We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great walk”

Maha'ulepu Heritage Trail
Ranked #2 of 30 things to do in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great walk”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Great little walk right near all the resorts I'm Po'ipu. We went for about an hour, but you could go for much longer. Great mix of cliffs, bush and beach. Start on Po'ipu beach, walk to the left (if you're facing the ocean) and you'll find the track. It's not signposted.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan_Adelaide_AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    545
    120
    13
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Spectacular Views during our hike!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Though the hike was only 4 miles round trip and could of easily be done in less than the amount of time we specify on this review, we spent ample time to soaking in the scenery and taking pictures.

Difficulty Rating: Easy because of the low elevation gain (not a steep hike) and less than 2 miles one way.

The trail starts off at Shipwreck's Beach which you can find the public access road in front of the Grand Hyatt Kaui. As you begin your hike you will notice that it is an unmarked trail and has various paths. Stay close to the seaside but exercise caution because some of the sand dunes and cliffs are eroded.. Stay away from the edges. The hike will consist of periods of sand and rock. So a light hiking/walking shoes will do the trick. We wore our water sandals with a toe cap (great for the rocky part) but annoying during the sandy part as sands gets clogged in there.

My husband was not as enthusiastic about this hike since it is less talked about compared to the Napali Coast hike. But at the end of the hike, my husband was appreciative during the hike because of the spectacular views.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheMontalbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
97 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Mahaulepu Hike”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Nice, minimally challenging hike up to the cliff and beyond. Scenic and beautiful, can be a little buggy in the afternoons.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MelisBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Hike”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We went along to ocean going in and then visited a neat cave and then hiked the higher road coming out. Lots of variety and the ocean is beautiful from some of the higher points. Nice 10 mile hike; we loved it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wojo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to see the sunrise!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

It was the last morning of our trip and I was disappointed that we hadn't done this hike. My husband woke me early and said he wanted to show me where he and my son had found to watch the sunrise the morning before. We left the kids to pack and off we went. I laughed as he drove past the hyatt and I started to recognize landmarks that i read about here on trip advisor! We were there! A short hike past the small parking lot and we saw the most beautiful sunrise. The place was entirely empty and my video was spectacular,complete with the pounding surf. Don't miss it!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gibby2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maha'ulepu Heritage Trail also viewed

 

Been to Maha'ulepu Heritage Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing