We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst unit ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Waikomo Stream Villas
Ranked #19 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Prescorr
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worst unit ever”
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Unit 300 is rated Delux. The carpet is filthy, the kitchen is old, poorly stocked and the cupboards smell moldy. The furniture is saggy, no storage in bedroom and the bathroom is dated. Coffee maker didn't work, no wifi instructions. In general, this unit is disgusting.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Claudia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    31
    7
    6
    6
See reviews for
27
40
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

We found that the grounds at Waikomo Stream are in need of more consistent, regular upkeep. The bar-b-ques are few and far between and several were out of order. The walkways were never swept and the grounds and plants and grass needed major pruning and cutting. The tennis courts were under construction and closed, nothing but a pile of dirt, which drifted over to the pool area, also in need of some upkeeping, the water looked clean. Our unit (420) on the other hand was immaculate, spacious and lovely. The price can't be beat as well. We enjoyed our stay.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank OregonMomoffive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed five nights in this unit during a 12 day stay. It was a great location to day trip from and is within easy walking distance of beaches, shopping, dining. Clean and functional but not really a complex or a unit that we chose to spend a lot of time at other than sleeping. Furnishings a bit dated and it had a 'seniors live here' kind of a feel - again, no big deal for us as we didn't spend much time there other than end of night. Pool wasn't open (we received a call in advance of our trip that this would be the case - no big deal for us since the ocean was close by!).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalgaryGirlandBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This property is in a great location. <20 mins from airport, close to several shopping areas and beaches. BUT two things would discourage me from coming back
1. they did not tell us the pool was under construction till 3 weeks before we came - preventing us from choosing another location to stay at. They gave us some money back, but they were not up front early, and that (with 3 kids) was a Big disappointment, and makes me wonder about this group.
2. We had plenty of space, but the rooms are a bit dated, carpet worn, etc.
It is a beautiful setting, and the accomodation did ahve what we needed, but they just left us with some disappointment that cannot elevate my rating any higher

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dinningforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalaheo, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Just wanted to point this out for any guests staying for Christmas or New Year's. I will be arriving in Kauai tomorrow and am spending a part of my trip at Waikomo Stream properties. I received a call this morning from Parrish indicating that the pool will not be open during our visit. Nowhere was it disclosed on the Parrish website that the pool was closed for work, and they did not offer me any alternate lodging that does have a pool. I am very disappointed as the one thing I searched specifically for was a pool - unlike a lot of folks I don't like sand and saltwater, and prefer spending time at the pool over the ocean. We have booked with Parrish in the past, but this will be my last stay with them after poor disclosure and no compensation for having a key amenity closed. Hopefully the unit is better than my experience so far.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Loved Villa 231! Newly renovated by new owners who obviously put in the hard work! Well stocked, well decorated, all new carpet, comfortable and cozy! Felt like home without clutter! Very stylish and plenty of room. Pool was under construction, from my research it still is two months later (boo to management company!). Am already looking for time to go back! So close to everything! The owners provided lots of great beach extras for us to use during our stay! 3rd floor means nobody over you and a decent view! Stairs were good since I ate too much of the abundance of excellent island food! Haha!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank spazcat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Grande, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

What a GREAt location, close to beach & shopping. You can walk across the street to eating & shopping or take a short walk to the the shoreline for a scenic view. We were right next to the stream that had koie fish in them. The master room has a huge King size bed, very very comfie :~) The lani was breathtaking! I would highly recommend this Vialla or any of them at his location.

Room Tip: We stayed in 533 very nice accomadations!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,294 reviews
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikomo Stream Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikomo Stream Villas

Property: Waikomo Stream Villas
Address: 2721 Poipu Rd, Poipu Beach, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9785
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waikomo Stream Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best kept secrets in the Poipu Beach Resort area, Waikomo Stream Villas is a lush garden resort containing just 60 units located on the sunny side of Kauai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Waikomo Stream Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikomo Stream Villas Hotel Poipu
Waikomo Stream Villas Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing