We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxing walk close to poipu - excellent views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maha'ulepu Heritage Trail

Maha'ulepu Heritage Trail
Ranked #1 of 29 things to do in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“relaxing walk close to poipu - excellent views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We have been hiking trails both north and South Island over the past 8 days. Today i suggested to my wife we chill , do a local walk and hard to believe I am saying this shop and hit the happy hour. To be honest my expectations were minimal. We drove to the Hyatt, were early enough to have free parking right by the beach. My wife put on her hiking books, I decided on sandals. We walked along the cliffs the scenery was superb. We went to the Lithified cliffs. Admittedly it was a Tuesday. It was secluded and the views were awesome as was the smell of the sea. Hiking boots are not required. It took us 3.5 hours there and back. Easy walk so close to many resorts suggest u try it

Helpful?
Thank martin e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    533
    116
    12
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

The trail covers a wide variety of different geographies and maintains a massive vista of the Pacific. The beach at the end is gorgeous, secluded, and well worth it. It isn't the best swimming beach but you can wade in and walk along it. We watched breaching whales throughout the day! Wonderful lookouts along the way.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank peg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Be prepared for a bumpy ride”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

We just weren't that impressed. A lot of beaches just as beautiful but ride there was unpaved, pot holed and rough. If driving a rental, be sure it can handle the terrain.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank naomi978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, CO
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A gem of a trail - unspoiled scenery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Mahaulepu Beach and the Heritage Trail are gems of unspoiled scenery on Kauai. The trail is actually quite easy but you'll need sturdy shoes as you are hiking over very old lava flows. It can get quite hot and the sun is relentless, so have a cover up (if you've been sunbathing or swimming) and water. The views of the coastline are breathtaking. At the end of the trail is a little crescent beach that you will most likely find deserted. Take some time to sit and take in the natural beauty of Kauai.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank STurner1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Place on Kauai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Though you have to drive for 2.5 miles over a pot-holed, dirt road to get to the start of the trail, the journey is worth it: Jagged cliffs with pounding surf, blowholes, &beautiful places to look out at the ocean. And, when you're done, you're parked at the start of a long, beautiful beach. Please bring out everything you bring in, so the private owner keeps it available to us!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maha'ulepu Heritage Trail also viewed

 

Been to Maha'ulepu Heritage Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing