We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach
Ranked #10 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We just returned( Feb.10 to the 18th) from staying at the Hide away cove the dolphin Studio, which is a wonderful. When we arrived there was a note from Gale and Herb inviting us to our new place.The tropical juice in the fridge was so refreshing. The bed was so comfortable, the place so clean and everything you could want to enjoy your holiday. The utensils stocked in the kitchen had everything you need to cook a great meal. The bbq on the lanai was clean and if you ran out of propane there was extra tanks. We didn't use Gale's service as Kauai was our last week and we only wanted to go to the beach which was 5 min walk. The beach chair and coolers supplied along with ice packs was an extra we didn't
expect. We will return again as we loved this place. Would like a one bedroom as it just gives you a little more space. Thanks Gale and Herb for this wonderful service you supply.
Barry &Shirley

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackie4471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 219 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2011

Hideaway Cove was amazing , I'm ready to move to Poipu. We stayed in the Seabreeze two bedroom, two bath with an ocean view and we loved it, from the moment we walked in. The place was huge, the balcony very large with large ocean views from everywhere, hardwood floors, HDTV in living room, private parking place right next to unit, and most importantly was the hot tub with an ocean view. Were else can you enjoy a private 100 degree maintained hot tub overlooking the ocean, with jets the massage your every body part after a long day of adventure. We loved the full kitchen to cook in and the stainless steel barbecue on the covered lanai with a view, after a week on the island its nice to grill up some of your own locally bought food. The location was very convenient to the beach and shops and anything else you can think of. This was not our first time staying at Hideaway Cove and will definitely not be the last, we are already planning another trip and planning to sat at Hideaway Cove in 2012.

Room Tip: The Seabreeze two bedroom, two bath is amazing with an ocean view and jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hurleyboy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Where do you start, with a place like Hideaway Cove on a trip like this. Our expectations were high for our honeymoon and Herb and Gale did not disappoint. We arrived September 7th and dropped our bags..and jaws. In a word...incredible. The Coral room was just so nice! Very clean and had a great shower with glass block and all really neatly appointed. Very comfortable bed, but the coolest thing was the private deck/porch in front. We got fresh caught fish from the market in Koloa town on our first night and never looked back. The marinades they provide with the catch will make you want to eat in every night...and love it. If your grill tank runs out they have replacements. There is absolutely not one thing wrong with this place. We beached it every day and came back to our cool condo, spun up a few cocktails and poo-poos, walked down to the beach to watch the sunset, and grilled our meal on the great BBQ they provide on your private porch. Amazing. Gale helped us out on our arrival day and hooked us up with the greatest activities at a huge discount..heli tour (go with Blue Hawaiian Helicopters), Luau, day sail on the Na'Pali coast (go with Holo Holo Charters..the best!), and use Gale's snorkel package...best deal for the money, and she has an underwater digital camera to photograph the sea turtles...a do-not-miss moment. Get the whole snorkeling package..you won't be sorry.
All in all, just a wonderful place to stay. Laundry on site and most importantly, it is a quiet refuge for an awesome vacation. These folks know how to run a vacation spot...they are just real nice peeps and your comfort and happiness are their first priority. We will be coming back. Soon. Cheers to you, Herb and Gale!!

Room Tip: Coral room is on the ground floor but never heard the people above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bisonburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

This property is run by a couple and there are seven units on the property of different sizes and features. The property itself is very compact but very nicely landscaped considering the small area that it occupies.

We were able to get the OceanView suite which is the only one that has an ocean view. You are looking over rooftops but still have a decent view. Thankfully, the bedrooms are air-conditioned as fall is the time it gets humid in Kuai'i. Sleeping was wonderful. The other areas are not and they were warm and uncomfortable after baking in the afternoon sun, but I could always retreat to the bedroom. They were fine in the morning with the breezes.

Unlike other condo rentals, each unit here has it's own gas grill. Very nice, instead of having to grill in a common area. Beach chairs, towels and coolers are provided. You can rent other beach apparel.

Poipu Beach is a short walk away.

Right next to Hideaway Cove is the restaurant, Amici's. The only problem that this presents is that they close late and make all sorts of noise dumping their trash in the dumpster as they clean up.
We did end up eating there once and it was quite nice.

Gale also runs a tour booking business as well and has lots of good information to share.

Note: No Pool

Room Tip: Go for the oceanview ( but it is the most expensive ).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank travel0723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed in the lovely Dolphin Studio. The bed was very comfortable and we were thrilled to have air conditioning as it was very warm during our stay, Kauai was our last island to hop to during our vacation, so it was wonderful to return to this homey condo at night. It was very quiet and private. The gardens that surround the condo are beautiful. I appreciated having a washer and dryer available. One day when my husband was diving, I took one of the backpack chairs provided on the lanai and walked to the beach to enjoy some sunshine and surf. The nearby beach was very safe and it was fun to watch the children playing in the water. Hideaway Cove was a great choice!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Came here for the second time with my family. 2nd time was as wonderful as the first. Owners are super friendly and helpful. Last time stayed in a 2 bedroom place and this time stayed in the 3 bedroom oceanview unit. Awesome views of the ocean from the unit and the lanai. Plenty of space and lots of little things to make your vacation great (beach chairs, cooler, grill). Place has air conditioning too which is important in the summer. Great location just 2 minute walk to poipu beach which is my favorite beach on the island. Plenty to keep you occupied just in the poipu area if you don't feel like driving around the island. Only drawback is that WiFi signal is a bit on the weak side but if you are in Kauai, you probably should not be on the internet that much anyway.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HabsFan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We could not have been more pleased with our choice of places to stay on Kauai. The grounds are like a botanical garden. The condo clean, FULLY stocked kitchen (loved the passion fruit juice), comfy bed, everything needed for days at the beach, comfortable private lanai,and service second to none. Gales recommendations were spot on and she even made our reservations! Loved her! Our helicopter ride with Blue Hawaiian was the highlight of our trip. The BeachHouse restaurant is elegant. great service and delish. I miss the Koloa Fish market. Excellent fresh fish and plate lunches. Walked to beautiful Poipu Beach every day. Saw lots of sea turtles and Monk seals! Can't wait to return to Hideaway Cove!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letsgo1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach

Address: 2307 Nalo Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9779
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range: $267 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hideaway Cove is located a short five minute walk to Poipu Beach here on the sunny south shore of Kauai.Each of our studio, one, two, three and five bedroom accommodations features air conditioning, a kitchen, HDTVs in the living room and all bedrooms plus beds with pillow top mattresses and Egyptian cotton sheets. There is a a stainless steel gas barbecue with side burner on each private lanai. We also have off street parking, high speed wi-fi property wide, the use of a computer and printer 24/7 in our office, on site concierge services, beach chairs, beach towels and coolers, plus the use of laundry rooms with detergent and dryer sheets. All are complimentary.We've been welcoming guests to Poipu Beach since 1999 and hope to meet you here at Hideaway Cove at some time in the future!Aloha from Kauai,Herb and Gale ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach Hotel Poipu
Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing