We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great week at the Marriott Waiohai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Another great week at the Marriott Waiohai”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We are Marriott Vacation Club members, and for the second year in a row, traded our week for a week at the Waiohai. We love it here. It's a beautiful setting in a convenient location. We love having a full kitchen and washer/dryer and especially enjoy the many grills on the property. We found it to be a peaceful, fun place and didn't experience any of the loud late night/early morning noise I read about in a previous review. The staff is very friendly, grounds are beautiful and well maintained and the units are spacious. The sleeper sofas could use and update, since they're not so comfortable, but I think I read that an update is getting ready to happen! The beach bar, the Honu Bar, is great with friendly bartenders and a great setting! The beach is beautiful and the sunsets are amazing from the beach! My next trip to Kauai, I plan to be right back here, at the Waiohai!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    220
    73
    34
    29
See reviews for
511
240
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I want to leave a review for the Honu Bar Kauai that is located at the Marriott Waiohai Beach club, but Trip Adviser doesn't have it available to review.
Trip advisor can move this to the right spot once they add it.
Ridiculous that I can't add a place if it isn't already here. YELP has it, but not Trip Advisor.
This will likely be trashed by Trip Advisor, but i owe it to Honu Bar to try and leave a great review.

Spent $70 bucks plus tip, w/ No Alcoholic Drinks, but the food was GREAT!
Grilled Chicken and Pineapple Sandwich was delicious, my mom loved it!
Wife had the fish tacos.
I had the best shrimp thus far on Kauai. Absolutely AWESOME!!!
I also had the Honu burger with a tasty hamberger, pulled pork, bacon, lettuce and tomato. Amazing!!!!
Had one non-alcoholic frozen drink. Yummay!

A little pricey, but very VERY good food, GREAT Lunch. We took it to the beach and enjoyed it while watching for Whales and people watching.

Room Tip: No clue, I just wanted to review the Honu Bar! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GWLGIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

This property is nice and well landscaped just steps from the beach. Great snorkeling, surfing and boogie boarding opportunities are all within walking distance. We also saw quite a few whales, seals and turtles during our stay.

The service was great in every way except for their WIFI situation. I noticed a review from two years ago stating the same issues so they haven't corrected it yet. Signal strength was weak in parts of our room and numerous times throughout the day you had to log back in again since you got kicked off. While I was on vacation I did have to do some work to allow us to extend our trip by a few days to stay here. Frustrating but I worked around it.

Room Tip: We had a garden facing room and loved it. I actually preferred it over an ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pavaaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Manager at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of Marriott’s Waiohai Beach Club and the experiences you encountered along the way. We apologize for the issues you had with the Wi-Fi connection and appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

We've been coming here at least once a year since 2005 and used to love it. Don't want to sound too much like a cranky old man, but it's turned into a multi-generational family reunion / frat party destination over the years and no longer holds any attraction for us (an older couple who come to Kaua'i for peace, quiet, and relaxation). There is constant noise - slamming doors, kids screaming and running in the hallways, etc.- from roughly 6AM on every day. And nowadays it seems a lot of guests start drinking early in the morning. We've seen younger people walking to the beach with beers while we're on our way to breakfast on more than one occasion. Also, there seems to be no restriction on glass (beer) bottles by the pool and beach despite the fact that most everyone in the area is barefoot and using concrete walkways. Or, maybe it simply doesn't occur to the new generation of guests that this is a bad idea. At any rate, it's a lawsuit just waiting to happen. Even if you can ignore the potential danger of broken bottles, with Bluetooth technology days at the beach are now often wireless boom box competitions - which can not be ignored. Add the constant cellphone conversations (why do so many people think they must shout to be heard on the phone?) and it sometimes seems hard to hear the ocean. Another discouraging new development is smokers ignoring the overall smoking ban and the designated smoking areas. A lot of people are now happy to fire up wherever they please and wait to see if hotel staff come by to tell them to put it out. Which isn't likely to happen. Evenings grow noisier every year as large groups traveling together gather outside to party. And these parties now routinely ignore the 10PM 'curfew'. There have been people whooping it up well past 11PM almost every night since we got here.

On the plus side, if you're still interested in coming, the fish tacos at the Honu Bar are out of this world, a complete kitchen and washer and dryer in each unit are really handy, and the staff are genuinely friendly. The Waiohai is also convenient to lots to do and the beach is the best on the south shore. Surfers and whales, in season, are fun to watch, and the pools are nice.

Bottom line, if you're young, traveling with family or friends, like crowds, noise - lots of noise - and parties, the Waiohai is right up your alley. If you're looking for peace and quiet and an escape from the madding crowds, you should look elsewhere. The Ko'a Kea next door (where we're moving to) comes to mind.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank DCBoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Manager at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for providing us your review on your most recent visit. It is disheartening that your vacation was less than excellent due to other guests’ behavior. Our team thanks you for your feedback and will review our policies to ensure each guest has an exceptional visit. We hope to welcome you again to Marriott’s Waiohai Beach Club so we may truly exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Been going 9 years. Great for kids and adults. Great hotel. Has many activities and is right on the beach. It also has walking access to Starbucks and Brenekee's Beach and Restaurant. Kids loved bamboo pole fishing. We have tried ATVS, rope swing, hike, helicopter, Wiamea Canyon, Ziplining, and much more:). Can't wait to visit again. Saw whales and tons of turtles and seals.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Manager at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
We are happy to receive a five-star review from such a loyal guest! It’s good to hear you were able to experience so many wonderful activities while visiting the island. We hope to see your family for many more years to come. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manhattan beach
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed here for Thanksgiving because it has a full kitchen and is on the beach. The property offers activities for children and families. It has a great pool that looks out on the ocean and you can watch the sunset from the beach front outdoor bar. There is snorkeling right round the corner and a nice surf break in front of the hotel. You will not get an ocean front room unless you are an owner but we really did not spend a lot of time hiding in the room. The kitchen was well stocked and allowed me to cook thanksgiving dinner for 16. The rooms are big and well appointed.
Notes:
Rent a car
Buy food and booze at Costco or the grocery store

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlessouthey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Manager at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
We are thrilled you chose Marriott’s Waiohai Beach Club for your Thanksgiving vacation! We are happy to hear you were able to enjoy so many of the amenities and even cooked a meal for sixteen in your villa. Please visit us again on your next trip to Hawaii.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Need a car to enjoy the island. The hotel has a beautiful beach area that you can sit and watch the sunsets. You can rent snorkeling gear, paddle boards and surf boards. They do not have poolside service for cock tails but the bar is right there. The bar does close down early around 7 pm, so be sure to stop at Costco and buy some cocktail mix because a Mai tai is $14.00 each. We stayed in a two bedroom garden view unit. It was really clean and spacious. I would stay again. It is quiet at night mostly families staying at the resort.

Room Tip: Be sure you request a garden view you do not want your deck looking out to a parking lot. They do h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,270 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club

Property: Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Address: 2249 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Poipu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#3 Green Hotel in Poipu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#4 Business Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Marriott, Vacatia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Waiohai Beach Club Hotel Poipu
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Poipu
Marriott Poipu
Poipu Marriott
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Club
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing