We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best in class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here again for the sixth time for a week. Someone wrote that the resort was worse for wear; I don't know what that person is used to, but nothing could be farther from the truth. Yes, the resort is now about ten years old, and will be going through a complete refurbishment in 2014, but we found our unit to be in great condition, and as well maintained as ever. This is a great jumping off place to see all the island has to offer, and especially good for families. The location (right on the beach) and the facilities are first class. It's our favorite place to come, and yes, we will be back again!

Room Tip: Ask for a unit in "Hale 1"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parrotthead1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    204
    67
    29
    28
See reviews for
460
218
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Enjoyed a week stay with friends. We had been there 9 years previous with family. Our unit was waayyyy in the back but luckily did not have the view of the parking lot only like others. Our view was of the lovely landscaping.

Some renovation is needed in unit....carpeting is fraying and the pools towels were full of holes. I like the other resorts where the pool towels are available by the pool and I don't need to add pool towels to the laundry ...cause I am on vacation!

Room Tip: Typically the owners of the property get the best units...ocean views, pool location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 72GG_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Waiohai. The 2 bedroom accommodations are classy and comfortable. The WiFi worked without hassle and the views from Hale 7 were pretty decent. The underground parking was convenient and secure. The beach access was amazing, the bar was well placed and overall experience was superb. Marriott really has a handle on what it takes to engineer a wow factor.

Room Tip: You don't have a choice in the rooms, but there are only a few that truly have ocean view. The r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank filmmakah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this Marriott. The grounds were spectacular. Every morning the gardeners tended to the plants. There are nice waterfalls with a swan and a heron bird. Every morning the maintenance crew cleaned the communal barbecues and they looked new each day. The jacuzzis and pools were very nice. The restaurant and bar sat right on the beach what made for spectacular views. The rooms were large but the furniture and carpet were outdated. Overall a great experience.

Room Tip: The best view rooms are reserved for the owners of the time share. If you do not get a room in the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Globewalker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This property is wonderful. Lush gardens, ponds and swimming areas are the center of attraction. Rooms are large and many can sleep 8 with 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, living room, kitchen and patios. Units can purchased as well as rented for great holiday/vacation.

Room Tip: 1/2 the rooms have the garden view and this area opens onto the hotel's private beach area. Can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Consierges Kanamie and Alton made our stay perfect. Highly recommend contacting them and plan great excursions such as Captain Andy, Jack H's doorless helicopter, kayaking up the river and waterfall above the airport and great restaurants: across the street is a good Hawaian restaurant (K......) table 8 and 9 are the only ones! Snorkeling is great - we had friends in Princeville and the difference in climate (beginning April) is amazing - Sun in Poipu and rain up north. Do book excursions before arrival - they sell out. Enjoy!

Room Tip: we like peace and quiet - not overlooking the many pools with active students - so I believe we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I booked this property for the location on Poipu. It is a beautiful older property that is in very good condition. There really are not many Ocean View Rooms. The view from most of the rooms face the pool and garden area which is lovely. There are rooms on the property which only face the parking lot. Our room listed as an ocean view really did not. You could see a little of the ocean from our bedroom but we still enjoyed sitting on the porch with the lovely view of the grounds. The pools are beautiful and you can sit in beach chairs on the grass which overlooks the ocean.
They seem to stick to the check in time of 4pm with not much leeway for early arrival. They also did not want to allow any later check out even though my husband has a Marriott distinction which allows for a late checkout. One of the front desk help Ahi jumped in from another associate and helped us out. The others at the desk were less than personable.
It is a small quiet facility that is great for a quiet vacation. There are a number of good restaurants in the area as well as adequate grills to do your own cooking. They are well used and in great shape.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 stars 649 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club

Property: Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Address: 2249 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9534
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Poipu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#4 Business Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Vacatia, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Waiohai Beach Club Hotel Poipu
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Poipu
Marriott Poipu
Poipu Marriott
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Club
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing