We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good beach at all!”
Review of Baby Beach Poipu

Baby Beach Poipu
Ranked #12 of 30 things to do in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ft. Myers FL
Level Contributor
268 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Not a good beach at all!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Packed a lunch, got a parking space and got out! 50 toddlers and children in the water. So went to a dirty picnic table, spread out a beach towel and our lunch and suddenly there were chickens everywhere. It was like a "B" movie makeover of The Birds. We wrapped up our lunch and headed back to our resort, found a beach chair overlooking the ocean and ate our lunch. A dirty little microbeach full of children jumping around in a foot of water? Not where I want to be! I guess I've figured out the "baby" in the title! How do they let hundreds of chickens roam free on there public spaces? They jumped on our table, squawked and then pooped!!! Someone needs to put chicken birth control on the menu. Kauai is not a little paradise, it is a little chicken paradise, where they wander around and make a mess!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sammysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    38
    13
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Palmdale, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect for non swimmers”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Gets crowded but is a nice place for families with tiny tots or for non-swimmers who still want to experience the warm ocean waters of Kauai.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BestNana_93505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Baby Beach”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is a very small beach. The beach was very beautiful. I was expecting a big area to take our little ones to play on the beach. However, it was too small to spend a day playing with the little kids.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
179 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Small and Secluded.”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Though I appreciate the previous individual's posting about Baby Beach, unfortunately, they didn't appear to actually be on Baby Beach. Their photos look more like Poipu Beach. So just to be clear, here's the skinny on this tiny slice of paradise.

Baby Beach is located off of Hoona Road, a residential area in Poipu. There is a short walkway between vacation houses right to the water's edge. This beach is tiny and quite rocky. It's perfect for the kids because its not very deep and the rocks prohibit them from getting out very far. Also, because of the natural rock break, the water is always very calm here. It's a wonderful little beach to stroll in the mornings while it's quiet and look for sea glass. I've also been told it's a great snorkeling spot. Monk seals do not come here because they're too big to get past the rocky outcroppings. What you will see plenty of is sea turtles -- especially just beyond the break. They ride the transparent waves and are fun to spot. Why are they here? Not too far out past Baby Beach is a series of underground caves where they live. It you take a Zodiac tour and swim with the turtles, it's the first place they'll take you.

This beach is close to the cottage we rent while we're in Poipu so it's easy to stroll over and visit. We don't typically swim here, but it's definitely a good place to stick your toes in the sand, enjoy a beverage and watch the waves. If you drive over, keep in mind this is a one lane residential road, however, there is usually grassy shoulder space where you can park a few vehicles.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank homeowner E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great !”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We are staying with in walking distance to Baby Beach. We have with us a two and a five year old. It is so wonderful that they can swim, it is so protected. The two year old can float in her inter-tube. For the last two days there has been a seal lying on the beach in the sun. Turtles are everywhere in the water on the way to the beach. Very good sandwiches across the street at the snack shop and shaved ice. Could it be better staying anywhere else in Kauai with small children ? I don't think so.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank awtwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baby Beach Poipu also viewed

 

Been to Baby Beach Poipu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing