We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very satisfied”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach
Ranked #10 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Camrose, Canada
1 review
“very satisfied”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Two couples sharing the Aloha suite for 2 weeks at the end of Feb 2014, and we found it to be spacious , well equipped and clean. The landscaping on site is superb. It is not ocean front but is a short walk to the beach.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dojenoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hideaway Man, Owner at Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to say you enjoyed your stay with us. The Aloha Two Bedroom where you stayed is our only accommodation with ten foot ceilings and has special meaning for me. Prior to our purchasing the building, it was a long term rental and I stayed in it twenty years ago when I first arrived on Kauai. Please come back and see us again in the not too distant future! Aloha, Herb and Gale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    31
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
67
117
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2014

My wife and I brought 5 kids and one babysitter. The layout was spacious and comfortable and the location was great. There is a nice Italian restaurant right next door that allowed us to go out yet still be within shouting distance of the kids!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c3tgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hideaway Man, Owner at Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Really happy to hear your family enjoyed themselves during your stay with us. We love entertaining large families and yours was a delight. Please don't hesitate to return! Aloha, Herb and Gale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed at hideaway cove for a week in February 2014. We stayed in the sea breeze condo, it was very well stocked with everything you needed.
The A/C was a great asset as it was very humid while we were there.
The only downside was that the dryer was not working the whole time we were there so we had to use the other set across the way. Whenever we did want to use it , it was being used or there was stuff left sitting in both for prolonged periods of time.
All in all it was good... Would stay there again !!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hideaway Man, Owner at Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay in our Seabreeze Two Bedroom Two Bath. With ocean views and a private hot tub, it is one of our guests favorites. One of the disadvantages of living on a small island is the very limited number repair technicians for appliances. Although we reported this non-working dryer immediately, it took six weeks before it was repaired. Sorry to hear you had to walk to our building next door for laundry but glad we had additional machines for you to use. Looking forward to seeing you back at Hideaway! Aloha, Herb and Gale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We just returned from a one week stay in the Royal Palms Two Bedroom unit. The instructions on how to get to Hideaway Cove were appreciated as our taxi driver was unsure and we were able to get right to the door! It was raining heavily when we arrived and our outside light was not working though it seemed to work the rest of the week. A minor inconvenience as we used our cell phone light to find the lock.
The Royal Palms is a great unit to book for two couples. It was everything we could have asked for and more!
A couple of suggestions for people travelling there is to bring an umbrella for those days you have some showers but still want to walk. Also, a pair of binoculars would be great as you can see the whales out in the ocean! We didn't rent a vehicle until the third day there but I highly suggest you rent for the week.
Herb and Gail provide a cooler for the days you want to travel and bring your lunch with you. This is great but may I also suggest a smaller soft sided beach sized cooler for when you want to play at the beach less than a five minute stroll from Hideaway Cove!
There were guest books in our room which we enjoyed perusing in the evening to hear what previous travellers had said about the area. We were given great recommendations on where to eat from previous travellers and it did not disappoint! Having free laundry facilities on site is a plus as was being able to print off our boarding passes in the office on day of departure! Would recommend Hideaway Cove to anyone looking for a relaxing and enjoyable week in Hawaii!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hideaway Man, Owner at Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
We agree that our Royal Palm Two Bedroom Two Bath is a great accommodation for two couples. With individual air conditioning controls in each bedroom, you never have to argue about the temperature :-) We had soft sided coolers when we started in business fifteen years ago, however they just didn't hold up to constant use so we switched to the hard shell ones. Aloha, Herb and Gale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My wife and I recently took our honeymoon to Kauai. We both had never been there before and I found this pace through searching and searching online. I didn't know exactly what we were getting into but the other reviews were good so we took the dive.

We were not disappointed. The instructions prior to arrival were very straightforward. Gale is a nice lady. We were welcomed in our room with a lovely note, some juice, and a list of activities and restaurants. The beachcomber we stayed in was perfect for us. 1 Bedroom with everything you need.
It was also very clean and classy (no stains or ghetto atmosphere haha). She is also a concierge who can give discounts on activities which we utilized for a lovely boat ride on the Napali coast and ZIPLINES (which I highly recommend). There is AC if needed, WIFI (which was a biggy for me), beautiful entrance with lush greenery.

If there was any downside it was very minimal. Since it's a big property with rooms, we could hear the people upstairs and next door. It seemed liked they sure love to drag furniture around. But we also gave them some noise of our own if you know what I mean.

Thank you so much for the great stay and I plan on coming back with family and friends. :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hideaway Man, Owner at Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
So happy to hear you weren't disappointed in our Beachcomber for your honeymoon on our garden island. Noisy, inconsiderate neighbors can be found everywhere you travel. I'm glad you were able to "fight fire with fire" on that issue :-) Aloha, Herb and Gale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My review is a bit late from when we stayed at Hideaway Cove in October 2013, but I wanted to let all readers know how great our stay was. I found this little gem by simply doing a Google search. Herb and Gale, the owners, have a beautiful property. As you will read in other reviews I have provided, we like to stay in places that are not the large hotels. We only need a clean comfortable place to sleep and get cleaned up while being close to the activities we want to do. We stayed in the Beachcomber Studio, which is a simple walk to beautiful Poipu Beach. The Beachcomber Studio had more than we needed. Each unit has beach chairs and a cooler you can take with you. This made our beach days much more enjoyable! If you looking for a quiet place to stay with more amenities than a large hotel or resort in beautiful Poipu, HI, look no further! This place is for you!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandLovers1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hideaway Man, Owner at Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Happy to hear you weren't disappointed with your honeymoon stay in our Beachcomber. Loud, inconsiderate neighbors can be found anywhere you travel. Glad to were able to "fight fire with fire" on that issue :-) Aloha, Herb and Gale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Just returned from our second stay at Hideaway cove, same unit. Roomy, clean, close to the beach, glorious sunsets, beautiful gardens. We loved it and Herb and Gale are so friendly and so helpful.
We highly recommend this lovely exotic locale!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hideaway Man, Owner at Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
You love staying at Hideaway Cove and we love the fact that you enjoy yourselves and keep returning. Thanks again for the write up. We appreciate it. Aloha, Herb and Gale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach

Property: Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach
Address: 2307 Nalo Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9779
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hideaway Cove is located a short five minute walk to Poipu Beach here on the sunny south shore of Kauai.Each of our studio, one, two, three and five bedroom accommodations features air conditioning, a kitchen, HDTVs in the living room and all bedrooms plus beds with pillow top mattresses and Egyptian cotton sheets. There is a a stainless steel gas barbecue with side burner on each private lanai. We also have off street parking, high speed wi-fi property wide, the use of a computer and printer 24/7 in our office, on site concierge services, beach chairs, beach towels and coolers, plus the use of laundry rooms with detergent and dryer sheets. All are complimentary.We've been welcoming guests to Poipu Beach since 1999 and hope to meet you here at Hideaway Cove at some time in the future!Aloha from Kauai,Herb and Gale ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach Hotel Poipu
Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing