We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, OR
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Awesome Location”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

First off, this is not my first trip to Kauai, but is my first time in this hotel. The grounds are beautiful, and the groundskeeper (Lee) gives a great tour of the landscaping. The snorkeling just off the beach behind the hotel was awesome. The water was a little cloudy from the sand, but the array of fish was great. I was able to snorkel with a pair of sea turtles who obviously were comfortable with people being near them. The downside to this hotel was the room location. We were promised an ocean view room, but were stuck with a room looking out at hedge of trees. The room itself was nice with a full kitchen, internet access, and laundry. Staff seemed nice. Will likely come back and stay again, but would want some sort of guarantee about the room location next time.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean or garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lodi-grape-picker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    225
    73
    34
    30
See reviews for
529
241
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Rexburg, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We bought a week at this resort 7 years ago. We love it here and look forward to the trip every winter. We talk about trading it for another Island but when the time comes this is where we want to be. It is a beautiful property. The landscaping is a tropical garden delight. We love the beach and the variety of swimming pools and hot tubs. Our choice is to stay towards the back of the property overlooking the pond with swans and tropical flowers. It is quieter also. It is a bit of a walk to the beach but it is a beautiful walk. Every year we have a different room with a different view. Out of 6 years we had the parking lot view once. The rest have been very nice. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, we prefer to do most of our meals in the room. We make good use of the nice grills located close by. The roosters can be annoying but we try to appreciate them. The grandkids love having them around. This year we also have some visiting cats. There are ample towels and cookware provided. Not as glamorous as the Hyatt but very nice. The whales have been close up and plentiful this year. We also get to see sea turtles and monk seals on Poipu Beach in front of the Resort.Simply said we love this place.

Room Tip: You can request rooms but we have never been given what we requested. The worry is that you will get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Staying here right now with all curtains closed. Our ocean view is nothing of the sort. It's dangerous public parking lot view with no ocean view. FALSE ADVERTISING. Also, I caught staff lying to me three times. Some rooms are nice if you luck out. Embarrassed for Marriott. And very disappointed

Room Tip: Be in building 1 or 8 or don't come
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray, UT
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed at the Waiohai for 8 days and loved it. We did not want to leave. The room was wonderful. Food we ate at the pool bar delicious and location was great. We had great luck snorkeling there and did that almost every day. We also went over to the Beach house but saw more fish at Poipu. The property is beautiful and very clean. Would recommend this place to anyone going to Kauai.

Room Tip: Of course the Ocean view rooms are the best. I usually request a lower floor but with the noisy roos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, MO
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

This was our second stay at this lovely resort. The area is beautiful, and the property is great. Our view this time was better than the first, and I can sympathize with those who had an "oceanview" that also included a parking lot. That was the case with our first visit. This time our unit faced the courtyard and ocean, so the view was much nicer. Sunrise and sunset are both gorgeous from this property. I got up early every morning so that I could walk down to the point to see sunrise. The path between this property and the Hyatt is one of the most beautiful I have ever walked. It has all the beauty of much more difficult hikes without treacherous footing and drop-offs.

Yes, there are plenty of roosters around, but we find them entertaining for the most part. With windows and doors closed, they are not a problem. I never heard them until I was beginning to awaken anyway. If we had left windows open, I can imagine that their crowing would have been annoying since they seem to crow throughout the night.

As a disclaimer, I should probably add that we stayed there with friends who have a time share, so I cannot really speak to value for dollar spent.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJKJoplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

This is a condo type hotel and the room was excellent - although the ocean view was pretty tiny. The daily "tidying" was actually a very good cleaning and there were always plenty of towels, including beach towels. The kitchen is well-equipped so we made our own breakfast every day. Unfortunately, the resort has no on-site restaurant and the bar serves food for only very limited hours (for example, no food is available from 3-5 pm or after sundown). There are numerous excellent restaurants nearby, including one next door that they failed to mention to us, but after a long day having something on site would be nice. The concierge onsite was only moderately helpful. For example, when we asked for information on hiking trails in Waimea Canyon we were told they had a policy of not providing such information. But overall, we very much enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We upgraded to the "ocean view" to find our balcony overlooked the parking lot with some ocean view. Our biggest problem was the roosters. They gather in the parking lot area and make loud noise all night long. We could not keep our windows open due to the roosters. The courtyard rooms have a much nicer view with a LOT less roosters inside the resort area.
Our room was great for our 2 teenagers. We slept in the master, one was in the 2nd bedroom and another slept on the fold out couch. Be award the fold out couch is very uncomfortable, even my 18 year old had a really hard time, and he can sleep almost anywhere.
Activities at the resort cost quite a bit, some activities were cancelled at the last minute with no explaination while we waited.
I would still go back with my family, but book a courtyard room next time.

Room Tip: Know where the ocean view is. Avoid the parking lot on the east side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luxury_camper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club

Property: Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Address: 2249 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Poipu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#4 Business Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Waiohai Beach Club Hotel Poipu
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Poipu
Marriott Poipu
Poipu Marriott
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Club
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing