We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Fun in the Sun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hotel was fantastic. They had everything from Ukelele lesson for adults to a fantastic water aerobic class for adults. You could stay in this hotel and never leave the property. The beach is a hop-skip- and a jump from the hotel and the waves were thrilling for the kids. My grandchildren played on the beach the entire day. They did no want to leave for a shopping trip or to eat. The beach is small, so it might be best to go when Spring Break is not in session. We swam with the hugh turtle and saw seals on the beach. They were not afraid to just plop on the beach and sleep the entire day. You could not disturb them, but we got up close to them and took pictures. They eat at night and in the daytime, they land on the beach and sleep all day. The hotel has games for the kiddies and all kinds of activities. We ate in the wonderful kitchen area of our room. There is a WalMart very close so we bought most of our groceries to eat in during the day time and enjoy the night time in the local restaurants. The room slep four adults and three children. The master suite had its own shower and bath. The other bedroom had a private bath and shop with laundry facilities. the children slept on the hide-a-beds. It was great. We even had our own balcony to view the courtyard. Four of five swimming pools, but with the beach, we did not use them. The water aerobic class was fantastic. Great instructor and great exercise equipment in pool. I ate like a little pig and still lost 5 pounds. We go back again soon. I hope!

Room Tip: They have a beach front room and a courtyard room. The beach front is nice, but noisy. The courtya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 940TexasGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Aloha! Thank you for your five-star TripAdvisor review of Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club! Our team is happy to hear your family had a great time at the resort in April. We hope you will join us again soon and thank you again for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,054)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

464 - 470 of 1,054 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

We own timeshare weeks at this
We have been coming to this resort since 2010 and we absolutely love coming here. A beautiful and very family-friendly resort. Our almost 8-year old Grand-Handsome loved playing bingo with the very enthusiastic Miss Delia, AND so did we adults!

We absolutely got a fantastically-enjoyable aqua aerobics workout two days in a row with Troy: he makes it fun, easy paced, and informative. Then on our next day morning walk, my Grand-Handsome wanted to join the boot camp exercises with the stretch bands. We did some and then resumed our walk!

Another fun bingo with Miss Delia the next evening.

Oh, and I don't want to forget the very nice front desk staff, in the beautiful lobby especially Miss Vic. She very pleasantly and patiently answered all of my questions the first few days, with a SMILE.

OH, and I must mention the adult quiet pool and HOT tub, the many-layered pools and hot tubs for families, the big grass area by the beautiful waterfall for our Grand-Handsome and dad to practice-throw/catch some baseballs.

And today is May Day: opening ceremony @ 10 am and lots of other activities. You can join in or explore the beautiful island of Kauai on your own. There are some great fabric shops with Hawaiian fabric for quilters also on the island!

The fish are beautiful to see and on-site snorkel gear to rent is a very big plus. We love coming here and always have lots of beautiful memories and photos to take back home. ALOHA!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quilter sew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

We are glad to hear you had a great time with your grand-handsome at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club! Your kind words for the many associates who made your stay memorable is appreciated and will be shared with their managers. We look forward to many more visit from your family and thank you for your TripAdvisor review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Beautiful, clean timeshare resort with a perfect location on Kauai for our group of travelers including 2 adults and 3 teenagers. We had an incredible vacation. We are not owners, but have stayed in many Marriott properties including the Ocean Club on Maui. We rented one oceanview week from an owner through redweek.com. For anyone considering renting, please realize the risk you are taking regarding the unit you will receive. Accept that oceanview means parking lot view if you are renting. Yes, we did see a sliver of blue in the distance. Neither polite requests to the front desk nor owner request in advance of your arrival will help your room selection. I had every TA room suggestion and a map of the resort in front of me, but none of that matters - they will put you wherever they think you belong. Marriott's front desk, while polite and friendly, should have made more of an effort to move us. While I fully respect that owners can and should have room priority, this resort did not seem even close to full capacity and Marriott should have honored our request to be move to a garden view. Having paid a significant premium for "oceanview", they would not move us (it would have been "downgrading" our unit - huh?). While I was fully aware of the risk by paying a significant premium for oceanview, it was still disappointing after travelling 15 hours to get to Kauai. So. if the view from your balcony does not matter to you, then go ahead and rent here. The rest of the resort really is wonderful and is a perfect location on the South Shore.

Room Tip: Renters cannot choose rooms, hale or views. They will put renters wherever they feel you belong. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank threesny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Thank you for your review of Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club! We are happy to hear your family enjoyed the resort and the many amenities it has to offer. We apologize the view did not exceed your expectations when you arrived and that it could not be changed. Please know, your feedback will be shared with our front office management team so we may improve the experience for our guests. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again in Hawaii!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

First off, we are Marriott Vacation Club owners. We've been to Kauai four times. We have stayed at the Grand Hyatt, a rented townhouse and now the Waohai. They each have their advantages.

First, I think if you are not accustomed to the Marriott Vacation Club experience, I can see how it could be a disappointment because it is not a full service resort. However what you lose in more fuller amenities that you will find at the Grand Hyatt, you gain in not having to spend the inside time of your vacation in a hotel room. This really isn't much fun with small children who go to bed on the early side and want to eat all the time.

The Grand Hyatt is amazing and should be visited. I loved staying there however I knew it would not accommodate my family of four including two boys aged 5 and 7. We stayed at a Marriott vacation club in Hilton Head island and eventually the numbers worked for us so we purchased the club and we don't regret it. It is not for everyone but if it is for you, it can really be for you. We love being able to eat breakfast and lunch at our condo, all the space, having a place to hang out at night without waking the kids. AND Marriott is very family friendly as a company in general. I would not want to come here as a couple - this is a place for families. In particular, the pools are set up so children in floaties can swim with an adult sitting at the side of the pool or in a lounge chair. It is not gradual entry but something similar - tiered steps and there is a very nice and warm "baby" pool. I just think the pools serve all different ages really nicely. My kids are a bit wild and I felt good knowing that I could find a pool where I could keep an eye on them at all times.

The bar and bar food was good and somewhat reasonable given the overall pricing on the Island. One thing I like about Marriott is that I had no problem going to the Big Save and buying delicious juices and a nice selection of liquor and making drinks for ourselves nearly the whole time. This saved hundreds and hundreds of dollars in pool side drinks and no one bats an eye when you come out with the cups from your kitchen. Not sure if this is "allowed" but no one ever said anything.

Also, the Grand Hyatt is on a beautiful beach but it is not swimmable for most children. I loved having Poipu beach footsteps from the pool. We went back and forth all day. We snorkeled and saw the Turtles and Seals and made sandcastles. It is a great set up.

Next store is the new, urban, trendy hotel. These do not serve the same customers. Kauai is a very special, laid back island, the people are incredibly warm and inviting. This resort is also very laid back and welcoming and filled with families. These are middle class/upper middle class families. I have stayed at the Ritz and Mandarin Hotels and the like. I prefer to grounded feel of the Marriott chain. It might not be "fancy" but they know how to help families create lifelong memories. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: We stayed in Hale 8 on the ground floor. This allowed us to go in and out of our room all day. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Dina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review Dina! We appreciate your review and are happy to hear you have enjoyed your Marriott Vacation Club ownership. Please visit us again on your next trip to beautiful Hawaii!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

As owners at this property we enjoy coming back every year. This year, not only do they have a lot of activities for the kids, but now the offer a complementary fitness program for the adults! Troy does a great job and is very enthusiastic. He makes working out fun (even on vacation).
The room we stayed in had beautiful view. The barbeque area very close to room so that was great. Every night the grills were as though no one had used them, always very clean. While we were there we saw whales, monk seals and sea turtles almost every day! The staff was very friendly and courteous, always ready to answer any questions that we had. The concierge desk helped with tours and golf. We will be back again next year, already to make reservations and getting excited. Beds were very comfortable, rooms quite (can't even hear the roosters).

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harley56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Some have complained about the room and views and yes it would make a difference in your experience. We were with friends and were fortunate enough to have what I would call a garden view in building #5. Quiet and great view of the top of the waterfall into the larg pond. If you are on the back side of building #4 I would agree sitting on your balcony would suck. It is over the parking lot and nothing at all to see. Back side of Building 5 would not be as bad. Great location as Poipu Beach Park is less than 1/4 mile away. Simple walk. Grounds are fabulous and we all had a great time. Room choice is key depending on the building and Island view could mean many things so just know that ahead of time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We were nothing but pleased with our stay. Great accommodations for a family visit. We enjoyed the terrific beach, which was a great place to see sea turtles, and snorkeling. The kids enjoyed boogie boarding and learning how to surf. The beachside foods and drinks were surprisingly good. The gas grills provided on site were clean and well functioning for some dinners in at the resort, and there are plenty of great places nearby. We also enjoyed the three different pools. The relaxation pool was our favorite. We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club

Address: 2249 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Poipu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#4 Business Hotel in Poipu
Price Range: $280 - $794 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Waiohai Beach Club Hotel Poipu
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Poipu
Marriott Poipu
Poipu Marriott
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Club
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing