than once on a visit, but would likely visit again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KansasOnTheLoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Think Twice Then Don't Go”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Wish I could have taken my own advice...one would expect more from the Hyatt Regency. Whoever designed the interior should go to Italy or New York, or maybe just have done some research. The Caesar salad was actually very good but the other salads were uninspired - the chef could just eat at some nearby Poipu restaurants for tips. Spaghetti and meatballs were good, too, but the seafood pasta needs work, as in, where were the lobster and crab? This was not Cinque Terre for sure. The worst - the puny overpriced chicken breast was not even a meal. Call room service or go somewhere else.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank BruininEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
297 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“good food in a nice setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

We had an excellent dinner at Dondero's in a nice setting. By arriving early (6:15pm), we got outside seating with an ocean view, which enhanced the dining experience. The food was good, but not spectacular. The prices were relatively high compared to most places, but in line with Island resort pricing for a high-end restaurant. You won't be blown away by this restaurant, but you won't likely be terribly disappointed either. It is a solid four star experience with good food and a good location. The service was also very good - no complaints.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mmeyernos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Average "resort italian"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

They make a point to say all the pasta is made on site. That may be the case, but unless it is cook and sauced properly it is a wasted effort. Both our pasta dishes were well past al dente and on the way to mush. The sauces were heavy and too sweet to our liking. The service was amicable but somewhat inept with dishes delivered to wrong tables. We enjoyed our meals at the other restaurants in the resort, but not this one.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank golerjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dondero's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing