We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Forget to Call For a Reservation”

Beach House Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Beach House Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 38 Restaurants in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $47
Cuisines: Seafood, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Known as "one of the most romantic restaurants in the world," this breathtaking oceanfront, open-air restaurant has earned the prestigious Honolulu Magazine's Hale Aina's Best Restaurant award, 16 years in a row. Other notable achievements are Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence and Zagat Survey's "Recognized for Excellence" award. The restaurant boasts a progressive Pacific Rim cuisine with an Asian influence. If you are looking for a memorable dining experience, be it lunch or dinner, the Beach House offers it all: food, service, an extensive wine list and a spectacular view. Vegetarian, Gluten Free, Children Menus Available
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Don't Forget to Call For a Reservation”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We've been to The Beach House on a previous trip to Kauai. Like before, the staff was great and the food was good. I would recommend making a reservation at sunset. You won't regret it and honestly that is my favorite part of the restaurant.
While the restaurant may not have the best fish on the island, it is far from the worst. You won't be disappointed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,511
    1,114
    581
    271
    151
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Flawless! A must go in Kauai. ”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Here on our honeymoon, which may have accounted for what seemed to be one of the best tables in the house. That aside, everything from the service, the ambiance and atmosphere, the weather (fine, up to Mother Nature but I hear she does well here), and of course the food and drinks.

Starting quickly from the top: service - phenomenal. Brett was out waiter, full of the right kind of energy, knowledgable about not just the entire menu but the island itself, and just a real good guy. View - speechless. They also have a person on staff who will stop at your table and offer professional sunset photos, a good option for a lot of people. We didn't opt in, but many did. Again - Brett hooked us up with a few quick table shots and they were awesome. Food - calamari was the best we've ever had. Different than what you're used to and the Thai chili sauce was unreal. I had the wasabi crusted catch, which was monchago (?), deep sea white flaky fish. Amazing. Wife had the ahi tuna which was also amazing. The drinks were the majestic Mai-tai which packed the punch and flavor you'd expect and the skinny margarita which was also good. Great presentation on both. Whatever ice cream we had for desert was creamy and delicious as well. Overall would give more than 5 stars if they were available. Put this place on your must do list if you're in Kauai.

My advice: Book well in advance for 45 minutes before the sunset and request a table up front if you're into that. Your party size may be a limiting factor, but the layout lends itself well to a good experience for all.

Final disclaimer: we have been here just over 24 hours and this was our first meal outside the resort, Grand Hyatt. Would go back in a heartbeat.

Helpful?
1 Thank Brosef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Special dinner for our final night in Kauai”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

My husband and I stayed across the street from this restaurant and watched each night for six nights as lineups formed and people waited lo get into The Beach House for dinner. We had watched the sunset from the vantage point outside several times and were looking very forward to sharing a meal and watching the sun go down one last time before we headed back to Calgary.

The menu was lovely and the service was excellent. We shared a delicious meal and felt that while the entrée prices were very high ($48 for my fish dinner), the quality, presentation and great service made it memorable and a real treat. We will definitely return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debbie29n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I don't understand the negative comments”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

We've been coming to Kauai for the last seven years, and it's an annual rite to eat at the Beach House. The food always has been consistently excellent, and this week's visit was no exception. It was my son's girlfriend's first time there (plus my birthday), so we did it right--drinks, appetizers, the proverbial 15 minute pause to watch the amazing sunset over the ocean, a great bottle of wine with dinner, and dessert--all accompanied with great service. Expensive, but it was a two-and-a-half-hour dining event to remember.

Overall ratings for the Beach House on TripAdvisor are only "very good" instead of "excellent". I know that even the best restaurant can have an off day, but I heartily give it my highest possible recommendation unless:
(a) you're on a limited budget, or
(b) you really, really don't like fish. I normally am not a big fish fan myself, but the mild, fresh stuff you get here like mahi mahi or opah is absolutely delicious.

Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Drinks or dinner with a view!”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We wandered in here by chance. We'd been to the Botanical Gardens and Spouting Horn, and had a few more hours to kill before our night flight back to the mainland. Stopped in here for drinks and were treated to a bar with a most amazing view of the sea! The floor to ceiling glass walls were slid aside, making you feel as though you were sitting outside. When we realized this would be a perfect vantage point from which to watch the sunset, we lingered over drinks and segued into dinner. Worth it even if just for the view, but the drinks, appetizers and dinner were all outstanding as well. A lovely ending to our time on the island.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MHCSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Beach House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing