We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Dinner at the Beach House”

Beach House Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Beach House Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 37 Restaurants in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $47
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Known as "one of the most romantic restaurants in the world," this breathtaking oceanfront, open-air restaurant has earned the prestigious Honolulu Magazine's Hale Aina's Best Restaurant award, 16 years in a row. Other notable achievements are Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence and Zagat Survey's "Recognized for Excellence" award. The restaurant boasts a progressive Pacific Rim cuisine with an Asian influence. If you are looking for a memorable dining experience, be it lunch or dinner, the Beach House offers it all: food, service, an extensive wine list and a spectacular view. Vegetarian, Gluten Free, Children Menus Available
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
108 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner at the Beach House”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We enjoyed our birthday dinner at the Beach House. Our server was very attentive and even brought a special dish of Lappert ice cream with a candle for our birthday. The food was great, but not exceptional. The watermelon salad was much too wet and soggy. The opa crusted with macadamia nuts was very good and came with rice and green beans. Of course, the view is spectacular. Be sure to make a 6 PM reservation and you'll be there to go out on the lawn about 6:30 for sunset. All in all, a wonderful place to spend a birthday celebration!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,444
    1,078
    566
    265
    150
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“sunset”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

our reservation was for after sunset but we arrived early and sat in the bar. The sunset views are amazing and not to be missed. Our meals were wonderful. My scallops were excellently prepared and my wife"s blue cheese steak was heaven.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jon l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Veronica is Awesome”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Our server Veronica is an awesome server. She was very attentive to our table and went above and beyond the expectations of a server. Thank you so much!!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonoma county
Level Contributor
146 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best restaurant on Kauai”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The location of this restaurant is oceanfront with spectacular views. We dined for lunch, so this review is specific to that. They have a great seafood chowder as well as fresh island Ahi sashimi for starters. The fish selections are fresh and the salads very good. The restaurant is across the street from the Lawai Beach Resort, should you be staying there. There is also snorkeling and the possibility of seeing green sea turtles. A really good place to dine on Kauai.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank redevvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average food, good ambiance”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I feel this place is overall a good place to dine for a special occasion or for a romantic dinner. But it may be a little over-rated for the quality of food alone. Slightly over priced for some dishes.

* Crab Cake
Overall good for the price $13. Very filling. But couldn't taste much of crab.

* Grilled Fish (ono) with black thai rice in coconut curry sauce

1) The smokiness of Grilled fish was really good.
But fish was overcooked and had no seasoning. Very bland. I had to put lots of salt in it.

2) Black thai rice was really sweet and too much in portion. Very overwhelming and overshadows the entire plate.

3) There needed to be more of the curry sauce to balance out the blandness of grilled fish.

* Salad appetizer was good.

* Grilled Tofu with thai rice and curry sauce.
Exactly same components as the Grilled fish dish but @ $32!
Can't believe they ask for almost same money for 4 small pieces of tofu that replaces fresh-caught fish.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RockyLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Beach House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing