We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alihi Lani #4 - spacious, well furnished, beautiful unit on the water”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poipu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alihi Lani Poipu Beach Oceanfront Condominiums
Ranked #10 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, British Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Alihi Lani #4 - spacious, well furnished, beautiful unit on the water”
Reviewed January 15, 2010

I’d highly recommend Alihi Lani, Unit 4. We (two couples with two babies) stayed in the unit for 11 nights in November 2009 and it was perfect for us.

The unit is fully equipped with a spacious, well-stocked kitchen; in-suite laundry; multiple televisions and a DVD collection; and two bedrooms and two full bathrooms. It was also recently renovated so it’s very nicely finished. The lanai was huge and beautiful with a daybed, two chairs and ottomans, and a dining table for four people. We spent a lot of time there watching the turtles, reading our books and watching the beautiful sunset every evening.

There are only six units in the complex so it was very quiet and private, and we almost always had the swimming pool and barbecue to ourselves.

The beach is only five minutes away as is the Sheraton where you can enjoy happy hour on their patio each night!

The owner, Cynthia, was very easy to deal with, and was also very helpful in terms of providing restaurant tips and clear directions to her apartment.

The only thing I think it important to note is that the master bedroom doesn’t have a door on it; rather, it’s cordoned off with a bamboo-like curtain. For us, this was a bit of an inconvenience as we’d hoped to put our baby to sleep there but we ended up squeezing her into the walk-in closet (don’t worry: we left the door open!) instead as it wouldn’t have been quiet enough for her in the bedroom (with us carrying on in the living room).

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AllisonVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poipukapili54, Owner / manager at Alihi Lani Poipu Beach Oceanfront Condominiums, responded to this review, January 16, 2010
Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

To clarify about the doors in the front master bedroom (there are 2 master suites), they are a woven, bamboo vertical blinds and while they are private, they are not solid. The doors we removed were louvered and were also not sound proof.

We removed these doors so that when you are in the bedroom and in bed, you have an unobstructed view of the amazing views of the ocean.

But we were careful to make sure there still is privacy keeping mind that many people would be traveling with others.

Also the living room is not directly connected to the master bedroom - there is a desk area just outside, but it is adjacent.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    11
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
62
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cleveland, ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2009

My husband, 2 year old daughter and I spent a week in Kauai. We were only lucky enough to book the Alihi Lani #4 for the first three days of our trip, and we spent the remaining 4 days at one of the large resorts on the island. We had an amazing time during our trip and the only regret we had was not being able to spend the entire trip at this condo. This unit, and Cynthia the owner, cater to every need you might have, far more than the resort was able to, and you will be hard-pressed to find a better and closer view of the ocean than the stunning vista that is directly in front of you no matter where you are in the unit. It was a beautifully decorated accommodation, fully equipped to meet all needs, whether they be cooking / grilling out or spending a day at the beach snorkeling. You need not eat out every night or pack or rent anything for your trip to Kauai if you are staying with Cynthia at the Alihi Lani #4. Thank you for a wonderful stay, Cynthia, and we look forward to retuning soon!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nsvienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2009

This condo is beautifully decorated and well stocked for all your needs. It has one of the best views in Poipu with a totally unobstructed view of the ocean from the lanai. We had 4 adults (two couples) and the condo accommodated us very nicely with adequate room to share time together but yet have our own privacy. It is in a great location with easy access to shopping, starbucks, several beaches and various walking/hiking routes with great scenery. Just a great place for a vacation!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank GrandmaBellevue_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2009

Our family had a fabulous 10 days at Cynthia's condo in Paradise. The location was perfect with the lanai facing the ocean where we could watch the turtles playing at all times of day. The condo was beautiful, clean, and very well equiped. She even supplied all the pool toys, beach chairs, beach towels, and umbrellas. The 5 of us were very comfortable in the condo with plenty of room to move about. It is also a great location.... just steps from the Sheraton, a short drive to Poipu and Koloa, and very close to the best snorkeling beach on the south shore. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there and Cynthia was very easy to work with . We would go back there in a heartbeat!!! Also.... don't forget to pick the limes off the tree in the back. They are amazing!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2009

Newly decorated with flat screen TVs, stereo, solid surface counters, updated baths and A/C (needed for July). Even new front load Washer/Dryer.

2nd level patio overlooking pool and ocean - walk to best beach in Kauai. All beach goodies included. Sit on patio in the evenings and watch the kids swim while looking at the sunset and surfers across the street.

No complaints - Cynthia makes sure the stay is perfect. We didn't need anything, but if we did I'm sure it would have been made available.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlabamaTideFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poipukapili54, Owner/Manager at Alihi Lani Poipu Beach Oceanfront Condominiums, responded to this review, July 26, 2009
Thank you for the nice review. We appreciate it.

Cynthia
owner/manager
Alihi Lani #4
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

WOW! Alihi Lani #4 is absolutely fantastic!! My husband and I had such a wonderful time in part because of the beautiful accommodations. We enjoyed the view, sea turtles and surfers every evening from the lanai and nothing beats falling asleep to the sound of the ocean each night. This was truly paradise and will be our home away from home whenever we travel to Kauai!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilandHillary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2009

This unit is beautiful and so comfortable. Whenever we travel (frequently) we "shop" for special places to stay, and we certainly scored on this one. Our family of four loved all the personal touches and the beautiful Polynesian decor. Having the Pacific Ocean as a "front yard" is not bad, either! Poipu Beach is a great home base on Kauai if you like sunshine, great restaurants, and beaches. I would definitely stay here again, as it felt like home. The condo is stocked with great movies, excellent sound systems and high quality tvs for movie watching (which our college-age daughters enjoyed at night.) There are lots of books on the islands, fish, birds, etc. Plus, binoculars to view the sea turtles that were out front almost everyday. We even saw a rare Hawaiian monk seal come up on the beach nearby. We would walk a couple of minutes to the lovely beach in front of the Sheraton, a low-key, low-rise beach front resort--one of the south's best beaches, next to Poipu Beach park. Great snorkeling at Poipu Beach, by the way. A perk of hanging out at the Sheraton beach was enjoying their beach bar and grill for lunch. We just took chairs and boogie boards, and spent happy hours on the golden sand beach enjoying ourselves. Had several excursions around the island--two of which are very close--Spouting Horn and the National Botanical Gardens. The Poipu location is ideal. The little town of Koloa is right up the road and offers groceries and very neat shops. You will definitely get a feel for Kauai's beauty staying here.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swilliams330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poipukapili54, Owner/Manager at Alihi Lani Poipu Beach Oceanfront Condominiums, responded to this review, August 30, 2009
Thank you for your wonderful review of our unit #4.

Cynthia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poipu Kapili
#7 of 30 in Poipu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alihi Lani Poipu Beach Oceanfront Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alihi Lani Poipu Beach Oceanfront Condominiums

Property: Alihi Lani Poipu Beach Oceanfront Condominiums
Address: 2564 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9682
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a wonderful small 6 unit complex at Alihi Lani - directly next door to Poipu Kapili.MUST SEE spectacular ocean and sunset views from the 184 square foot covered lanai. Living room, dining room, kitchen, master bedroom, desk sitting area all have the same great view. See whales breaching a few hundred yards off the coastline from November to April. There are turtles year round in the cove directly in front. Just watch and listen to waves crashing on the beautiful rocky shore.The Ultimate Kauai Guidebook calls this small complex a 'Real Gem' and gives it their highest rating. Enjoy the views from the brand new (9/2011) ocean front pool and BBQ's. Enjoy our beautiful new tropical landscaping with extended pool deck and lounge chair area.The Sheraton beach is just next door where you can enjoy snorkeling and beach swimming. Take an evening walk to nearby shops and restaurants at Poipu Shopping Village.Everything you could imagine needing, we have supplied. We believe in pampering you on your vacation with luxurious sheets and towels. We supply a fully equipped kitchen, beach chairs, boogie boards, cooler, movies, large flat screen televisions and games. All furnishings are brand new as of July 01, 2007.We own and manage our own property and can give you the individual attention that makes the difference. This is a Hawaii vacation you will not soon forget. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alihi Lani Poipu Beach Oceanfront Condominiums Hotel Poipu
Alihi Lani Poipu Beach Oceanfront Condominiums Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing