We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Dinner at Tidepools”
Review of Tidepools

Tidepools
Ranked #4 of 38 Restaurants in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Hawaiian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ainako
Description: Embrace the tempting combination of contemporary Hawaiian cuisine served in a unique Hawaiian setting. Thatched-roof bungalows float above a koi-filled lagoon at the base of a waterfall to create romantic ambiance. Inspired by local ingredients and the rich culinary traditions of Hawaii
Venice, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A Special Dinner at Tidepools”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We have been to this restaurant several times over the years and generally, we have to agree with many other reviewers that feel the food does not quite equal the setting. But this year they surprised us. Our food was VERY good and of course the atmosphere is great. My husband's diver scallops very fabulous and my Hawaiian seafood was excellent. The service was attentive and the weather was perfect (even if they can't be credited for that.) Maybe I'm just a sucker for torchlit koi pods around me. But we enjoyed our evening there very much.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kimocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,807 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,130
    398
    199
    58
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Below average...”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Below average for the cost, view doesn't make up for the food. After living in NYC and a San Francisco suburb for many years my wife and I have experienced many michelin star restaurants it was disappointing. The food at Tidepools was fine. Not on our list to return to. (Keep in mind this entire meal was covered by my wife's points: it was free and we still were disappointed)

Helpful?
Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great meal in a fabulous setting...but watch out for mosquitos”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We had a fantastic meal at this great restaurant, but about half way through our dinner, my husband said "we have to leave, I'm being eaten alive"...I didn't notice the mosquito bites until the next day, but boy, I had 20 or more bites on my legs (really big ones). Tidepools is surrounded by Koi ponds, etc, and I'm sure that's where the mosquitoes come from. So,if you go, expect a fabulous meal, but wear a lot of repellant, or ask for a table far away from the water. But for the ferocious mosquitoes, I would have given Tidepools 5 stars.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, ME
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Surprisingly great food”
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

In our many visits to Kauai, we have avoided Tidepools, based on a disappointing meal at Dondero's years ago and fearing Tidepools would be more about ambiance than the food. How wrong we were! Yes, we had a fabulous, lagoon-side table but the food, in all courses, was very good and well-presented. Our waiter Andy, was genuinely friendly and very attentive, including following up with another staff member on how lava rocks walls are made. Our son recommended we give Tidepools a try and we are glad we followed his advice!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank oldmayor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home Base - Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, great service, excellent food...”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This is a wonderful place. The setting around the pools of the Hyatt are special. So peaceful and soothing as soon as you sit down at your table. Our waitress Marta was fabulous. Polite, helpful, interesting and experienced. She enhanced our meal. Highlights included the tempura Ahi. Great. The macadamia nut Mahi Mahi was terrific. The chicken was moist and tasty. Filet was cooked perfectly. The tables are not too close together allowing for enjoyable conversations with others at your table. Tai chi was the perfect drink to get us started. Perfect for a family dinner or a date night. Looking forward to returning.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MassTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tidepools? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing