We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We ahve stayed now at the Sheraton, Koloa Landing and this Marriott. The Marriott grounds are amazing and access to the beach is perfect. It is only a short walk to everywhere. The "ocean view" is limited compared to the Sheraton, but much better than Koloa Landing. only HALE 1 and 8 have much of a true ocean view, where you can hear and see the waves. We were in 8207 on the second floor. the way the building is designed although it was close to the ocean the view was not great. so be being one room back further from the ocean provides a better view. The room was clean, and completely functional. very nice kitchens, and bathrooms. the week we were there they only came to clean twice and restock tp and towels. you can always get new beach towels though if you call the fron desk.
The bar had a hawaiin guitar player/singer that was nice listen too, and the bar food was good. they only have bar food though, no restraunt. the bar tender charged me 33$ instead of 3$ on my bill when it posted, im sure it was a mistake, but check your statement each day as they charge your credit card daily. It was on our first day and i dont think i would have ever remembered what is should've been.
We stopped at costco and loaded up on food and drinks for the week. There is a normal grocery store across the street from costco for smaller quantities. Walmart does not have hardly any food.
Renting boogie boards and snorkel gear is expensive. I'd buy an inexpensive one next time and just donate to someone checking in, when i left. It will be about the same price.
I would definitley recommend the marriott and we will be back.

Room Tip: HALE 1 and 8. Hale one has the best ocean facing rooms. the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Russ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Aloha and thank you for your positive review of Marriott’s Waiohai Beach Club! We are pleased to hear your family enjoyed their luxury villa and the many activities around the resort. We apologize for the incorrect charge at the bar and will share your comments with our Food and Beverage manager to ensure this does not happen again. Thank you again for visiting us and we hope you will return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,067)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

513 - 519 of 1,067 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

The Marriott Waiohai is one of our most favourite spots on the planet. It is on a spectacular beach, with a protected bay for snorkelling and swimming, the vistas are awesome, and the gardens are gorgeous. The rooms are spacious, clean and well furnished, but are due for an upgrade this summer. This is a wonderful spot for families, although this time it was just my wife and me and it was fabulous. There are at least half a dozen terrific restaurants within walking distance, and speaking of walking, there are lots of options for walking, running, or hiking along the ocean. One needs to take care in specifying a room. We prefer the garden views and like Halle three, four, six or seven. I highly recommend this property.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This was our second visit to this resort. Our first visit had us in Hale 4 on the third floor overlooking the property. Absolutely beautiful view. This time we were in Hale 5 overlooking, well, not much besides jungle. You could see a little of the ocean to one side. But we don't go there for the view from our room.

The property is to be renovated this year (so we were told) although the overall condition of the property remains excellent. We had a couple of minor things that needed attention. The toaster was toast as was the little carpet sweeper. Both were replaced within 15 minutes of a call to the front desk. The bathtub drain plug was stuck closed but was fixed within just a few minutes after we called it in. We asked for some extra pool towels and they arrived within minutes.

What great customer service! Kudos to the staff of what remains an excellent resort.

Room Tip: The buildings in the complex form a U-shape. Rooms facing inward are best because of the beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baldlegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Aloha and thank you for visiting Marriott’s Waiohai Beach Club! We truly appreciate your kind words for the associates who assisted you during your stay. It is also rewarding to know your family decided to visit us again in beautiful Hawaii. We look forward to your next stay with us and thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We had a great week at Marriott's Waihai Beach Club. We had a lovely room in which our linai had a beautiful ocean view (see attached photo). The room was spacious and quite comfortable. The staff on the property was always friendly and helpful. Our stay occurred over the Christmas holiday and chairs were taken early and it was hard to get seats together after 8:00 AM. Housekeeping team is wonderful and extra towels were always graciously offered when asked for. Kids enjoyed the game room (ping pong, Foosball, Wii, etc). The on property store/small market was expensive but provided what we needed if we did not want to venture off property. Access to the beach was the best we saw on Kauai. We had a great stay here.

Room Tip: Get a room with an ocean view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank royalmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The Marriott Waiohai is a vacation condo property that is right on Poipu Beach. The location is second to none as you can't get better than direct beach access. You are also within easy walking distance or a less than 5 minute drive of several of the other resort beaches, local restaurants, and Poipu Village shopping center. The units themselves are decent with a full kitchen, living room, lanai, and washer/dryer. We went with relatives and comfortably fit 4 adults, 4 kids, and 1 toddler in a 2 bedroom/2 full bath unit that had 2 king beds and 2 full size sofa beds. Be "creative" if reserving these units to avoid extra per person charges (the system wouldn't allow us to reserve for 9 people for example). The condo is pretty good--no frills, nothing fancy, furniture and decor is very plain, bathrooms are small but functional, toiletries are okay, wifi worked fine. Maid service is great--they do your dishes for you and getting extra towels is easy. Nothing will make you go wow but there's nothing lacking either.

We were in Hale 6 (building #6) and the view off our balcony wasn't horrible--it was a very partial ocean view off to the side--but the family members who didn't go to the beach for the new years eve fireworks could see the fireworks from the balcony. I saw A LOT of balconies that just had horrendous parking lot views in our building and adjacent buildings however--and given that when we made the reservation we had no say in what kind of view we could reserve I can see how that could be an issue for some. My biggest complaint of the property was that the parking is AWFUL. There's not enough spots and nearly ALL of the spots are for super compact cars. On Kauai, nearly everyone is driving the same Nissan Altima sized rental car and those don't fit within the lines. So then you get a bunch of people parking haphazardly and taking up two spaces which you really can't blame anyone for doing. Poorly done parking lot.

Overall, the resort is very family friendly and there are lots of kids running around. The Waiohai isn't a full service resort with all the fixings--there's no spa, there's a bar that serves food on the beach but there's no proper restaurant. The lounge chairs are first come first serve and sparse on the beach. There's no one to bring you a mai tai on the beach. The front office staff is fairly curt and fortunately I conversed with them at check-in and never again. The resort grounds are nicely done with a decorative pond structure in the back of complex and a decent pool in the front of the complex right before the beach. The pond area IMO is kind of a waste--if you are in one of the buildings in the back like we were it would've been nice to have a pool area closer to the back--although you are very close to the little "island" where all the gas barbecue grills are. If you are going for your honeymoon, I wouldn't stay here. If you want all the trimmings of a full service resort look elsewhere as well. But if you need a big place that will fit a lot of family members, this is one of the very best options for Poipu Beach simply because of location location location, and once you split the cost of a 2 bedroom with another family, it's very reasonably priced. It's not the crib--it's the beach!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank wskungfuclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Aloha and thank you for your positive review of Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club! As a loyal Tripadvisor contributor, we truly value your feedback regarding your stay with us. It is great that you were able to spend quality time with your family and enjoy the many amenities around our resort. We look forward to your next stay with us in beautiful Hawaii!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Admittedly, the beach was the deciding factor when reviewing options online for a place to stay on Kauai's south shore. After spending eight days at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, I can say emphatically that the beach did not disappoint. While we have visited a wide variety of beaches, including some that were more beautiful, some that were longer, some that were less crowded, and some that offered more interesting features, the beach at this particular property was very pleasing. While busy at times during the week between Christmas and New Year's Eve, finding space to stretch out was never a problem. Importantly, the water was very clean and warm, and calm enough to enjoy swimming and snorkeling. And the sand was soft enough and also very clean. Finally, the sunrises and sunsets merit a quick mention. Both were spectacular.

There is more to the property than just the beach. The landscaping is very attractive (with very nice gardens, ponds, and waterfalls) and well maintained, as were the common areas in buildings, including the lobby area. Our villa was described as ocean view, on the second floor of Hale 4. We had a good view of the parking lot at the Poipu Beach Park, next door to the Marriott. But, we could see the water at the Beach Park from a distance of a few hundred yards, and the garden areas visible below our lanai were quite beautiful. Still, when asked by Marriott to complete a survey on our stay, I did feel compelled to suggest that Marriott categorize the villas as ocean view, partial ocean view, and island view (although truth be told, they might need another category for a limited number of villas on the back side of Hale 2, which seemed like they would probably be more accurately described as parking lot views), with appropriate corresponding pricing. If they were to do this rather than simply dichotomize to ocean view and island view, it's likely fewer people would complain that the management was being deceptive. Other than the view issue, we had a very positive experience. The furnishings were very comfortable, attractive, and clean. Housekeeping was consistently very good.

Other features of the property are worth a quick mention. The ocean front bar and grill is not a full restaurant. Prior to arriving, I found various descriptions of this point a bit confusing. It's a nice spot for a bite and a drink while waiting to catch the sunset, but it's not a full restaurant. Options abound nearby for restaurants, including several within a 10 minute walk and many others within a 10-15 minute drive. Another feature was the fitness center. There was a reasonable selection of dumbells and a few weight machines, as well as several elipticals, bikes, and treadmills, all in good condition.

One other point is worth making, in part because of other reviews I read on this site before our trip; we did not experience any hard sell on time shares. I always made it clear our stay was intended as a hotel guest type of stay, not as a prospective owner. When we picked up our "welcome packet", one matter of fact question was posed, something like "Would you be interested in....?" That was it. We said "No thank you." We were never pressured, and never asked again. Additionally, I saw no evidence of different treatment between [hotel/villa] guests and owners anywhere or at any time.

If Trip Advisor offered mid-point ratings, I would have selected 4.5 for this property rather than a 5, over the issue of partial ocean view vs ocean view, and a few other quibbles. Still, we had a great stay, very relaxing and restful. If our travels take us to Kauai again, we would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Not sure if asking means receiving, but Hale 5 and Hale 6 seem most likely to offer true ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HersheyPAtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I wish we had a better experience as we were really excited to stay here, but based on our expectations our room was seriously below average. Overall the resort is on par with other Poipu properties, but our room (4207) sucked. On a previous trip we "previewed" this property viewing a beautiful ocean front suite. In comparison our room in Hale #4 was not even close. Our room was categorized as ‘island view’; really Marriott should just be honest and categorize it as ‘no view’. 'Island view" is a pure marketing ploy. I've included a picture so can decide.

From the balcony you can only see a row of cars, a light pole and a row of trees separating this property from the next. The so called 'island view' extends for less than 50 yards. There is absolutely no reason to go onto the balcony unless you smoke. We asked to be moved, but they were unable to accommodate. If we had known beforehand this 'island view' was so pathetic, we would have NOT stayed here for vacation. Our time would have been much more enjoyable if we didn't have to leave our room just to get some sunshine.

Here' a little more about the parking. We parked our car right under our room's balcony. Our car never got hot because it never saw sunshine, which means neither did our balcony. We made sure to keep our balcony screen door locked. We were un-nerved by how easy it would be to hop on the car hood and climb into our room balcony. I did not hear of any room break ins but the headlines of the local paper were warning people of an increase in car theft. They provide a room safe and the signs on the property clearly point out you are parking at your own risk. All this for only $15 more a day on top of the $600 plus room fee. Parking is not included.

This was our first time staying in a Marriott “time share” condo unit instead of a Marriott hotel. We enjoyed the spacious two bedrooms, but even my kids felt the size was overkill. The location on Kauai's Poipu beach is good. But Marriott squeezed this "Beach Club" into the waterfront about 10 years ago. Their beachfront extends only about 100 yards, the majority of the property extends 100s of yards away from the beach where they have built a lagoon with a swan. Hey pineapples aren't native to Hawaii either.

If you’re staying here during the holiday season consider bringing your own chairs or be prepared to sit on the sand because there are not always enough lounge chairs, certainly not 4 together unless you are a very early riser. We had to do a lot of lifting an shifting to sit together. We saw lots of people with their own chairs, I imagine they are regulars. Rental beach chairs are available on the island for about $15 a week. There are also two hammocks near the back of the property, not anywhere near the beach.

On Christmas morning we were woke up about 5am to the sounds of fire alarms. They were really loud; the alarm sounded about 5 times over 2 days. It got to the point where my daughter was afraid to get into the shower because "the fire alarm is going to go off again”. The maintenance manager had to come to our room to explain what was happening. Thankfully, Zach, the Manager, ‘comped’ us 1 night and gave us a gift basket.

I have more gripes but I 'll spare you the details, mostly stemming from the fact this is not a full service hotel but a time share. On the positive side the beach front bar has pretty good food and decent drinks, as well as a couple of TVs for your viewing pleasure. You don't need to be a guest to eat and drink here, so I recommend staying in a nearby hotel and dropping by the vacation club to view the "preview unit". They'll comp you the day. I never say never, but I am not buying a time share here anytime soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ScottD58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Thank you for visiting Marriott’s Waiohai Beach Club. Our team is disappointed to hear we did not meet your expectations on your recent stay with us. There are two view categories for the resort; island view and ocean view. We would highly recommend securing an ocean view room on a future visit if the view is an important component for your stay. We are also disappointed that the alarm woke you up on Christmas day and we understand your frustration. It is good to hear the manager on duty was able to solve the issue for you when brought to their attention. We appreciate you allowing us to host your family and hope you choose to visit us again on your next visit to Hawaii.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,384 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club

Address: 2249 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Poipu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#4 Business Hotel in Poipu
Price Range: $283 - $838 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Waiohai Beach Club Hotel Poipu
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Poipu
Marriott Poipu
Poipu Marriott
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Club
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing