We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not my favorite”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tidepools

Tidepools
Reserve with OpenTable
Tidepools is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 37 Restaurants in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Polynesian, Hawaiian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ainako
Description: Embrace the tempting combination of contemporary Hawaiian cuisine served in a unique Hawaiian setting. Thatched-roof bungalows float above a koi-filled lagoon at the base of a waterfall to create romantic ambiance. Inspired by local ingredients and the rich culinary traditions of Hawaii
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good but not my favorite”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Some people may swoon over the Grand Hyatt, but I had a different reaction. The grounds would be beautiful anywhere else, but in Kauai where nature is amazing, I was struck by an artificial feel - from the man-made lagoons to the koi ponds around the restaurant - I felt like I was in an artificial paradise. Give me the more beachy ocean front Mediterranean gourmet or the Beach House restaurant with actual ocean views. I also felt the huts of the restaurant were a little muggy. Dinner is expensive and it was good but not "I have to eat there again" good. I feel I am most likely in a minority in my opinion - but that is my take.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank catherine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,089
    385
    193
    55
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Good--average Food,Inattentive Service”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

The nice setting and menu with some interesting selections was compromised by poor service. For a place with such a pricy menu I expected much more.

Helpful?
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Artistry on your Plate”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

This restaurant came highly recommended as a perfect romantic honeymoon dinner location and it certainly didn't disappoint. Diners are seated in one of several thatched roof open air rooms with gorgeous views of the Grand Hyatt lagoon and setting sun. Although it rained a few times during our dinner, it didn't seem to affect the guests seated adjacent to the water. The tables are reasonably spaced and while the restaurant was busy, we didn't feel crowded.

Service was prompt and courteous, but the real magic at Tidepools is on your plate. We started with the Ono Ceviche (served in a half coconut shell) which both looked and tasted incredible. This was followed by Macadamia Encrusted Mahi Mahi (a Hawaiian cliche - but you have to have it at least once) and Red Snapper (melt in your mouth delicious). The presentation of our meals was so perfect we almost didn't want to eat them (but we were glad that we did)! We even saved room to share a dessert. Portion sizes are not large but we certainly did not leave hungry. Tidepools is a touch on the expensive side but definitely worth the splurge for a special occasion (you are in Kauai so every night qualifies as a special occasion).

After a very satisfying meal, we completed our evening with a moonlight stroll through the Hyatt grounds and along Shipwreck beach. Absolute paradise!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Honeymoon”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Views were great, food was good. We ate in the bar area without a reservation and they served the same menu.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dinner with friends”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

We ate dinner at Tidepools on August 4th. The grounds at the Hyatt are beautiful and the food was Fabulous. Wilma provided excellent service. The dinner was a little pricey but SO worth it. A definite must for a romantic or even special family dinner.

Helpful?
Thank jm1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tidepools also viewed

 

Been to Tidepools? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing