We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place on Kauai”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poipu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alihi Lani Poipu Beach Oceanfront Condominiums
Ranked #9 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Crested Butte, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Perfect place on Kauai”
Reviewed November 25, 2011

For our first visit to Kauai, we stayed in Alihi Lani #2 for ten days last April.
We were totally happy with the condo, which was spotlessly clean and had plenty of room for our family of four. After seeing the mega condo complexes in Poipu, we were so glad we'd chosen this small six-plex. We enjoyed watching sea turtles and whales in the ocean across the street, and our kids, ages 11 and 13, had fun in the small pool, which they usually had to themselvesl. We appreciated the boogie boards and umbrellas in the closet, as well as the puzzles and books. Unlike some condos we've stayed in, the kitchen was well stocked with pots, pans and utensils, and we ate most meals there. Poipu Connection handled our reservation, and dealing with them was easy; they were quite helpful. This condo does not have air conditioning, but we didn't need it; the cool breeze came in at night. If we return to Kauai, we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amelia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    11
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
65
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

This is our 2nd stay at the Alihi Lani #3. We were here last year for our wedding and this year for our 1 year anniversary. I've visited the island of Kauai since I was 2 years old and never tire of it.

I've done thorough research of dozens of condos and this one is by far the best on the South side of Kauai (or in my opinion, the entire island!). For our anniversary trip back I did look at other condos since there would only be 2 of us visiting but even the popular oceanfront Kuhio Shores couldn't tear me away from staying at Ron's place. Even though it's a 2 bedroom, I told my husband I will pay extra to stay there again. That's how beautiful his place is. (We did end up bringing another couple so it worked out perfect - and they absolutely loved it!).

The condo is located in the Koloa/Poipu area. Once of the best swimming spots on the island. It's close to absolutely everything needed. Shopping, dinning, beach. Parking is simple, never crowded and just steps to the front door. The 1st floor gives you quick access to parking and the pool. This condo has a gorgeous view of the sunset every evening and turtles & dolphins every morning.

Newly updated it has everything, pots, pans, blender, dishes, spices for cooking, paper towels, coffee & filters, dishwashing liquid, laundry soap - everything really. Enough space for 4 - 5 adults without feeling too crowded. I love that the pool is literally 4-5 steps from the lanai. The grounds are kept up very nicely and the landscaping is gorgeous!

The master has a california king, super comfy and the 2nd bedroom has 2 twins, equally as comfortable. You can fall asleep to the ocean in the 2nd bedroom. We slept with the sliding doors open every night. Even in the middle of August, you don't need A/C. You get a nice breeze through this place once the doors & windows are open.

The best place about this condo and the only reason to book is because the condo complex is SMALL. You're not sharing parking with 200 other units or fighting for a spot at the pool. Only 6 units in this entire complex and some aren't even vacant so it's like having the entire place to yourself. The owner, Ron is quick to respond and very friendly! I've dealt with other condo owners before and by far he's the most professional. Thanks for letting us enjoy your condo again Ron and hope to visit again in the years to come!

Room Tip: Ground floor is closer to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisacas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We're fortunate to travel a fair bit as a family, and we are always looking for that special place that has that something 'extra'. Alihi Lani #4 is one of those places. The condo has a great vibe. It was a fine size for a crew of four, including two teenagers. As others have mentioned, the place had everything from boogie boards and picnic equipment to lovely walk-in travertine showers and super-comfy beds. There were two drawers of movies, but who cares?! My guys were fascinated by the endless parade of sea turtles directly across the road from us. The lanai looks straight out over the ocean. We'd wake up to their little heads popping up and went to bed shortly after the sun set as we looked out of our balcony . I loved how the condo is only one of six in the complex -- this place is quiet and very chill. It certainly doesn't feel like a hotel, which we avoid at all costs. I also liked how it's so close to everything but seemed away from it all, if that makes sense. To top it off, the service was great from both Cynthia and her caretakers. We were foolish enough to hide our passports in the apartment and then depart for the North, leaving them behind. Kay was super generous and offered to meet me up in Lihue with the documents so we could leave the country, and she did this with such generosity. That's aloha spirit. I make part of my living arranging trips for other people I spent hours -- no, days -- researching properties before I put any money down on this trip, and I can heartily recommend this Alihi Lani #4 find to others!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fiddleaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We have stayed in units #1 and #2 and loved both of them. Staying anywhere else in Hawaii has been a let down. The accomodations are excellent and the location is great. The space is very livable and comfortable and the kitchen is very functional and has just about everything you need for cooking. We enjoy the views from the condo and sitting outside on the lanai for breakfast each morning. The Wachler family at Poipu Connection have been very helpful at each step- from reservations to checking on us once we arrive.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcronin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio City, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

The condo was an absolutely ideal "home base" for our stay in Kauai. Cynthia has thought of just about EVERYTHING for your convenience and comfort -- beach gear, kitchen supplies, even coolers and tupperware for picnics. The view is spectacular, and the location is quiet and peaceful. The pool is convenient for an early morning or evening plunge. If we'd had more time, we'd have taken advantage of the outdoor grill. The furniture, bedding, and decor are of very high quality. This did NOT feel like a typical condo. With all of the amenities and privacy, I'd never stay at a hotel. Cynthia also provided a list of local favorites (restaurants, activities), and included snorkel gear for a day.
We highly recommend: poke bento from Koloa fishmarket (we ate this for lunch almost every day!), an anniversary dinner at Roy's in Poipu, fish tacos at Keoki's Paradise (bar seating), snorkeling at Poipu Beach park (where we also saw a beached monk seal and swam with sea turtles), drinks at the Beach House, ziplining at Princeville Ranch Adventures (on the north shore), and hiking in the Waimea Canyon. Kauai is heaven on earth. We will be back!

Room Tip: Work with the owner to negotiate price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jolie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia1067, Owner at Alihi Lani Poipu Beach Oceanfront Condominiums, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thank you for a fantastic review. We work very hard to create a very special place for all our travelers. We do try to work with people under certain circumstances. In this case there were only 2 travelers for 7+ nights in our slowest month. Our prices for our well appointed and equipped home are an excellent value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

We stayed in unit 6 of this lovely small six plex last August for 7 nights. I can't say enough great things about this unit and the property. The location is well located near the beach and town. It was well appointed with spectacular views off the lanai. My tennage daughter was able to take surfing lessons at the beach near the Sheraton hotel and we snorkelled seeing many beautiful fish and turtles. The BBQ's were well maintained and clean. This property was recommended to me by a friend and I would highly recommend it to others who were looking for a quiet place to stay in Poipu.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

We specifically wanted a condo with a kitchen and a view. Our stay during Thanksgiving 2010 wildly exceeded all of our expectations. The condo is AMAZING. The view is un-beatable. We would sit on the huge lanai for hours watching the water, reading books and enjoying Hawaiian music on the stereo. We saw whales with the condo’s binoculars (apparently they were a little early), watched scuba boats, and every morning would cross the street to watch the turtles while we enjoyed delicious and freshly-ground Hawaiian coffee. The condo is so thoughtfully outfitted: every kitchen tool, condiments, toiletries, grill tools, beach towels, games, videos, music—and most importantly--wonderful furniture on the lanai—we ate all our at-home meals there, and my husband would take his afternoon nap on the outdoor couch. A paddle in the pool during the heat of the day, happy hour during sunset on the lanai, then we’d fire up the grill to make dinner. The grounds of the building are very well-kept as is the building itself. The condo is luxurious, including very recent bathroom and kitchen renovations. It feels like an upscale hotel or resort, but without the crowds. All of the great Koloa restaurants are just a short drive. We toured the canyon, went on a Napali coast sunset cruise (not to be missed!), went to a luau (could be skipped), and enjoyed more kalua pork and mai tais than your doctor would recommend. You will be thrilled with your decision to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LH_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poipu hotels
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alihi Lani Poipu Beach Oceanfront Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alihi Lani Poipu Beach Oceanfront Condominiums

Property: Alihi Lani Poipu Beach Oceanfront Condominiums
Address: 2564 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9682
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a wonderful small 6 unit complex at Alihi Lani - directly next door to Poipu Kapili.MUST SEE spectacular ocean and sunset views from the 184 square foot covered lanai. Living room, dining room, kitchen, master bedroom, desk sitting area all have the same great view. See whales breaching a few hundred yards off the coastline from November to April. There are turtles year round in the cove directly in front. Just watch and listen to waves crashing on the beautiful rocky shore.The Ultimate Kauai Guidebook calls this small complex a 'Real Gem' and gives it their highest rating. Enjoy the views from the brand new (9/2011) ocean front pool and BBQ's. Enjoy our beautiful new tropical landscaping with extended pool deck and lounge chair area.The Sheraton beach is just next door where you can enjoy snorkeling and beach swimming. Take an evening walk to nearby shops and restaurants at Poipu Shopping Village.Everything you could imagine needing, we have supplied. We believe in pampering you on your vacation with luxurious sheets and towels. We supply a fully equipped kitchen, beach chairs, boogie boards, cooler, movies, large flat screen televisions and games. All furnishings are brand new as of July 01, 2007.We own and manage our own property and can give you the individual attention that makes the difference. This is a Hawaii vacation you will not soon forget. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alihi Lani Poipu Beach Oceanfront Condominiums Hotel Poipu
Alihi Lani Poipu Beach Oceanfront Condominiums Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing