We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”
Review of Roy's Poipu Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Roy's Poipu Bar & Grill
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Asian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

After being told they were "sold out for the night" at 6:30 we cajooled our way into a table for 6 and had a great time. Always consistent and great service. Too bad of the empty tables, they kept on turning people away which baffled us. The other places in the complex were packed and so could have Roy's been.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank fpk932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,041 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    519
    275
    144
    78
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
203 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“dessert and service make it a 5”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

the food is actually "very good" overall, we had the steak and shrimp and the duck rolls and lobster bisque. However the service was some of the best i have EVER had.Nice,quick and my water was ALWAYS 3/4 full!!(says alot cuz i guzzle it).The desserts were also amazing!-we had the pineapple cake AND the chocolate cake and both were worth every freaking calorie. I would recommend this place for food over the beach house but beach house has great location/view. Our bill for the 2 starters,2 surf and turfs and two desserts was about 160.00

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank mailboxblondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okoboji, Iowa
Level Contributor
433 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Another wonderful visit to Roy's”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was our third visit to Roy's Poipu and this was again a wonderful experience. We started with a bottle of red wine and some edamame. Two of us ordered the prix fix menu of appetizer sampler, entree, and dessert. The other 2 people in our party ordered some lobster bisque and they each ordered the fish duo of macadamia nut crusted mahi and swordfish with peanut sauce. They were both excellent although we all enjoyed the mahi mahi the most. We also had mahi on the prix fix and we all had dessert. 3 chocolate souffles and one caramel apple volcano, which was my favorite. Service was fabulous as usual and Roy' s delivered again big time!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gopherhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
127 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Delightful as always.”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife loves the Japanese Style Misoyaki Butterfish and she was not disappointed. Almost creamy and a wonderful finish. On top of some lovely bok choi, eggplant, and other vegetables.
For the first time I tried the Jade Pesto Steamed Hawaiian Monchong. What a wonderful ginger soy sauce. The same vegetable bed and both came with rice.

Dessert, well who can resist the chocolate souffle. Perfect as usual. The pineapple upside down cake is my wife choice and again it did not disappoint. Service by Pono was excellent.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoalTorrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
343 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Given the Options in the Area, Roy's Was Just Average”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

It is hard to imagine not getting a good meal at Roy's. Our dinner was delicious: I had the pork chop and my wife had the catch of the day. But the restaurant decor was like any restaurant on the mainland: nothing special, loud and bustling. It was in a strip mall; no views and no outdoor seating. The service was OK, but nothing special. And it is very expensive. Given the other places we ate at on our trip, and the fact that we were in Hawaii, we expected just a little more than what we could get at a Roy's in Scottsdale, San Francisco, Naples or Las Vegas. This franchise just did not deliver that "something extra" that makes you go "wow." Also, note that parking is very limited in this strip mall. So my bottom line is that the food is fine; no complaints. But if you want something distinctly Hawaiian or local, try The Beach House, Casa di Amici, Casanova, etc.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marfak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's Poipu Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing