We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Rooster City” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose California USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rooster City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

We are multiweek owners of Marriott, please in the Vacation Club Points program. Booked a week at this lovely resort. Be aware that anything that has even a little view of the ocean is "ocean view". We had requested top floor, end unit, ocean view. We got all of those features, however at the back of the complex facing the koi pond. All in all, I pretty nice unit, although dated. Beds very comfortable, but bathrooms rather tiny. The rooms are very quiet from guest noise, however, the roosters living on the property can start crowing at 3 am! We complained several times, and the management seemed to control them until 6:30 am. The best rooms are end units, ocean FRONT, Hale 1. There are many rooms that do not have an ocean view, and may even have a parking lot view only. Snorkeling at the Mariott's beach is excellent, stay to towards the rocks on the west. We swam with a sea turtle and many schools of colorful fish. All in all a pleasant stay, Poipu and Koloa are nice with plenty of good restaurants.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank KLM-Assoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    214
    71
    33
    29
See reviews for
485
234
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We booked a night at this resort about 6 months in advance. It was the last night of our honeymoon and we really were looking forward to our stay.
We were very disappointed for multiple reasons, first by the late check in, around 4pm. The only room available for us, even though booked months in advance, was a wheel chair accessible dark room on lowest floor. It was really smelly and we had to run the AC just to be able to breathe. There was a little patio with a view to the next hotel. Since we checked in so late, we didn't get to enjoy this area much.
The bathroom was convenient for somebody in a wheelchair, same with the room. Not quite what we expected for our honeymoon. The furniture is okay for a motel but nothing we expected from a Marriott.
We asked to change rooms but the only other option was a room with twin beds. We didn't feel like valued customers at all, this place cares mostly about the time share guests.
Having stayed there one night we would never consider that option.
The pools were okay, not very big for the numbers of kids jumping in and out.
We loved Poipu but will definitely not return to this resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WhyWeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Aloha and thank you for visiting us at Marriott’s Waiohai Beach Club. I am sorry to hear you had multiple challenges while staying with us on your honeymoon. As a Marriott Vacation Club resort, the check-in time is 4PM, which allows our housekeeping team enough time to service the villas. I can understand your frustration if this was not explained to you beforehand. The room condition you described is not typical for our resort and should have been correct immediately.

We would welcome the chance to speak with you regarding your visit and invite you to contact our Customer Care team at 800-860-9384 or by email at customer.care@vacationclub.com. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

The hotel offers ocean view and garden view accommodations. Many of the ocean view rooms are barely ocean view. We were first assigned a room with no clear balcony and immediately above the pool in a dark room. We were reassigned quite a bit from the ocean. Many other ocean view rooms offer a glimmer, which some other are excellent. The garden views are fine and if that meets your needs, you should be happy. If you like, however, to sit on a balcony and look at the ocean or sunset, you run a major risk of being disappointed. The hotel is more quiet than most major hotels in Hawaii, and Kauai offers a lot to see. Just don't come here with an expectation of a great view... unless you have some insider help or just get lucky.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. Maybe have a relative or friend at the front desk or with management. Otherwi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

enjoy a dip in the pool, watch the waves, take in some snorkeling, have a drink or 2 oceanside, use the fitness center and remember to 'live aloha'. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with full kitchens and washer and dryer.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank abjo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We bought our timeshare in 2002 and we use it every other year. Annual maintenance fees are about $1500 and I think we paid $35k for Oceanfront. If you do the math and I wont go into it here, over a 20yr period it comes out to $3250 per week. That's not bad for a big 2BR condo on the ocean in Hawaii. If you compare to rates at Koa Kea next door it's a no brainer. Is it a fantastic deal? No. But it is a fair deal. You have to look at what you get for the cost. The staff tries to accommodate our wishes, the bar staff are really friendly and engaging in banter. I do wish the bar stayed open later. I find the rooms to always be in very good condition. No complaints here.

Room Tip: Always review the property map ahead of time so you are better informed when selecting preferences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roamer3811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We just returned from a week in Kauai. Fantastic vacation! We stayed for 7 nights at the Marriott Waiohai Beach Club. I'll break down my review in several categories:

Location - 5 Star. Right on Poipu Beach. Great snorkeling. Beautiful water. Location simply does not get any better.

Staff - 5 Star. Everyone we encountered was friendly and efficient. Great housekeeping staff, and the groundskeepers have to be commended for keeping the grounds looking perfect. Special shout out to the young gentleman who keeps the bbq grills clean every day. These grills get used constantly, but are SPOTLESS the next morning due to the hard work of that guy. Grilling out is also a great way that we met some of our neighbors.

Rooms - 3 Star. Ok. Don't bash me on this. Here are my thoughts. The rooms are ok. But on the Marriott scale of things, they're furnished in a 3-star kind of way. Comfortable but basic furnishings. Decent bathrooms, but not "luxurious." Workable kitchen (actually very well stocked), but with the bare basic appliances. For example: the dishwasher is probably the cheapest model sold. It is so loud that it sounds like a small plane is landing right in your condo! If you want to see 5-star living....check out the Wyndham down the street. We had friends staying there, and they are stunning - travertine tile floors, great furniture, sub zero fridge, etc.... So I'm not bashing the Marriott....but the actual units are only ok. Not fancy.

Pools - 3 star. Honestly, the pools were only ok. For this size property, they should have bigger pools. The main pool is a bit overrun with kids.

But when you add it all up, you get a 4 star property. Good property. Great location. Great staff.

One other item (as others have mentioned here), they're sticklers about 4pm check-in and 10am check out. As a Marriott Platinum, I would expect a small degree of flexibility with these times. But nope...they're not. Small frustration, but worth noting.

We stayed there with one other couple. We would stay here again if the price was right.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HBsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, CA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Waiohai is one of our favorites of all the Marriott Vacation Clubs. We have owned here since 2003, and have returned most years because we love Waiohai's location right on the beach, the beautiful landscaping and great staff. This year we had a great ocean view looking over the pool to the ocean where the surfers were always fun to watch. We have also stayed in the garden view with a beautiful lagoon view. We saw monk seals and turtles several days, and only had a couple of 5 minute showers the last week of October. We don't mind all the wild chickens, so for us, it is always another day in paradise!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club

Property: Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Address: 2249 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9534
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Poipu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#3 Green Hotel in Poipu
#4 Business Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Marriott so you can book your Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Waiohai Beach Club Hotel Poipu
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Poipu
Marriott Poipu
Poipu Marriott
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Club
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing