We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2007

Stayed at the Waiohai in early March with some friends. We were in the 2 bedroom with kitchen. The space was more than enough for 4 adults. We were close to the parking and the beach. The resort grounds are impressively maintained. The beach was great. It's a public beach so you are close enough to the playground if you have children. The Waiohai is conveniently located and would strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JRsNeighbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,042)
There are newer reviews for Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

931 - 937 of 1,042 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2007

My husband and I stayed here in July '06 with my sister & boyfriend and had an incredible time! We got a deal through their time share offering. They gave us something like $125 in vouchers for signing up for the time share meeting which we scheduled for our last day (which i'm sure if we hadn't showed up it wouldn't have been a problem) and we went through the schpeel and actually considered buying one! Unfortunatley it wasn't in our financial plan, but if you have the money I think it's worth looking in to.

The unit we had was a ground floor unit and backed to a lush beautiful garden area with a private lanai from which we fed little chickens and ate our breakfast - so relaxing!

The units are more like apartments with 2 separate bedrooms and bathrooms with sound proof doors for privacy or for sleeping children. Each bedroom has it's own tv as does the living room - one of the bedrooms had a laundry closet with washer/dryer. The kitchen had granite counters and was fully stocked with pots, pans, plates, blender, etc... it was very handy to be able to go the market and make dinners in a few nights. We took advantage of the BBQ areas located throughout the grounds. The grounds are breahtaking - there are ponds and foliage everywhere, several pools and spas and a bar in the pool area near the beach which served delicious lunch type fare and great drinks! And the beach! It was gorgeous and even though we were there during peak season there was never a shortage of hotel chairs for laying out either by the pool or overlooking the beach. The main restaurant was a little pricey but we sort of expected that. Try Brennicks on the beach just a few blocks down from the hotel - great little place overlooking the beach and great food!

My husband and I love Hawaii and fell in love with Kauai in particular - rent a car and get out around the island - but if you chose to you could never leave the hotel and have a fabulous time - wish we could have stayed a month!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank sammygirl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2007

I stayed here for 3 nights in December with my husband, my 7 year old, my 25 year old and her boyfiriend. We loved the accomodations. The bathrooms were like a spa experience. The kitchen was well stocked.

Very convenient to go across the street for groceries, restaurants and sundries. Convenient to North Shore and many waterfalls. Also convenient to shopping and dining in Lihue.

The beach is just okay but we enjoyed the pool so much it didn't really matter. And we had just come from 4 days in Poipu so...My 7 year old loved, loved, loved the pool and water slides (so did all of the grown-ups). The three sand bottom jacuzzis were amazing.

Staff were very friendly and effecient. We had a late flight out and they let us stay with no extra charge.

Will definitely come back to this lovely spot.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank virginrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2007

We recently returned from a week at the Waiohai Beach Club and wanted to share our review of the facility. Having three kids aged 7, 5 and 1.5, we had very specific requirements in mind when booking our vacation to Hawaii. With a baby and two young kids, it was important to us to have a kitchen which would give us flexibility in terms of eating options. We also wanted a nice, calm beach and good pool facilities. This combination of options is very difficult to find in all of Hawaii, let alone Kauai, which is where we wanted to stay for our second week of our trip. The Waiohai fit the bill just about perfectly so we booked it.

Upon arriving at the hotel we were a bit disappointed in the layout. It seemed pretty crowded around the pool and the place did not have nearly as much panache as the Marriott Ko'Olina at which we had just spent the previous week. In addition, there was a high surf advisory in the area and the beach in front of the hotel was not remotely swimmable for our little guys. On top of it all, despite having booked what we thought was an "oceanview" unit, we were given a ground floor unit facing an off-site parking lot. Not a great start.

After deciding that the room was not so bad after all -- the patio was extremely private, was surrounded by luch greenery and allowed for the baby to play outside without worrying about her running off to the pool -- things started to change for the better. The room we had (which we understand is pretty much standard accross all the units) was a very large two-bedroom. The bathrooms were not palatial but were quite nice and served the purpose and the living area, albeit furnished with fairly uncomfortable furnishings, was large and very well laid out. Overall, the room was large, clean and just about perfect for our family.

As far as the grounds around the hotel are concerned, we were happy that the pool area was not nearly so crowded after the first day -- we believe that the first day was a check-in/check-out day for many people so there were probably an inordinate number of people at the pool waiting to get in to their rooms or spending their last few hours after the early check-out. The pools are spread out quite a bit which makes it seem like they are smaller than they actually are. After spending several days with my kids in them, I report that they are warm and offer a good variety for the kids. The hot tubs are probably a bit too hot but were quite nice as well.

The bar-b-cues needed some maintenance but were useful nonetheless.

The beach in front of the hotel is not great for little ones, altough there were a number of surfers and boogie boarders who seemed to be enjoying theirselves quite a bit. The sand is nice but the water drops quite quickly and there was typically a higher surf than we are comfortable with. That said, if you walk a few steps to the public beach, Poipu Beach park, you will find a wonderful beach for little ones. It is a protected cove, parts of which are virtually always calm. Great snorkelling too. The short swim out to the off-shore island was a great adventure for our two older kids who enjoyed exploring the lava flow tidal pools out there. You can also walk to the beach in front of the Sheraton, which is quite close and also very nice.

We saw monk seals every day we were there which my kids thought was really cool.

Location wise, the Waiohai is situate within a very quaint little resort community that is very close to sprouting horn as well as a number of other attractions. We took the short drive up to Salt Pond Beach and spent a day there -- it was wonderful. The local restaurants were quite good as was the grocery store which had just about everything one could need at reasonable (by Hawaiian standards) prices. The selection of fish at the grocery store was fantastic and very reasonably priced. If you need more, Costco is also a short drive away at Lihue.

Overall, we enjoyed ourselves immensely at the Waiohai. So long as your expectations are set appropriately and you appreciate that this is a timeshare resort and don't expect the level of service that you might get at the Hyatt or the Ritz, I think most people will be very pleased with the Waiohai.

Kauai is absolutely beautfuil and don't let anyone fool you into thinking that the weather there is poor all winter. In fact, we learned that the weather on the south part of the island in and around Poipu Beach is as sunny and warm as anyplace else on the Hawaiian islands.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank matchtrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2007

Comfortable 2 bedroom timeshare units on Poipu Beach. Units are spacious, furnishings are very Marriott. Most of the units do not have ocean views. The garden courtyard set-up feels crowded. You can see into many of the lower level units.
The front desk staff are not particularly welcoming or professional.
The pools are small, but Poipu beach is lovely for swimming, snorkling and whale watching. You may be lucky and see monk seals sleeping on the beach.
What you get is a nice condo with middle of the road quality in a good location.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank xoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2007

We stayed here on the Marriott 5 night TimeShare Marketing Package. We also spent 2 nights at the Marriott Beach Club Resort in Lihue when we first arrived in Kauai, which we loved. We drove down to check out the Waihoai Resort the day before we were due to check in and we were a bit shocked to see a very crowded small pool with screaming children and crowded beach. The pool was very small compared to the other Marriott Resort and we were kind of panicked. However, when we did check-in we were very pleased with our lovely, clean and well decorated, 2bed/2bath accomodations and the pool area never seemed that crowded again and the screaming kids were never seen again. Thank goodness!! The beach is beautiful with lots of great whale watching but the beach is rocky and the surf is rough. I was glad we didn't bring our kids. Would have made me a nervous wreck. The pool, however, is perfect for kids and is a great place to get out of the sun as it is very shady surrounded with palm trees. We enjoyed the great lounge chairs provided and seemed to get a perfect location everyday. We lucked out with an entire week of sunshine. The restaurant was not a highlight, but there are excellent restaurants very close so no need to stay at the Marriott to eat. Or drive 5 minutes to the Save Now grocery store in Koloa to stock up if you like to cook, which we didn't but plenty of people utilized the lovely gas grills on property to cook up a nightly feast. The pool bar served a nice lunch and fun tropical drinks. We really enjoyed the Poipu Beach area, much more than the Lihue area. Lots of great restaurants, especially The Beach House, TidePools at the Hyatt, Brenneckes Broiler and Keokis Paradise. We would definitely stay at this property again. It would be great for families but was also perfect for us and the other couple traveling with us.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Traveler40St.Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2007

We stayed here with friends who owned a timeshare for three nights in January. Here's the scoop:
Pros: These are apartment buildings. I've heard there are one bedroom apartments available as well, but our friends had a two bedroom two bath apartment. The two bedrooms are separated by a combination kitchen/living room with a dining nook between the kitchen and the living room. There was a large bed in each bedroom and a private bath. There was a foldout couch in the living room. There was a small lanai overlooking the interior of the apartment complex, which housed some ponds with swans, a spa, a couple of barbeques. There was a swimming pool down by the beach.
The beach is next to Poipu Beach, a public beach. I had seen this beach on the Travel Channel (or was it Discovery channel)' supposedly the best beach in the United States. Maybe it was once, but the sand has washed away and there was a lot of rocks. The sand out to the small island was gone (the Travel Channel must have used stock footage from before the 1992 hurricane). The water at Poipu Beach, the public one, is like a huge pool fronting on a reef that had breakers on it and a sign warning you not to go out further. This public beach would be pretty good for school children. The beach in front of the Marriott had sand, and the water was where the snorkelers were. The reef is pretty much dead here (we're from Kona and used to much more attractive reefs and more fish). The visibility was pretty poor, too, even though the local dive shop said the weather had been wonderful and the diving was terrific (not compared to Kona).
The Marriott's grounds were beautiful and well maintained.
The apartment was fairly well stocked with flatware and dishes, and two nights we cooked. No complaints there, our hostess was a good cook.
Our friends paid $20,000 for their week but that does not include the $1000 a week maintenance fees--$140 a day. On our way back to Kona, the local newspaper advertised rates at $175 a day for a 1 bedroom 1 bath room, so save your $20,000 and try to book direct. Travelocity did not have this $175 rate so give the hotel a call.
We went down to the Hyatt for an afternoon and found the grounds and restaurants there much, much better. Of course, the price was up at the Hyatt, too.
Cons: Poor snorkeling, poor restaurant, hefty price if you buy a time share compared with booking a hotel room, and it is out of the way for all the north shore sights. Poipu Beach is tremendously overrated--go to Hanalei Bay and you'll see what I mean, a several mile long crescent of sand. Stay at the Princevill Hotel if you like luxury.
The hallways were pretty dismal. To get from the interior area--the spa pool barbecue area-you, and I'm not kidding, walked through the bushes. Up the elevator and out onto a long corridor. Not very special.
The Marriott's two restaurants were terrible. They had a buffet for $20 a head--but the food was just out on a table and there was no sneeze guard-ugh. God knows what was sneezed, blown, or dropped in the food, so we opted for the Keawe Grill. Two of the meals were absolutely inedible. The chicken was dry, and I don't mean dry, I mean like it was so overcooked there was no juice or texture and it was stringy. I was embarassed. My chicken alfredo was okay, but the other meal didn't even look like fish, it looked more like one of those prepacked frozen hash browns.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank capndrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club

Address: 2249 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Poipu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#4 Business Hotel in Poipu
Price Range: $283 - $789 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Waiohai Beach Club Hotel Poipu
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Poipu
Marriott Poipu
Poipu Marriott
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Club
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing