We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service and views!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach House Restaurant

Beach House Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Beach House Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 37 Restaurants in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $47
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Known as "one of the most romantic restaurants in the world," this breathtaking oceanfront, open-air restaurant has earned the prestigious Honolulu Magazine's Hale Aina's Best Restaurant award, 16 years in a row. Other notable achievements are Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence and Zagat Survey's "Recognized for Excellence" award. The restaurant boasts a progressive Pacific Rim cuisine with an Asian influence. If you are looking for a memorable dining experience, be it lunch or dinner, the Beach House offers it all: food, service, an extensive wine list and a spectacular view. Vegetarian, Gluten Free, Children Menus Available
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service and views!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stopped at this place twice on our trip, once for lunch and once for dinner. We had a party of 12 for dinner and the place was packed. Our server was very personable and good at his job! Make sure to go during the sunset; everyone goes outside on the lawn (don't bring your drinks though! The restaurant does not allow it) to take pictures of the view. The food was fine, I wasn't blown away by it, but it wasn't bad either. I do know that the seafood and fish eaters at the table were very pleased with their entrees.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Molly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,381
    1,047
    550
    264
    147
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Beach House Restaurant in Koloa. Go for the views not the food or service!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

The view at sunset is outstanding but that is the case at many places on the islands. Went here for our 20th anniverary dinner and I credit the staff for knowing it. But that is as far as it goes. The food was good but not great (especially at those prices). The service was terrible! We were put in the back of the room (even though I made reservations weeks in advance) and our waiter pretty much forgot about us. Won't visit there again, I will go to Merrimans or Joselins first.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EdF318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Experience that delights the senses”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

I can't say enough about this restaurant. The food A+ Fish sourced directly from Island fisherman, and the beef from neighboring ranches. While waiting for entree you are delivered a basket of the best warm bread we have ever eaten. My husband and two teenagers agree.
The service A+. Our waters were refilled as regularly as they checked on our table for requests. The waiters/waitresses were very knowledgeble and professional.
Now for the Pièce de résistance...the VIEW is unmatched. The spectacular oceanfront setting along the islands south shore is breathtaking. Before and after your dining experience the grounds are lovely for strolling and photo opportunities.
I made our reservations a week ahead of time and would suggest the same. They stay quite busy and you just wouldn't want to miss out.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beach House”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

The views of the sunset are better than the food is (but the views are great!). They make great drinks, but it's a pretty expensive place to dine.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Great time and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Loved the view and the food, we were given a choice to sit in lounge while waiting for a table and ended up sitting in there which had an amazing view in addition the partner of the restaurant came by to each table to make sure all was well real class there we have eaten all over the world and were very pleased with the entire evening with an amazing sunset. Would highly recommend this place for a great dinning experience. Thanks

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Char R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Beach House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing