We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Tidepools

Tidepools
Ranked #3 of 37 Restaurants in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Hawaiian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ainako
Description: Embrace the tempting combination of contemporary Hawaiian cuisine served in a unique Hawaiian setting. Thatched-roof bungalows float above a koi-filled lagoon at the base of a waterfall to create romantic ambiance. Inspired by local ingredients and the rich culinary traditions of Hawaii
Elk Point, South Dakota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We ate at some of the finest restaurants in the state of Hawaii on our visit and I would have to say Tidepools ranks among the top of them. Both my wife and I had some of the best seafood dinners we have ever had. We enjoyed the restaurant so much we ate there twice and skipped the other nice restaurant at the Grand Hyatt. The service was also very good. If you are in Kauai, you much check out Tidepools.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Reid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,786 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,121
    391
    196
    57
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overpriced hotel food”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Spent 500 at tidepools don't have the cold water lobster it's like chewing rubber spoke to manager about lobster said she will tell the chef but I would have liked to been accommodated at this hotel the atmosphere is its a hotel what do you expect

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jlcmna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipshewana, Indiana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere, great food”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Had dinner with friends at Tidepools one evening and loved it! Would recommend it to anyone! I especially remember the wonderful cocktails!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank csomers21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Convient location, if you're staying at the Grand Hyatt Resort”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We dined at Tidepools our second night at the Grand Hyatt Resort. Service was very good, but the food was just okay. We enjoyed our dining experience, but after a couple days we ventured off the Resort for other dining options.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank randy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
538 reviews
334 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Cute place on the grounds of the Hyatt”
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Cute place on the grounds of the Hyatt. Food is okay not the greatest. But it's location and atmosphere are beautiful. Just steps from the ocean.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tidepools also viewed

 

Been to Tidepools? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing