We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“absolutely would stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach
Ranked #10 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“absolutely would stay here again”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon. The service was great and the place is perfect for a family as well. We stayed in the Royal Palm...well worth the money. Kauai is beautiful and drivable, and basing in Poipu gives access to great restaurants without having to deal with all the hassles and hidden fees of resorts. If you like to be pampered, stay at a resort. If you don't mind getting in your car more quickly than a valet can bring it to you, and if you don't mind carrying a suitcase in the house, then rent the house! In my opinion, it's a much better way to see hawaii and enjoy it.

Room Tip: Go with the royal palm...well worth it, especially for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy8766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hideaway Man, Owner at Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Thanks Jeremy for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay in our air conditioned Royal Palm Two Bedroom for your honeymoon. We agree that Poipu is a great "home base" to explore all of Kauai. It's about the same distance to the north shore and to the west side and Waimea Canyon.

We hope you'll read our newsletters and come back and visit before too much time has passed.
Aloha, Herb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    31
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
67
117
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Over the years we've stayed in several of the Hideaway Cove accommodations including the Beachcomber and Dolphin Studios and the Seabreeze Two Bedroom. This year, with our 18-month old son, we decided to stay in the Aloha Two Bedroom and it was more than perfect fit. Although it's downstairs, the Aloha has ten foot ceilings and ocean views, giving this unit a much more spacious feeling. We really enjoyed all the room our son had to play, when you add in the two balconies this place is enormous. In addition, not having to carry his stroller up and down stairs was really a plus for us. Gale is always so helpful and this trip was no exception. She arranged for swimming lessons and the instructor was perfect. Plus her restaurant recommendations are always spot on, so we know we'll have a great meal wherever she suggests we go. We stayed at the Grand Hyatt the first part of our stay, and enjoyed Hideaway Cove leaps and bounds more, for many of the reasons in this review, along with the proximity to perfect kid friendly beaches and best sunset views on the island every night. We'll be back next year if not sooner, and are already looking forward to returning! I cannot say enough about how much we enjoy Hideaway Cove!

Room Tip: All units are amazing, but the ocean view even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hideaway Man, Owner at Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
After staying in several of our accommodations, it's nice to hear you enjoyed the Aloha Two Bedroom Two Bath this time. It is one of my personal favorites and I think I told you that I rented this accommodation years ago when I first came to Kauai. The owner eventually sold the building to us and that was the start of Hideaway Cove fifteen years ago. Hope to see all of you back again soon!

Aloha,
Herb and Gale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed a week in the Coral and could not have been more pleased. It had everything we needed for a relaxing vacation, and nearby beautiful Poipu Beach was just wonderful for early morning walks, snorkeling, swimming, and relaxing during the day, and sunset strolls. Herb and Gale were so welcoming, and incredible in their prompt response to any question or concern. All of Gale's recommendations for restaurants and places to go or things to do were spot-on - she is an amazing resource for first-time visitors to Kauai, as we were. We were so happy to have found this gem of a place to stay in Kauai!!! Aloha, Herb and Gale, and thanks so much for making our stay in Kauai so special!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hideaway Man, Owner at Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Glad to hear you enjoyed yourselves Pam and thanks for taking the time to write a review. We work really hard to provide the very best guest experience and are always happy to hear that someone appreciated our efforts. Now that you've come to Kauai for your first time, it's time to start planning a return trip!

Aloha,
Herb and Gale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

My family (me, my husband and two sons aged 11 and 15) had visited Hawaii before, but never Kauai. I was unprepared for the breathtaking beauty of the island, and there was no shortage of things for us to do - beach activities, river kayaking, hiking, swimming under waterfalls, helicopter rides, boat trips... you name it!
All of this was underpinned by probably the nicest apartment we have ever stayed in. Originally, I contacted Herb to see if I could book a 2-bedroom apartment. He was sorry, but none was available for the dates we wanted. However, he could offer us the 3-bedroom "Ocean View" apartment for the same rate. Great! My boys could have a bedroom each. And maybe there would be a view of the Pacific - I planned to take my binoculars, just in case.
We arrived in the dark, and found spacious bedrooms, comfortable beds and well-stocked bathrooms waiting for us, as well as some welcome juice in the fridge.
The next morning I got up early and walked through the huge, beautifully furnished kitchen/living area to the balcony. From there, I saw the ocean, just a few minutes' walk away - and the first thing I saw in it was a whale, breaching! It was the first of many magical moments, and confirmation that not only was the description of a "5-minute walk to the beach" accurate, but it was one of the nicest beaches around.
Herb and Gale were away the week we stayed, but we were helped by the lady in the office who together with my husband booked several activities for us. We also appreciated the guidebooks of the island which were accurate and reasonably up-to-date. We usually eat out quite often on holiday, but the combination of the excellent kitchen, the gas barbecue and the beautiful outdoor terrace, as well as being tired at the end of the day after so much activity, meant that we were happy to stay in and eat - and had some great family conversations sitting around the table, watching the sun set.
I have so many happy, wonderful memories of our trip. I'd go back in a heartbeat; but only if I could stay at Hideaway Cove!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMH977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hideaway Man, Owner at Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
So happy to hear you and your family had a terrific time during your stay with us. Sounds like you took advantage of our well equipped kitchen and barbecue on the lanai to create some great family meals. Thanks again for taking the time to let everyone else know what staying with us is like. We'll be looking forward to seeing you back in the not too distant future. Aloha, Herb and Gale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We spent 10 day at the Hideaway for my wife's 60th birthday, what a wonderful place. Very nice people and excellent accommodations. Nice walk to the beach. Quite at night and just an all around enjoyable place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hideaway Man, Owner at Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you for your review. We wished all of our guests would contact us, as you did on your missing coffee grinder, so we could solve their issues promptly. Glad you enjoyed yourselves and will be happy to see you again. Aloha, Herb and Gale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tapps, Washington
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We love Kauai but this was our first time staying on the south shore. We will be back. The ocean view suite was even better than it looked in the video. Our only complaint was the missing coffee grinder but Gail solved that for us too! The grounds are gorgeous and lanai with a sunset view and the trade winds made our BBQs a treat. The location was perfect. Even the rocky cove at the end of the street held a swarm of sea turtles that we snorkeled with on our last evening. Can't wait to return next year.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hideaway Man, Owner at Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thanks for your perfect score in evaluating your stay with us. We appreciate your coming to us to ask about a missing item, which we were able to replace right away. Hope to see you again soon at Hideaway! Aloha, Herb and Gale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2014

This was our first trip to Poipu, and the location of Hideaway Cove was wonderful. The small complex is carefully tended, the grounds are lovely, and the units are well appointed.
The Beachcomber is on the ground floor, and has everything one might need for a comfortable stay. It is quite dark, but it's also nice and cool - so that worked for us. The sound transfer from the adjoining suite was significant. We could hear every word that another guest yelled at her family in the mornings. That was a bit unlucky, but it would only happen if you had inconsiderate guests next door.
On the whole, the room and the location and very, very good - and we'd love to go back again next year!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaSavary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hideaway Man, Owner at Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. Happy to hear you had a good time and would return. Next visit, please let us know immediately of issues like darkness (dimmers needed to be turned up) and noise (housekeeping neglected to insert sound insulation baffle between double doors). We are very responsive to guest issues. Hope to see you back again soon! Aloha, Herb and Gale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach

Property: Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach
Address: 2307 Nalo Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9779
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hideaway Cove is located a short five minute walk to Poipu Beach here on the sunny south shore of Kauai.Each of our studio, one, two, three and five bedroom accommodations features air conditioning, a kitchen, HDTVs in the living room and all bedrooms plus beds with pillow top mattresses and Egyptian cotton sheets. There is a a stainless steel gas barbecue with side burner on each private lanai. We also have off street parking, high speed wi-fi property wide, the use of a computer and printer 24/7 in our office, on site concierge services, beach chairs, beach towels and coolers, plus the use of laundry rooms with detergent and dryer sheets. All are complimentary.We've been welcoming guests to Poipu Beach since 1999 and hope to meet you here at Hideaway Cove at some time in the future!Aloha from Kauai,Herb and Gale ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach Hotel Poipu
Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing