We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent property and staff.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent property and staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

This property is wonderfully located next to Poipu beach and has a superb beach front! The staff is so friendly and honestly sincere. The Marketplace for gift and food items is very nice. The beach bar, Hono Bar is also excellent and has a friendly staff. This is a must stay vacation property.

Room Tip: Get rooms facing the beachfront or gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    214
    71
    33
    29
See reviews for
489
236
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Basseterre, St. Kitts
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Families, couples and other travelers will find the Marriott Waiohai Beach Club to be a wonderful location located in one of the best areas of Kauai and the Hawaiian Islands. We have been coming to the Waiohai since 2003 when Marriott opened the first phases of the timeshare. The staff was and continues to be the very best in the Marriott timeshare chain (in my opinion) and their hospitality, consideration and friendliness set the bar for the rest of the Marriott units to chase (again, in my opinion and we own at 3 different Marriotts). Troy Lazaro, who runs their new fitness program is one of the top 2 Marriott employees I have encountered in over 35 years of travel (vacation/business) and his enthusiasm and talents are gifts he shares with the guests that spend time at the resort.

Much has been written about the property itself and the pool, beach areas and complex are first-rate. There is no pressure to attend a timeshare presentation...pretty much just an offer that is easily declined. We had a ground floor unit that looked out onto the "garden" area and made for easy access to the grills, pools and hot-tubs. During a two week stay we made 2 requests to the front desk for a cutting board and a new pot (handle broke). Both calls were answered promptly, the items brought within 10 minutes and there were follow-up calls to ensure we had received what we requested. The unit was not ready at the 4:00 check-in...slight delay to 4:30 and without asking for anything the check-in staff offered 4 drink coupons for our party...we were fine with that.

The one area that could be updated is the kitchen/kitchen utensil area. Functional cookware and utensils but cheap knives (a constant that we find in timeshares...no matter who manages them); a small teflon pan (a 12 inch would be better) and very dated silverware/plates/glasses. Nothing bad here, just little things.

There are numerous activities on the property for all ages that are offered and run by a very dedicated staff. The fitness activities were complimentary and very few activities involved a fee. They even offer a DVD kiosk with free rentals (limited selection, but enough given that you are in Hawaii). It's close to everything on the south end of the island and most importantly, it's in the "sunny" area of Kauai. An excellent property and staff!

Room Tip: Try for "garden views"...there are very few "oceanfront views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott’s Waiohai Beach Club! We truly appreciate your detailed review and thank you for sharing your experience with fellow travelers. We hope you return to visit us soon in Hawaii!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is property is nice! It is a great place to stay. The staff was second to none in service and hospitality. The grounds was in excellent condition. The location was great as well, near shops, step from the ocean and how can I forget the whales! What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jd417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We only stayed for two nights at the end of our trip to Kauai, but would have liked to stay longer! Large, clean rooms and super comfortable beds. Great pools and wonderful beach! Lots of shady areas, too, with plenty of chairs. Close to everything!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara5326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for your five-star review of Marriott’s Waiohai Beach Club! We take great pride in providing you with an exceptional vacation experience in beautiful Hawaii. We hope to welcome you back soon and thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hueneme, California, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We have stayed at this property on a number of occasions over the last 7 years and we are never disappointed. The condos are clean comfortable and very well equipped. The staff is so helpful and friendly. There is a nice little store on site with good coffee, basic supplies and a limited menu of good food.
The location of the property is on a very family friendly beach. The surf spot in front of the hotel is small but fun. There are multiple pools and jacuzzis throughout the property. We always look forward to going back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We really like staying here - we traded in using Interval, but we are Marriott Vacation Club owners, which is a distinct advantage to getting a nice room. The grounds are beautiful & there are always lounge chairs available. The rooms are great, bed is super comfy w/splendid linens & they give you multiple toiletries, coffee & detergent - which is unusual in a time-share. Normally, you're lucky if you get one of each to start.

I have a few cons, which I find really strange. One - there is only one bathroom by the beach & bar for the entire resort. One would think that there would be at least 2 stalls, but nope, only one.

Another are the hallways - they are totally institutional, beige & bare, what I would imagine in a place like 'One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest'. Paint them Hawaiian colors & put up some artwork!
It's really creepy.

The last is security - as in there is none. There is total access to the building - you can walk right in & go anywhere. Sure, you need a key to get into the parking lot (if the gate is actually down) but, you can still get in easily, walk right in or break into the cars. There are no lights in the parking lot & I haven't seen security people driving/walking around.

The concierge here needs training. He had never heard of the Makauwahi Caves or how to get there & they're here in Poipu! He needs training.

Anyway, for tranquility & comfort, this place is great!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MidgeMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for your positive review of Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club! As a Marriott Vacation Club owner, our team takes your comments seriously and appreciates your feedback on areas of improvement. Your comments will be shared with the appropriate teams so we may follow up appropriately. We look forward to your next visit with us and thank you for being a part of the Marriott Vacation Club family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vesta
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

This is the perfect destination for a relaxing trip to Kauai. We stayed in a two bedroom unit and both rooms were quite large. We actually had a hard time deciding which one was the master suite until we located the safe in the closet. The kitchen and living room are spacious and have great views. Now the good part, 3 whirlpools, 4 swimming pools and a fabulous beach. There are plenty of chairs located both in shaded areas and in the sun. for whatever suits your mood at that moment. The bar serves great drinks and wonderful grilled assortment of foods. Drinks are on the spendy side, but the Lava Flows are worth every penny.
I was extrememly impressed with the staff. They are extrememly knowledgeable and very helpful. The only real issue we had with the facility is the wind that howls down the hallways when it is windy outside. Since the ends of the hallways are open, it creates a tunnel affect that sounds like banshees in an old horror movie.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoAnn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club

Property: Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Address: 2249 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Poipu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#4 Business Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Waiohai Beach Club Hotel Poipu
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Poipu
Marriott Poipu
Poipu Marriott
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Club
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing