We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kauai excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Peoria, Illinois, United States
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Kauai excellence”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We go back again and again. Kauai, the garden island is our favorite Hawaiian Island and the Beach Club is the best place to stay. It is a very small island but you can take a whole week to explore the variety of climates that are there. From body surfing, championship PGA golf courses to extreme hiking along the cliffs on the north shore we enjoyed the whole experience. The resort is purposely small and quiet. Full kitchens in all the units are perfect. Seals warming themselves on the resort beach are a pleasant surprise. IKt has very nice pool and bar areas and great restaurants are close by. The resort is on the southern coast of the island and while up in the mountains more rain falls annually than anywhere else in the world, the south side gets much less of the rain. Jurassic Park, King Kong and many other movies and were filmed on Kauai all looking for a "lost paradise". At Waioihai Beach Club we've found it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    225
    73
    34
    30
See reviews for
529
241
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Our first time at this Marriott - traded in easily through Interval International. Very nice pool area and great poolside bar and grill. Only issue with the bar & grill is that it closed too early (6:30 pm) and there is no other place to eat. Of course, each condo has a kitchen, so you can cook your own meals - but they're missing a bet not having a breakfast, lunch & dinner facility. Rooms were very nicely appointed and we had a nice view of the ocean - from the balcony. The beach is literally right in front of the facility, so it really feels all self-contained.

Room Tip: Request "direct ocean view" or "Ocean front" if you want a water view that isn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cardman760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We first came to Kauai in 1992 for a conference at the Hyatt. That is a beautiful property, but the beach there is not so great and the lack of a kitchen led to a pretty big Visa bill from local restaurants. A few years later, we bought a share of a condo at Poipu Kai - the price was right, but there was a long walk (or short drive) to the beach, there was no AC, and the unit was older and dated. In 2004, shortly after Marriott's Waiohai opened, we bought two weeks every other year here. We love this resort. As others have said, it is on the best beach on the island, the units are spacious with a great kitchen, and the pools and grounds are beautiful and well-maintained. Timeshares are not for everyone, but we since bought 5 more Marriott weeks at other locations (including Oahu for the every other year that we are not in Kauai), all from the resale market and have never regretted it.

Room Tip: The better rooms are given to Marriott owners who own multiple weeks. This time our room was on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frankb357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

To be honest, we are part-time owners at this resort property but I read with some dismay, the negative comments that some Trip Advisor reviewers had made about their Waiohai experience. I suspect that my review may sound more like a defense of the property and a chiding of the negative reviewers. I suspect that the reason many of the reviewers did not have a stellar time at the Waiohai is that they had not done due diligence before plunking down their dollars for what they assumed would be a stay in Paradise with all the frills of a mainland or European hotel or resort property.

I am not here to make excuses or an apology for this gorgeous and beach-front property. It is a Marriott Vacation Club property and should be understood as such. It is NOT a full service hotel; It is MUCH better.

Assuming you get a two bedroom property, like the one we own, you get a comfortable large setting for a family that is totally self-contained as a condo or apartment would be. The two bedroom, two bath units sleep 6 comfortably and 8 with a bit of coziness. The units have a fully equipped kitchen and a washer and dryer. Maid service thoroughly cleans once a week and more often for an additional fee.

We are currently staying in an ocean front unit and are literally 15 yards from the Pacific Ocean and beautiful Poipu Beach, almost always listed as one of the 10 best beaches in the world. We certainly think so. There is no full service restaurant on the property although there is a lovely Oceanside light menu place with excellent food. You can prepare your own meals in your kitchen or using the gourmet grills outside the units. The units are only four stories high and there are 8 smaller buildings, unlike some of the humongous chain hotels here on the islands. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and well manicured. The swimming pool is a beautiful free-form affair and has always been clean over the 10 years we have used it.
The beach is always clean and lovely. The snorkeling is superb and the wave action is fairly gentle compared to other places on the island. Thus it is a great resort for families and kids!!!!
Our whole family looks forward to and loves our time at this beautiful resort. We have been enjoying this property for 10 years and have visited many others here on Kauai. We HIGHLY recommend this place for a dream vacation. But research what you are paying money for when you travel. Don’t be a naïve tourist wherever your travel.

Enjoy the Aloha spirit at the Waiohai like so many of us have done. You will be a welcomed guest.

Mahalo

Room Tip: Ocean front is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I purchased a time share about seven years ago when the kids were still in middle school. Now that they're in college, and I have my flexibility back, I would probably not buy.
What to like:
If you have a young family its a wonderful all in one hotel geared toward making your life easy.
Its on one of the prettiest and safest beaches in the world.
The service is always pleasant and helpful
Food prices (for Hawaii) are reasonable.
The rooms are well appointed and well kept.
The concerns:
It can get a bit noisy with all the young families running around.
In the off season the hotel is packed with seniors too.
If you buy the annual fees rise to the point where it's a bargain to stay next door at the Kiahuna
Oceanview rooms vary in quality... The backside of Hale 8 is a noisy parking lot.
Your chances of an oceanfront room are slim to none yet easy to rent next door.

I would never buy a timeshare again... But if you're booking like a hotel you will probably enjoy your stay if you have the young family and need peace of mind
No matter what... You're at Poipu

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markmDanville_Ca_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

All suites are 2 bedroom, two bath with a large(fully equiped) kitchen and living area. The suites are truely like home, you live there. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. When we were there the chickens were few for some reason. There are outdoor grills to use and they are cleaned each morning, each night the torches are lit, the palm trees sway and the ocean waves create an amazing ambience. The property is right on the beach but watch for rocks when entering the water. This is a family oriented property. Poipu is the best of the island. The suites are clean and the beds are comfortable however, some TLC for the furniture and cabinets is needed.

Room Tip: Higher floors give you a good view of the landscaping and a more private feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank travelsincerely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Poipu is the place to stay on Kauai. The snorkeling right here off the hotel beach is wonderful. As is the sunset and sunrise on the beach! I loved the grounds and the location. The rooms were very large and clean. The roosters here are everywhere - but keeping door closed and being in AC you barely hear them! The staff is nice and the bar is wonderful!!! Thx!

Room Tip: If you have kids stay closer to the pool. If not - stay off the beaten path and enjoy more of the q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kateverod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club

Property: Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Address: 2249 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Poipu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#4 Business Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Waiohai Beach Club Hotel Poipu
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Poipu
Marriott Poipu
Poipu Marriott
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Club
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing