We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island view!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Island view!!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Nice place and room very nice but i took issue with what i purchased. Island view can mean anything here , basically you see the "island" out the window but not necessarily what you would imagine. If booking here I would lower expectation regarding view definition as the hotel are advertising.About 17 miles from the airport at lihue ($50 by taxi)

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bowie1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    223
    73
    34
    30
See reviews for
521
241
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just got back and at first we were a little nervous because we heard so many things about the Hyatt, but this place was great! We enjoyed all the room we had...in our rooms. Never seemed over crowded. The beach is great! We got to see a monk seal up close. Location is super!!! There are tons of great restaurants near by. I would definitely go back. This would also make for a great family vacation. Tons of activities offered during the day.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at the Waiohai in Jan. After staying Ko'olina, the two resorts can't be compared. The Waiohai is modest and comfortable.
The rooms are close to most everything at Waiohai. The long trek from room to frontdesk, garden restaurant, etc. are not like at the Ko'olina. Though the rooms looked a bit aged, we were very comfortable. The staff was attentive and helpful both at the front desk and in the market. During our stay the propane bbqs were replaced with built-ins, and the gardners were busy changing the landscape. You can see that they are busy making renovations.

Our second week was spent at the Marriott Beach Club, on the cliffs. Though much newer and upscale, we didn't enjoy that week nearly as much as our previous week at Waiohai.

We are already looking forward to our return to the Waiohai in December.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heinoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We own a week at the Marriott Vacation Club in Phuket, but come to Hawaii every year now that we live in the US. We have gone to both Waiohai and Ko Olina (Oahu) and much prefer this one due to the whole island atmosphere of Kauai. The rooms and the view may not be magnificent, but the location and friendly staff make up for that. Poipu beach is perfect for kids and we loved seeing whales in the horizon every day as well as turtles and seals on the beach. Our kids aged 10 and 12 looked forward to Bingo games with snacks and prizes and bamboo pole fishing at the resort. We are looking forward to coming back again next year. We just wish their beds were a bit firmer... I was fine, but my husband complained of a back pain after a while.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wadasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I do not feel this Marriott property lives up to the standards of other Marriott properties I have stayed at in Hawaii. The room we stayed in was very tired. The layout of the property is also very strange. There are a handful of rooms with nice ocean views but the vast majority of the rooms overlook the grounds and some overlook a parking lot. There was only one concierge and they were constantly busy with a line of other guests. The location right at Poipu Beach is very nice and the sunsets were impressive. You can do better than this while visiting Kauai.

Room Tip: Good luck getting a good room here! The hadful of rooms with nice views are snapped up by lucky own...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank pwtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to complete a review of Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club. We apologize the resort did not meet your expectations . However, we are preparing for a complete refurbishment and hope you will consider returning to our resort once complete. You are correct in saying the prime ocean front villas are reserved for owners who have paid a premium for these villa accommodations. While we welcome all Marriott guests, we do honor owner requests first.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALIFORNIA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This place is getting extremely tired. Whatever you do. DO NOT invest in the Vacation Club. Their prices are outrageous and the maintenance fees at least at this property have now approached $300 per day per year every year and that is after tens of thousands of dollars of purchase fees. The apartments are old and worn. Ours was by an elevator shaft that was very noisy that resulted in poor sleep. The sink faucet top was broken. Loose tile on the floor, and frayed carpet. We have been members for over 10 years and only once has our request for a room ever been honored. This time was the worst as we ended up in the worst and oldest unit of the property. Our compaints and requests to the front office have been ignored. It is very much a take it or leave it type of attitude. After you have traveled all the way here, there are few options and they won't confirm location for you until you arrive and check in. So - for this kind of money - go elsewhere. We certainly are going to. Additionally there is no chance we will invest more money in Marriott Vacation Club properties. The Customer service has been incredibly poort. To make matters worse - I even saw an advertisement that indicates that Vacation Club just leases the name from Marriottt. For all we know, there is no Marriott presence here at all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank CECHEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club. We apologize your villa did not meet your expectations. The resort is scheduled for a complete refurbishment and we hope you'll consider returning once the update is complete. This is a Marriott Vacation Club resort. While a separate Marriott company, I can assure you Marriott does not "lease" it's name to anyone and every hotel and resort with the Marriott name is held to the same standards of quality. We would appreciate an opportunity to personally address your concerns. Please contact us at customer.care@vacationclub.com or at 800 860 9384. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

As others have mentioned, this resort has a great location and is family oriented. The units are very tired looking. The decor is unattractive and very worn. Pillows had barely any stuffing in them. Cheap kitchen equipment. How about hiring a new interior designer? If I was an owner here, I would ask for more.
The hallways in the building look like you are walking through a hospital corridor. What about some artwork?
Be aware of what unit you are assigned.
Seems like Marriott is a bit too complacent about this property. Just because it has one of the top locations, it doesn't mean that they can't spend some money here to upgrade.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club

Property: Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Address: 2249 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Poipu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#4 Business Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Waiohai Beach Club Hotel Poipu
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Poipu
Marriott Poipu
Poipu Marriott
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Club
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing